We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool swanky hotel.”
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chez Swann
Ranked #57 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool swanky hotel.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you aren't interested in amenities, this hotel is really cool. Very swanky and the rooms are modern and fun. You cannot beat the location! One block from all the main streets and only a 30 minute walk to Old Monteal.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 303. They must unload the glass recycles in the ally right on the other side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    153
    50
    21
    13
See reviews for
35
288
31
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Swann in Montreal May 9th - 11th and we absolutely loved it. Loved the location for shopping. The rooms are very well kept and super clean! We had a Groupon deal so the price was unbeatable!! Lovely hotel!! The staff was very nice. Would certainly recommend it to my friends! ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently stayed at Chez Swann for a short 3 night stay in Montreal. This was a short family get-a-way and I really liked the hotel. The room was large and had a great big bathroom. It was a very eclectic hotel, my understanding is that the rooms are not similar, but each have their own "personality". The bed was very comfortable, with a great down comforter that makes you feel warm and comfortable. They have a great "European" breakfast that is free; croissants, bouquets and pan chocolate with great tea and coffee. Yogurt is available. I found the people at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. There was supposedly a "Spin room" to exercise.. I am not sure if it was there or I really did not attempt to find it. They would allow us to buy wine and the bar downstairs would open it for us, or allow us to take drinks to the room. The location is near McGill University and comfortable walk from most of the sites you would want to see in downtown Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

2 blocks to the bars and restaurant at crescent street. Hotels guests are mostly young crowd with late night drinking. I could hear them in the hallway well into 3 am. At 6:59am, the construction site right next to our bedroom started banging.
The decor in room is minimal with one wing chair and a desk in a Junior suite. Bed is ok but the pillow is stiff ( standard, no other options). Shower stall is long and has 2 massage jets for 2 people. One end of the wall is glass looking through at the bed.
Free wifi in room is nice. Breakfast is offered at a restaurant connected to the hotel with coffee, juice, croissant and cereal. No hot dishes.
Overall I think it's a bit over-rated by other reviewers.
I booked it through a popular European website Splendia. The system did not crossover to the hotel computer but the hotel will honor the booking.
The manager promise an upgrade next time around for the noises and inconvenience. I will give them a second chance only if the price is right.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TangueraNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel for about three weeks. The experience was nice. The room was amazing. The staff were very welcoming, Raluca deserves 5 stars for costumer service, very professional, helpful, sweet and warm attitude.

I will definetly go back to Hotel Chez Swann

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was actually a little reluctant to go to such hotel, far from the usual classical ones (Sheraton, Best Western, Marriott etc..) in terms of design. But after 1 night spent there, I'm happy I tried it: it's so different to be in a room you won't fins anywhere else. Too bad I was travelling by myself, I'm sure my spouse would have loved it: the romantic touch, the "je ne sais quoi" that makes it better... I would come back if I can.
Pros: very good location, different, clean, service, excellent restaurant "le chat penche" connected to the lobby, double shower
Cons: skylights in my bedroom, bed and pillows not so good

Room Tip: My room on the 3rd floor had skylights.. Ok with me as I had to wake up early, but ask to avoid such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olli_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here almost two weeks for a mix of a business & personal trip...

The pro's

- Exceptional customer service
- Front-desk went to get a dog in a room because it kept on barking
- The look & feel of the rooms
- In the heart of Montreal nightlife and next to the mountain
- Starbucks is 30 seconds away

The only con
- You need an eye patch if you want to sleep in the morning because the rooms on the 3rd floor all have sky windows

Would I stay here again... most probably

Room Tip: Room 311 is perfect for non-existent noise !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#44 of 164 in Montreal
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#10 of 164 in Montreal
665 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#72 of 164 in Montreal
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Property: Hotel Chez Swann
Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Swann 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing