We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the heart of downtown Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed here for one night with my child and it was a very pleasant experience. We currently live in Montreal and just decided to go for an in-town vacation. The location was great, just a few minutes from the St Laurent metro stop. It is within walking distance to chinatown, restaurants, and shops. The room that we stayed in was a studio with a little stove and fridge. It was very clean but basic. There is a double bed and also a fold out bed in the closet. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The hotel is right above a sex shop and near a few strip clubs. I can see how it might scare some tourists but it is nothing to worry about. Unfortunately, in Montreal, strip clubs are scaterred all over downtown so just be careful which door you open.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cellydaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Quartiers Des Spectacles on the 6th April 2012.

Myself and my friend were looking for a good value hotel within easy reach of Old Montreal and the entertainment district, from which we could explore the area and get to know the city.

We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The location is fantastic; just minutes walk from Mont Royal, Old Montreal and the Notre Dame Basilica, plus being on Rue Sainte Catherine the hotel has plenty of restaurants, shops and bars within easy reach too. Despite its central location, the hotel is quiet and comfortable, making it a great choice for anyone looking to party into the night or enjoy a subdued evening in a pleasant atmosphere.

The only issue we did see was in the exterior of the building. On arriving at the hotel, we were a little concerned to find its entrance wedged between an erotic goods store and an alcohol shop (possibly the reason why the main photo featured for this hotel has the lower level shops Photoshopped out). However, as my title suggests, don't judge a book by it's cover; the hotel inside appears recently renovated and looks fantastic.

Great things to do nearby are the Notre Dame Basilica ($5 entry fee, well worth it), Old Montreal (take a horse and carriage ride for $50 to see the area in style), Rue Saint Laurent for bars and clubs and Eggspectation (turn right out of the hotel and walk for 5 minutes) for breakfast.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room and found it very comfortable. Rooms on the top floor benefit from not havi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauralhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This place is good value at a convenient location. Pretty much close to most things in Montreal.

What they don't tell you, is the fact that it is located above a sex shop! Lol
Wasn't really a problem though, its not seedy or anything. We were 2 girls out and about and never felt threatened or unsafe no matter what time of night it was.

The room is tiny. Very very small, and so is the bathroom. TINY!
But it was clean and it was comfortable.

It is however, upstairs and there are no lifts... so those with large luggage, be aware.

Otherwise, it was a good little budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed here for five nights during a convention. Montreal is a very walkable city and the hotel is located close to the convection center, the theater district, Old Montreal, and many good restaurants.

The hotel Quartier des Spectacles is actually owned by the Hotel Abri-Voyager. You check in at the Abri-Voyager, but then have to walk outside and around the corner to enter the Quartier des Spectacles, which is in a different building. The Quartier has a private, keyed entrance and only has four rooms. The one I stayed in was clean and spartan with two double beds, a kitchenette, and washer dryer in the bathroom. There is an iron and ironing board in the hallway, shared among the four rooms. Free internet access comes with the room. The room and public spaces were clean.

While others have written that the hotel is in a red light district, it is not. It is one block away from the theaters and good bars and restaurants. The hotel shares the building with an erotica store, but I never even saw anyone leave or enter the store. While that might be a problem for some, it isn't a red light district.

The only thing that I would say is off-putting is that the hotel door is poorly marked, and the stretch of road it is on looks decrepit (and faces a vacant lot). The wall of the hotel has a mural of a harmonica player on it, which makes it easy to spot. Point is, it looked a little sketchy when I first showed up, but I never felt unsafe or isolated.

The hotel does not have parking, but there is an open lot next door ($20/day) and a covered lot 3 blocks away at a university ($11/day).

If you are disabled or need an elevator, do not stay here. Both the Abri-Voyager and the Quartier des Spectacles are on the second floor of their respective buildings and can only be reached by stairs.

I would recommend this hotel for budget travelers who do not need the amenities of a larger hotel but also don't want to stay in a hostel or motel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here during the last part ot the jazz festival. Was right next to all of the action. Was close to Metro and Bixi stations. Some street noise but this is to be expected. Staff was helpfull and friendly. Felt very fortunate to be so close to all of the action of the festival and yet being able to escape it's crowds by just going upstairs. Yes, it is by a sex shop, get over it. It is Montreal not Wichita. There were not a bunch creepy people hanging around. Stayed down the street at the Hyatt a week later and wished I was here instead.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank GabzGabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho H, Responsable des relations clients at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hohop2160, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#84 of 165 in Montreal
580 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
687 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#67 of 165 in Montreal
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#52 of 165 in Montreal
554 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#76 of 165 in Montreal
272 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £41 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing