We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean But That is All”
Review of Bienvenue B&B

Bienvenue B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bienvenue B&B
Ranked #75 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean But That is All”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This B&B is inside an old house. while it is clean inside the place is very old. Please also note there is no air condition, no wireless Internet, no fridge, no hair and body shampoo (use soap), no tooth brush tooth paste, and even the "large" room is small, the en-suite and she shower stall is even tinier. Although the owner lady was friendly, at $110/night (plus $15+$3 Tax) it seems way over priced. At least one should expect the above for an accommodation over $100. The break fast is very very rudimentary. No hot food except boiled eggs (No frying facility) which you have to ask. I am somewhat disappointed. Fortunately we only stayed one night, for anything longer, I would not have chosen this place.

Room Tip: There are much better value B&Bs in Montreal with better location and rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLiu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
13
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Me and friend stayed here on new years eve. At first we were spectacle about the place, but we were wrong. when we arrived there, we were shocked on how close it was to downtown; clubs and restaurants. The place was clean and neat. The place had a nice warm and cozy feeling. I would definitely recommend staying here to everyone and the price is really reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The owners are very welcoming and kind. I stayed for one night in a single occupancy room. The room was small and quiet. It was old fashioned and could perhaps use some sprucing up. I couldn't get the little television to work, but didn't bother anybody about it. Shared toilet and shower on the landing was clean - I believe other options are available. The breakfast was mainly DIY, but there was plenty to choose from. The street is lovely and in the middle of one of the city's greatest neighborhoods. I might go back for a short stay. At $80 it seemed a touch expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tareus1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This place has an eternally cosy feel to it. The lady who runs it is the epitome of sweetness, with a welcoming smile and tone. I was there for a wedding and she was very conscientious in asking how everything went and wishing me well. The facilities are fine if unremarkable. If I'm honest I think it maybe is a tad shabby in places for the money, but in terms of location I simply can't be beaten, right in the middle of the plateau with its cafes, restaurants, and that most elusive of urban ingredients: an edge. The only thing I would say I was disappointed with was the breakfast - bagels, cereal, toast etc. While this is fine - and what you get everywhere else in North America - I'm English, so breakfast never seems right without some eggs on offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrobinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I've stayed at the Bienvenue several times and recommend it as a very friendly place in a wonderful location. The owners couldn't be nicer and the place has a very comfortable, homey feeling. Not for those who want everything fancy and new! This place is more like a friend's house, a bit worn, but warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookladyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

this B & B is on the cheaper side in Montreal and you get what you pay for. We went during the slow season and the room was $90 without tax and without B-fast. The owner is very nice. However, the place has not been updated in a long time. The old carpet gives the place a slight smell. The furniture is old. For example, a dresser draw had no bottom. Paint is chipping. We thought we were sleeping on a king size bed but it was really two single beds pushed together so you could not sleep in the middle. the location is great and there are no frills. The rooms are small and there were no other guests staying there the nights we were there. If there were, I imagine we could hear everything because the walls are thin

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel3111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

If you are looking for location at excellent value Bienvenue is the place for you. It is easy to walk to all the wonderful sites in Montreal from this location. It is surrounded by fantastic restaurants on St. Laurant, St. Denis, Duluth and Sherbrooke. You could not ask for a better location. The room was clean, comfortable and basic - no frills. The bathroom was small with thin towels and no shampoo. The breakfast were basic nothing fancy but fine. We very much enjoyed our breakfast talking to the friendly proprietor and other guests.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BannermanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#88 of 164 in Montreal
120 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Stay Mont Royal
Hotel Stay Mont Royal
#112 of 144 in Montreal
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
#49 of 144 in Montreal
236 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Shezelles
Shezelles
#31 of 144 in Montreal
67 reviews
Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast
L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 144 in Montreal
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienvenue B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienvenue B&B

Property: Bienvenue B&B
Address: 3950 Laval Av, Montreal, Quebec H2W 2J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bienvenue B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bienvenue B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing