We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Ranked #90 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is situated about a block and a half from St Catherine's Street and about 5 blocks to rue Crescent. Rue Crescent is very popular with many many fine dining choices. Many local bars along St Catherine's in either direction as well. Buses and trains are easily obtained from here, the underground shopping and old Montreal are each about a $10 cab ride away. Excellent central location at a good rate and the rooms are very clean and well maintained. Probably why they have a govt contract to house Cree First Nations and out of town Quebecers who need to come into Montreal for hospital care. Great location for all of your Montreal adventures with very helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We liked the location and staff of this hotel. It is classified as a 4 star but it needed so much maintenance would only give it a 3 star. The Staff was helpful and friendly but the cleaning staff was slow and didn't clean well. Floor was not mopped and sink was dirty. We were there for F! race so very busy but still not quite up to standard

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked very last minute when we had to shift our vacation by a few days and the hotel we had booked could not accommodate. The outside of the hotel is very drab - next to an empty lot. When we pulled up I actually thought I may have made a mistake booking here. The lobby is pleasing enough but there is a very odd cast of characters that always seem to be hanging out in the lobby - I never did figure that out. You can get free espresso from the front desk and my friend loved it. The staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions. We did not try the onsite restaurant. There is a small store in the lobby but it closes in the middle of the day for a couple of hours. There is a taxi stand outside the hotel that is very convenient. We had a room on the 7th floor. Very spacious, I loved that the floors were laminate. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and the room had a fridge (There is a drugstore 2 blocks away so we stocked up). The bathroom was smallish but clean enough, not very good water pressure. Very convenient location. A taxi to old town is about $10 though we did walk back on our return. There is a good Thai restaurant very nearby and many restaurants and shops within blocks including a Starbucks.

Room Tip: I did hear the 7th floor was the renovated floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwall1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel is right at 747 bus (from airport) stop, 1.5 blocks to metro, short walk to Bell Center, and 1.5 blocks from Rue Ste-Catherine with tons of shopping and excellent restaurants. Building is older but rooms have been redone. Our room was very clean. Prefer to the laminate wood flooring over "hotel carpet". Memory foam bed very comfortable. Staff was friendly. As for security concerns . . . it's across the the street from a police station. Restaurant did not look impressive and we did not eat there. WiFi reliable. No breakfast included.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimberly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, General Manager at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We appreciate receiving the comments on your recent post.
Thanks.
Stefano De Vito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Overall it's a good hotel located right in downtown Montreal (a few blocks from St-Catherine St, the subway, restaurants, shops, etc) so the location couldn't be better. The room was clean, quite spacious and the beds were comfortable. The room wasn't luxurious by any means but then it isn't a five-star hotel. I'd rate it as a good three star perhaps.
The staff was helpful (complimentary coffee was offered) and the hotel lobby was nice. (There's a restaurant on site). I would definitely consider staying at Hotel Espresso again.

Room Tip: I asked for a top floor room (for better view of downtown and less noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Located minutes away from all downtown Montreal attraction. Nicely priced, close to Bell Centre. 7th floor rooms newly renovated. Great Complimentry espresso available at the front desk. Restaurant services on site and five minutes walk to the famous Montréal smoked meat shops.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank thebeaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Attended a conference at the Queen Elizabeth and this was a MUCH cheaper alternative to the conference hotel rate. Fantastic rate available through priceline bidding and happy I ended up here.

My experience pretty much matches what others have said:
* Convenient to transit (nearby 747 airporter stop and metro station)
* Close-in to downtown with all the Rue Ste Catherine shops/bars/restaurants and Bell Centre just a 5-10 minute walk away
* Large room with comfortable bed and good linens
* In room fridge
* Free espresso at registration anytime
* hardwood floors
* friendly reception (didn't have interaction with housekeeping staff)
* free wi-fi (I had a great signal but I know others have reported being dropped...might have to do with router location)

The things that keep this hotel from getting an excellent review:
* Out of date furnishings (I was not in an Ikea room as another reviewer characterized)
* No microwave (could have really used this for my leftover bagel)
* Older/slower elevators
* Noise carries in the hall and hallway carpet needs replacing
* Small desk (many business travelers like having a large desk/table to work at). Oddly enough, there was a workstation taking up most of the desk....I think the first time I've ever seen a workstation in a hotel room. Wtih smartphones and laptops, the workstation become a very expensive paperweight
* No free local calling (important for a U.S. traveler who doesn't want to pay for roaming)

But these things are pretty low-down on my list of priorities. Quiet room (except for occasional groups in the hall), comfortable bed, plenty of space, large selection of channels, decent hot water. Can't speak to the restaurant, exercise room or pool.

Because of the price and location, the hotel does get budget travelers. During my stay, I noticed several school groups and foreign tours staying here. There appeared to be a large number of first nation families staying here as well (they were frequently in the lobby area). I didn't notice any other evidence of 'transients' staying there, so I'm guessing this is what earlier reviews were referring to. I did notice a long list of hotel rules in the hotel directory (which included entries like "No guests after 11 PM") so I would not be surprised if the hotel caters to the homeless community. I did also notice in the events room what appeared to be a casting call for either a modeling or movie events (how else to explain the appearance of two dozen young, extremely attractive models, most wearing miniskirts and lots of makeup...definitely not a bachelorette party). Perfectly appropriate behavior.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#70 of 165 in Montreal
680 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#67 of 165 in Montreal
920 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#37 of 165 in Montreal
1,721 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#71 of 165 in Montreal
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown

Address: 1005 Guy Street | Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £83 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville / Downtown is located in the heart of the city, 3 blocks from the Bell Centre, a few steps away from the lovely cafés and boutiques of Crescent street, Ste-Catherine and from Old-Montreal. The Hotel offers a warm hospitality in a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and many other services that you will enjoy during your stay.Our features & services description:• 205 rooms / suites - 75% with Laminated flooring• Rooms with soy based eco-foam mattresses• All rooms and suites equipped with a FREE in-room computer and High-speed Internet access (FREE)• Restaurant / Bar (200 seats)• Meeting and banquet rooms (10 to 200 persons)• Club Physique spa• Outdoor swimming pool (seasonal / weather permitting)• Sauna• Fitness centre• Gift shop• Enterprise rental car office($)• Indoor parking ($) & car wash ($)• room service (7 AM to 10 PM)• Business center• Tour desk / reception (24 hrs)• Dry cleaning service ($) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing