We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Notre-Dame Basilica
Book In Advance
More Info
US$6.27*
and up
Montreal Paddleboat Rental
Ranked #1 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Montreal's oldest Catholic church, built in 1656, is known for its intricately designed interior, which includes stained glass chronicling the history of the city.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very scenic, well preserved piece of history in Montreal. Notre Dame Basilica is one of the prettiest cathedrals I've ever seen. Worth a picture if you're not religious like myself, and worth a mass if you are.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,908
    2,699
    499
    92
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is a must see even if you are not religious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

To go into the church they charge around $6 I believe, but when I tried to go in, they were close due to a wedding. I couldn't get mad, Imagine how beautiful must be to get married there. They advised me to purchase a $10 ticket for the light and sound show happening that night at 7 pm, or 8 pm, cant remember. Once you go inside the church they give you this small radio with headphones (English and French options) so you can listen to the history of the church. They tell you the story and make a light show at the same time. Afterwards they give you plenty of time to take pictures. It is incredibly beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gio_prado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
210 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Temper your expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have read many reviews raving about the light show and took our teenage sons to see this on our last night in Montreal. We were fairly disappointed. The lightshow is basically a cheesy historical video with some lighting projected on to sheets draped around the church. The sheets are eventually raised to expose the cathedral itself which is beautiful and there is lighting behind the statuaes but nothing that particularly amazing. If you are in the area with a half hour to kill and are interested in the history of the cathedral and don't mind incredibly bad acting then check it out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We attended the light and sound show at the basilica and enjoyed it tremendously. It explained history of Montreal and basilica with great detail and imagination.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ksniegoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just....wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

A must see when you are in Montreal. I suggest seeing the smaller cathedrals first and then saving this as the grand finale. Does not disappoint.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lilypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Notre-Dame Basilica also viewed

 

Been to Notre-Dame Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing