We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star service”
Review of Hotel Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambrose
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5-star service”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ambrose for one night in April. We arrived early and were given a room right away. The desk clerk, Francois-Xavier, was extremely helpful in pointing out activities for the afternoon and evening and gave us a map to use for our stay.
The room was very clean and the bed is very comfortable. They provide a nice soap in the bathroom.
Breakfast - hot, fresh coffee, croissants, hard-boiled eggs, and fruit. Newspapers provided.
Close to the footpath that takes you to the lookout on Mont-Royal. Close to Central Station (Via Rail). Highly recommended and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltPepper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    114
    51
    16
    10
See reviews for
37
119
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Okay, let me start off by saying, our trip was a budget trip, and Manoir Ambrose more than delivers! Very nice little place! We stayed two nights, and enjoyed it immensely.

Location: Perfect, beautiful little spot downtown Montreal; close to everything you'd want to explore. Close to the Metro and Greyhound stations.

Service: Excellent!! I loved the staff. The male who ran the front desk (I forgot his name, but he's the only male at the desk anyway) was so helpful and cheerful! They also kept our bags safe for us after we checked out because our bus was later in the afternoon.

Note: This is not an accessible hotel, but the stairs really aren't that bad, and we were all the way at the top.

Amenities: We got the classic room, upstairs. Although a bit small, it's beautiful and clean. Also surprisingly quiet, and I'm an incredibly light sleeper! Very comfortable bed and linens! Clean private bathroom. Beautiful furnishings, very cozy and comfy. Good continental breakfast in the mornings from 8-10:30 am.

The heating was odd and our room was a bit chilly, but not horrible. The shower takes a minute or two to heat up, but there is lots of hot water afterward. The only things I really wish we had was a mini-fridge and tub. It is a quite small hotel, expecting them to fit a tub in is kinda silly; but if you want a romantic getaway with the perks of a tub, this is not the room, (I'm not sure about the other rooms).

I really do wish they would fit in a mini-fridge though. It could work, and would really have made my stay much more enjoyable.

End thoughts: Great place for the Price. I would stay again, but I will do some more research first to maybe find somewhere with a mini-fridge/tub. Great staff, beautiful (for a small) hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thundersquawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed in the Family Suite and found the room clean and comfortable. Close to downtown. Easy access to Metro. It was great that breakfast was included. We wished there'd been more fruit but the croissants were delicious and the coffee was good too. We really liked that we could come in after a day out and enjoy a hot cup of tea at any time. The Hotel staff always had a welcoming smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WesAura-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I was able to score this hotel last minute deal from their website. For two nights it was only $115 all in but with no refunds on cancellation. For my purpose (last minute trip to Montreal) it was well worth the value.

Location is perfect. Walking distance to eaton centre, st. Catherine's and a variety of restaurants as well as close to the Metro.

Check in was fast and easy. I was on the third floor so those who have problems with stairs this might not be an ideal hotel. However, the stairs are a beautiful touch to this hotel. I am one who can appreciate the old charm that Montreal has to offer and it's nice to see that there is an effort to retain it.

My room was small, but clean and had a phone, clean washroom with towels, soap and shampoo, clock, iPod docking station, clock and tv. No coffee maker for those who like that amenity, however you do get continental breakfast every morning that included coffee, juice, water, bread, fruit, boiled egg. Just enough to get you started for the day.

For the price, location and cleanliness this little charming hotel is worth a couple nights stay over. If you are looking for fancy and luxury, spend the money and go elsewhere.

Check out was also fast and easy. Very friendly staff including the cleaning lady who greeted me with a smile when I was leaving one morning and she happened to be outside my door.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank butterf1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Overall this is a very nice hotel. It is easy to find, in terms of location it is just outside the main downtown area of the city. One block from the Peel metro station, and a few blocks down from the Peel walking entrance to go up Mont Royal. There is also a private parking garage one block away for a reasonable rate. The complimentary breakfast was nice, muffins, croissants, cereal, toast, coffee, and juices, just what you would expect. The room was neat and the bathroom was clean, nothing fancy, but just what you need for visiting. One thing to mention is that when people were walking by in the hallway, it was a bit noisy, but we didnt have any problems at night, so it wasn't a bit issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiNi-0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Everyone at the front desk is wonderful but we got the most help from Francios-Xavier because he seems to always be there. He was patient, multi lingual, responsive and sincere--a real nice guy. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have slept in. The room itself could use some caulk and touch up paint but if that was really important I could have paid 3 times as much at the Sofitel at the end of the block. The location is a few blocks from Peel metro, McGill University, Mount Royal, Musee des Beaux Arts, great dining, Hurleys Irish bar, and some 24-hour fast food. The airport bus, the 747, is walkable as well at about 7 blocks.

Helpful?
Thank traveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed in Hotel Ambrose two nights, and had to check in and out at absurdly early times (5am). The staff accommodated me without a problem. The room was lovely; I went with the economy room, so it was small, with a single bed, but lacked none of the amenities that would come with a larger room - huge flat screen tv, very nice private bathroom & shower, desk, reading lamp, sky light etc. The bed was nice, and everything was clean with excellent presentation. In the hotel, there's also a beautiful dining room right next to the entrance with an extensive continental breakfast. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#68 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#75 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#67 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambrose

Property: Hotel Ambrose
Address: 3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambrose is a charming 21 room hotel in the heart of Montreal. Each of our rooms are comfortable and unique. Offering a truly European experience in North America, we pride ourselves in offering the basics of a great hotel: Amazing Location, Exceptional Service, and Clean Impeccable Rooms. On top of that, we strive to make your stay here as value friendly as possible, offering free amenities: Continental Breakfast, WiFi Internet, Cable TV, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Ambrose Montreal
Manoir Ambrose Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing