We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oustanding accommodation - great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castel Durocher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castel Durocher
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oustanding accommodation - great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our visit at Castel Durocher was outstanding from beginning to end. Vincent is a charming host. The apartment was immaculate and well appointed. Every detail is looked after. We came prepared but didn't need to be - there was food in the fridge, bakery items for breakfast and flowers. On top of it all the apartment is steps from McGill and the downtown of Montreal. We will not have to shop for a hotel the next time we go to Montreal. We have found the perfect spot.

B&L

Room Tip: We were in top suite - has a balcony which would be ideal in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
12
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We cancelled our Holiday Inn reservation after finding this Gem; stayed in the "top suite" 2 bedroom apartment for an extended weekend visit.
My friends daughter, a student at McGill was able to stay with us in the suite and It was a very nice get together place for everyone.
Lots of room, great balconies, fantastic location in the middle of the hustle and bustel of fun Montreal evenings, close to the metro and great shopping.
A fully stocked kitchen cutlery, plates, cups, glasses, pots/pans.
The local fare is great to test out if you dont feel like cooking - the oven came in handy for reheating leftovers.
The room had essentials in the fridge for a nice breakfast selection with coffee and coffee maker, cream, milk, cereal selection, crackers, fruits, cheese and chocolates.
Close walk to absolutley everything, fantastic host and hotstess who were very thoughtful and accommodating and kind.
I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

I was attending a conference in Montreal in June 2011, and decided against booking a room in the conference hotel. I've spent too many nights in anonymous hotel rooms in different parts of the country, and on this trip, I decided to try something different. Castel Durocher is near McGill University, and is within very easy walking distance of downtown Montreal, and the Plateau neighbourhood. Furthermore, there is a good range of restaurants and grocery stores nearby, along with a delectable Belgian patisserie.
When I arrived on Monday evening, I was shown to the Suite Victoria - this was a one bedroom suite with a large and bright sitting/dining room, lovely bathroom, bedroom with queen sized bed, fully stocked kitchen and a covered balcony. The high ceilings and mouldings gave the place a classy air, and the art was great! As promised, the big fridge was stocked with food - grapefruit, milk, cheese, jam, coffee, juice and the all important chocolate. Sandrine had also provided bread, pastries, cereal, fruit and tea. One could not ask for better service. Each morning, fresh pastries appeared as if by magic! All in all, this was a great stay, and I would definitely hope to get back to Montreal and Castel Durocher again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Etowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We had the pleasure staying at Castel Durocher during May 2011. We were in town for a wedding and several friends were also travelling to Montreal. We wanted to rent a place that we could stay in together and yet be "separate". Castel Durocher was perfect for this purpose. My husband and I , along with our two children stayed in the top suite. The middle suite was reserved for the grandparents and we had friends stay in the lower suite. The suites have three time the square footage of a typical hotel while offering the same price (believe me, we checked the three hotels that are nearby and they were all more expensive for only a small room). Castel Durocher is a bargain for a family stay!

To boot, there were fresh chocolates, pastries, milk and juice, yogurt, crackers and cheese! Yum.

Btw, the pictures don't do justice to the place. It is much nicer and more quaint (in the best way possible).

Lovely touches everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelMuch?NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had the pleasure of staying in the Victoria Suite in early June 2011. Right from our first introduction to Vincent and Sandrine we felt so welcome, and when we walked into what would be our home away from home for the next 6 days we were mesmerized. The suite is beautiful and well-appointed and the extra touches were greatly appreciated. The Metro is within walking distance and from there the city is easy to explore. After sightseeing everyday it was a pleasure to return to our ‘oasis’ and relax. The neighbourhood is very nice with several food options nearby. Both Vincent and Sandrine are a wealth of information about Montreal and gave us several great exploring ideas. It was hard leaving when our vacation came to an end and we certainly hope to return again and again to Castel Durocher.

Room Tip: The Victoria Suite is very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandafsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

First impression was Heavenly peace away from a hectic work life back home... peaceful classical music filled the cozy suite... fresh flowers & croissants.... clean... & anything you might ever need as incidentals... service was excellent.. w/ a touch of elegance. Hot bath w/ a sweet homemade chocolate every night... Owners were lovely and helpful... Location was near Uni, restaurants & transportation lines w/ convenient bus line to my conference.. Loved everything about the suite.. Didn't like the extra taxes... made the room that much more expensive... Overall great visit!

Room Tip: Grand suite is street level & convenient..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leecy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Castel Durocher is by far one of our favorite places we've ever stayed. We do not normally stay in bed and breakfasts, usually larger hotels. We wanted to get the French/Canadian feel of Montreal on this visit, and it was everything we'd hoped for! The neighborhood is in the McGill University area near Mont Royal Park, and was very safe and charming. We stayed in the Victoria Suite and our children, ages 18, 15 and 9, stayed in the Top Suite. Both are connected. It was like having our own huge house in Montreal. We walked to everything, including Mont Royal Park, Notre Dame Basilica, Old Montreal area, and, of course, Patisserie Belge! The food Vincent and Sandrine provided in our kitchen upon arrival was plenty for our breakfasts during out stay- croissants, yogurt, granola, fruit, milk, juice, coffee, tea, and, of course, chocolate!

Room Tip: Top Suite is best- day bed in living room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rld-here-we-c0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
L'Appartement Hotel
L'Appartement Hotel
#40 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
University Bed & Breakfast
University Bed & Breakfast
#33 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#25 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Durocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Durocher

Property: Castel Durocher
Address: 3488 Durocher, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2E1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castel Durocher 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished apartments with character located right in downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castel Durocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing