We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it, loved it, loved it!”
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chez Swann
Ranked #57 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“loved it, loved it, loved it!”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We have been going to Montreal for over five years, this was a special occasion our 40th anniversary. Great location,wonderful ,wonderful service,super room,very romantic,clean, cool decorations and fun!
We mentioned our aniversary and when we went back to our room there was a gift bag with fabulous chocolates and gift certificate to a spa, how wonderful is that.
The manager, the front desk, everyone was quick to help and give us ideas on our stay.
This is now our favorite hotel to go to anywhere .
Not cookie cutter and well thought out down to the last detail.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouton71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    155
    51
    22
    13
See reviews for
36
293
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

What a surprise! For the price, you can't beat the funky, modern accommodations of this fantastic little hotel in the center of Montreal.

The rooms are spacious and well-appointed: Great, comfortable bedding, a beautiful bathroom (double shower, great products, soft & fluffy towels). The design of this hotel is arty / funky, but not in a cheap-looking way. I was very impressed.

Check-in was simple (they use Apple computers at the front desk). Staff were friendly and English-speaking, the common areas are very nice. Location is fantastic - just a short walk to shopping or office towers in the center of Montreal. Felt secure/safe the entire time in the hotel.

Will definitely stay here again - my only gripes (but still 5 stars) - the wifi is a bit weak at times and the breakfast (coffee and danishes/croissants) is a bit minimal, but for the price I was not bothered by this at all (Second Cup is about 2 blocks away). STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamW_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This hotel is great! Would stay there again. It's unique and not like a chain hotel, is relatively new, and we hope that they make it.

We wanted to stay closer to old town, but this was better. Could still walk to old town but enjoyed being close to restaurants on Crescent. Pleasantly surprised by plush spa robe and slippers, free wi-fi, free calls to Canada and US, free continental breakfast.

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, but not trained. There was no literature in the sleek room, and no one could tell us what the TV stations were, how to adjust the TV - picture was larger than the screen, how to retrieve messages on the room telephone when the readout said there was a message, etc. Very kind desk person brought us ice, but there is no vending or ice machine.

Hotel room 212: on the south side - 2 windows faced a skylit atrium, not outdoors, but completely private. We could hear footsteps above us, but nothing adjacent (if we had neighbors). Would ask for a 3rd floor room. Room doors slammed in the hall as guests came/left, but no housekeeping noise. Two beds, desk, wardrobe, chair. Spacious enough but very black and dark and a bit tricky to negotiate. Decor is minimal and trendy cool. Good a/c unit is very quiet. Lighting - OK for reading in bed but otherwise the room is very dim. For serious work, would need to request an additional lamp.

Inside the entry door, and from bathroom, are 3 steps down on a completely black floor that could be a falling hazard. Spotlights along the steps are too bright to leave on overnight, so we left the bathroom light on with the door closed to remind us that the stairs were there.

Two of us were non-romantic friends, so to obscure the peek-a-boo shower we pulled the red curtain but it was quite sheer, so we turned on the floor lamp in front of the window to obscure images from the shower. We didn't see any other rooms so don't know how this compares. All in all, a great experience!

Room Tip: Third floor so no footstep noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaShaSha08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My Girlfriend and I headed to East Canada for Easter and Montreal was our first stop. We arrived from the UK at around 11am and although we weren’t expecting to be checked in we simply asked if we could leave our bags and go for a walk to waste a few hours before check-in. Of course deep down all we wanted to do was get checked in and freshen up but we knew we were too early for check-in. The man at reception told us that our room wasn’t, but was not only able to check us in but also upgraded us to suite which was available. What a great start to our holiday!

Once in the room, it certainly didn’t disappoint, very modern, very funky and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I Stayed in this hotel last weekend (rooms 203/204) and I'm not sure if I would stay here again.
The service was great and staff very friendly but...
- There were two dirty towels on room 203 upon check-in.
- Hair all over the bathroom on 204.
- You can hear people walking on the 3rd floor all day/night long.
- Strange layout on 203 (TV on the side of the bed).
- Poor, very poor breakfast.
Over all the hotel is a great value.

Room Tip: poor breakfast, nice decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcdsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Advantages: great location, very friendly and helpfull staff at the reception (except for the managers.... they seem to ignore the guests, too 'busy' to even greet), hip furnishing (we love the floor lamps in the lobby), huge bed and shower. Disadvantages: the breakfast (a Nespresso & muffin) has to be taken in the small lobby, sitting on the hip but not exactly comfortable bench, a bit noisy (our room was located on the 2nd floor above a restaurant wich played music till 2 am), we found no manuals or information about the in our room.

Room Tip: Take a room on the third floor facing Drummond Street (less noise from the restaurant)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlouDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Chez Swann over the Canada Day long weekend for a quick getaway. It seemed like the perfect place for a romantic getaway and it didn't disappoint.

As others have reported, the hotel can be a little tricky to find so keep an eye out for the 2 glass doors to the immediate left of the Liquid Nutrition juice bar.

Parking is located halfway down the block, closer to rue Saint-Catherine. You can park your car first and check into the hotel after. There is also free, temporary street parking in front of the hotel if you want to check in first. You'll be given a parking voucher, which gives you a discount at the garage. The garage is a little dark and narrow but it's safe and staffed 24/7. Parking for 3 nights over the weekend was $50, which I didn't think was too bad. You can apparently go in and out of the parking garage and pay a lump sum at the end but we didn't do that.

The hotel is extremely well located in downtown Montreal... Peel metro station is about 2 minutes away and there are countless restaurants, bars and shops in the area. All of this is great, however the neigbourhood can be quite noisy at night. If you're not used to the noise, you may find it difficult to get a good night's sleep. There is also a restaurant located directly below the hotel, which has a fairly large patio. The sound of restaurant patrons and the music playing in the restaurant is almost always present in the room (from 9am to past midnight). It's nothing an air conditioner or TV can't drown out when trying to sleep but I think this may bother some people used to quieter environments.

The room itself is totally unique and unlike any other hotel I've stayed in. The bathroom is incredibly modern and clean. The shower is truly amazing... a two person rain head shower with a window looking into the bedroom definitely makes this a wonderful place for couples. There is a safe large enough to fit a laptop, free bottled water, bathrobes and a hair dryer in the room. A fridge would've been nice and I didn't see any do not disturb signs either... funny, considering it's geared towards couples.

Breakfast consists of coffee and very large pastries.

Overall, I think is a great hotel with a bit of room for improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflavoured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSwann, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for your nice comment, as you mentioned, Hôtel Chez Swann is the perfect place in Montreal for a romantic escapade. Our sign is coming very soon. Regarding the fridge, our front desk agent would be pleased to keep your stuff cold in our fridge. The ‘’do not disturb sign’’ is under creation and will be added very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#10 of 164 in Montreal
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#40 of 164 in Montreal
1,637 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Property: Hotel Chez Swann
Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Swann 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing