We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, in the center of the city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B Gite Couette et Chocolat Inc.
Ranked #46 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great place to stay! Easy access from the airport (it's one bus which brings you 2 minutes walking from the B&B). Eric & Daisy are charming! They have been running the place for the past 7 years, which is great when you visit Montréal for the first time! They know the city by heart, and being French, they know what is interesting to see for a "stranger"!
We had the room on the first floor: big room,very clean and confortable to sleep in and the noise is not bad at all.
Eric will prepare great breakfast in the morning, with always a touch of chocolate on it! Breakfast will easily keep you going till noon!
I also appreciated the fact that, once booked, you receive a mail of indication, how to get there, the explanation of the taxes (in Europe all is included, so you're not aware of the tax system in Canada).
The location is center of city, so everything is walking distance and the subway is just 3 minutes away, so I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

tucked away near Chinatown, this place is the ideal location if you're going to the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve for the Montreal Grand Prix. Eric and Daisy are delightful hosts, the rooms are cozy and comfortable, and it is near the metro AND some great Chinese restaurants. We were there last year, we are going this year, and most probably for years to come.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The location is realy good, near rail station, old city and Chinatown, The room is very lovely and comfortable, Hosts are very wellcoming and friendly, The breakfast is very good and beautiful.It is a good place to stay when you visit Montreal.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank jinhuan q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This place was a really calming and relaxing place to be. The ambiance was so warm and cozy, we forgot that we were in the middle of the city! The Chinatown was just around the corner with its boutiques and restaurants. The hosts were friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The price was very very good and the service excellent. I would definitely come back again and I recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milady_oanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night at the B&B for an audition at McGill University nearby. I was greeted by two very welcoming hosts. They made my stay very comforting. The atmosphere of the place is warm and friendly. The decoration of the house is very homey, and my overall stay was great. The food, French toast sprinkle with icing sugar and fresh fruit, fresh brewed and freshly ground coffee, also tasted delicious. I would definitely come back here again if I ever need a place to stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaiivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My visit started with the taxi driver warning me that it was not a safe area to stay. I did not find it unsafe but would not have wandered far on my own at night in some directions. China Town was around the corner and provided many alternatives for dinner and Old Montreal was not too far away (about 20 minute walk). My room had a dated and noisy air conditioner which I needed to use as I was in the top level of 3 and the natural ventilation was not fantastic. Daisy was very welcoming and provided some interesting breakfast options which I enjoyed. Eric on the other hand decided that as I didn't speak French I wasn't worth acknowledging. I understand he didn't speak English but an 'au revoir' wouldn't have hurt him too much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at Couette et Chocolat on New Year's Eve and it was a perfect stay. The breakfast was the most unique and delicious I've ever had at a B&B. Really wonderful. The room was cute and private and clean and comfortable. The location was fantastic -- on a quiet street but near Chinatown and Old Montreal! Daisy and Eric were very hospitable -- responsive to emails before we traveled and very nice when we checked in. The price was very reasonable. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it strongly.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Gite Couette et Chocolat Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Gite Couette et Chocolat Inc.

Address: 1074, rue Saint Dominique, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: £89 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couette and Chocolat is a Bed and Breakfast located in the center of Montreal next to the Old Montreal and the Old Port. The house was built in 1870. Fresh different breakfasts are served each day. Couette and Chocolat is the first B & B to be certified green key for its respect for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your B & B Gite Couette et Chocolat Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing