We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, which isn't always great”
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chez Swann
Ranked #60 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We are a couple in our early 30s heading to Montreal for Memorial Day weekend. We wanted something different and Chez Swann appealed to us. It did live up to its quirky presentation and was a unique experience. The strange, but interesting, two person shower, the decor and furniture. Breakfast wasn't worth the effort, go find something else in the morning. Very centrally located, we even walked to Old Town without too much trouble.

The main downside was the giant skylight in the room. At 7am each morning, the light would shine in too brightly to stay asleep. There wasn't any shade or way to dampen the light. It really was a frustrating part of the stay. Without it, I likely would have given the room a 4 or 5.

Room Tip: Ask for one without a skylight if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 10dayloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel, for something affordable, central, and quirky. I would stay here again. The breakfast was very good - cereals, pastries, coffee, juice, fruit, yoghurt. You don't have to have an eggs & bacon breakfast to be a good breakfast, but Eggspectation or Chez Cora are nearby if that's your style instead. The king size bed was very comfortable, same for the pillows, and the street noise wasn't noticeable. The shower was great! Two showers with multiple faucets and although it does separate the bathroom from the bedroom with a clear window, it was fun (there's also a curtain if you want privacy).

It could be that the building was older because the only noise I could hear at night was the creaking of the neighbours on the hardwood floors. However, it's newly decorated.

We chose this hotel for its walking convenience to the 747 airport bus (<5 min walk), the Gare Central train station (10 min), Old Montreal (20-25 min), Megabus (10 min), the University (<5 min), and Restaurants and Shopping (<5 min).

On our last day, the gracious staff can hold your bags after you've checked out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowpeayah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I recently had a 4 night stay at the Chez Swann, and it was a positive one. The interior design was cool, and the staff were very cordial and helpful. The bathroom in our room (I believe was 310) was big, and the room itself was a good size. The bed was extremely comfortable comfortable, and the A/C worked well. The Bella Pella products were good, as was getting the free bottled water on request. The breakfast was delicious, and included with the cost of the stay. We did request a quieter room ahead of time, and that is exactly what we got. I didn't hear anyone. The location was excellent... very close to the Peel Metro, Underground City and Museum des Beaux Arts. It was easy to get to when taking the 747 Aerobus from the airport (it drops off right at Rene Levesque and Drummond) -- so you only have to walk a few blocks. Liquid Nutrition is right next to the lobby, which was great because after all of the poutine and other junk food I would eat during the day whilst walking all over the place and sight-seeing... it was could to come back to the hotel for the night, and have a healthy shake for dinner when relaxing. The only things that could possibly make this place better would be: mini-fridges in the rooms, more counter-space in the bathrooms, and possibly a more noticeable sign out front. One icky thing we did notice during our stay, was some unidentifiable crud on the comforter, so we just tossed that on the floor, and used the other blankets. I wasn't really a fan of the peek-a-boo shower, but it didn't detract from the quality of the hotel itself. I would definitely recommend it. I took some photos to document my experience.

Room Tip: Email them and ask for a quieter room if you don't want to hear the surrounding nightlife. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinjifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Ultra modern and very hip. Could not have chosen a better hotel to spend some time in a great city. Very friendly staff and always willing to help, customer service is their top priority. Really felt like we were coming home after a long day of sight seeing. The accommodations were magnifique!!! Large rooms, very comfortable, and a bathroom made for relaxation. Petite Dejeuner was offered, which was an added bonus, of fresh croissants and baguettes with an apple-fig jam to die for - it was quality not quantity. Location was perfect, seconds away from great shopping, restaurants and nightlife in a trendy part of the city. I will definitely revisit Dwayne, Herman and the rest of the wonderful people of Chez Swann. It was the perfect getaway for a romantic week in a romantic city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

It is easy to miss the entrance as the sign of the hotel is a bit small and hard to see in the daylight. But the reception is quite impressive. The decor is very chic, artsy and modern. It is also surprisingly family-friendly. The attendants at the reception were very friendly, courteous and approachable. Everything we asked for and needed were promptly answered and done.

The initial vibe we got as soon as we got into our room was it was for couples. The partition between bathroom and actual bedroom is just a see through glass. But as soon as my kids jumped on the big king-size bed, the room transformed into a family room. I was particularly happy with the free wifi and water bottles, which we needed while walking around the city. My family's favorite is the free breakfast. The French restaurant, Le Pois Penche, served fresh danish and croissant every morning.

On our first day, we noticed the floor was dusty and the blanket had a big stain on it. We soon asked for new blanket which was immediately fixed. There are a few things I would like to recommend. It would have helpful if there was a small table or counter top in the bathroom for personal effects. I ended up placing toiletries on the sides of the sink and they barely fit. We would also like a small refrigerator to store cold drinks in. It got really warm strolling around the city and cold drinks were what we needed when we got back to the room.

We couldn't ask for a better location, even for a family. At night, it's a single person's heaven with all the bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel. (Despite the noise of people shouting and loud music in bars, we didn't hear any of that inside our room - Room 203). But during the day, there are many places for families to see and restaurants to eat at. The hotel is a few blocks away from an art museum and Parc Mont Royal. There are lots of stores for shopping. Chinatown and Old Montreal is only a 25-minute walk.

We will definitely stay here again and we recommend this hotel to families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenix406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel was awesome! Unique decor with an eclectic modern design and romantic ambiance. The staff was super friendly and helpful beyond expectations! Delicious free breakfast... The shower is possibly the most unique part - you can see the person showering from the bed if you choose to leave the curtains open. This feature gave the room a very romantic feel. The only thing that seemed to be missing from the room was a small fridge.

There was also a lot to do next to the hotel as far as shopping, restaurants, and bars. Metro and parking were very close. Everything was within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 308 was amazing with a view of the street, while 311 was also a very nice room (no view) but had a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeryChery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Walking distance from shopping, dining, and entertainment:) Cool, modern design. Very friendly and helpful staff. The front desk attendant was amazing. He gave the best recomendations to us for restaurants and clubs, and brought ice and glasses to our room upon request. Very comfortable bed. Excellent value for the location. Only disadvantage was crappy Wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rshelger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#11 of 165 in Montreal
726 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Renaissance Montreal Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Mount Stephen
Le Mount Stephen
#58 of 165 in Montreal
56 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £116 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Swann 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing