We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #93 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were checked in by the nicest person in Quebec, and potentially all of Canada. I believe her name was Carole and she was magnificent! She was warm, friendly, sincere, unbelievably helpful, extremely knowledgeable about the city and would not stop smiling. If I wasn't already married I probably would have proposed to her on the spot. Talk about a great way to start off our stay!

My wife and I decided to stay here based on the wonderful reviews and the hotels location. It was literally steps from all the action of The Montreal Jazz Fest which was totally brilliant! Aside from that, there are wonderful bars, shops and restaurants that are all well within walking distance. And don't forget about the sex shop downstairs (which has nothing to do with the hotel itself, and I'm sure their sick of having to stress that). It's a clean and tasteful little place that is worth popping your head into if you're open minded. Quebecers aren't as uptight about sex as most other places in Canada, so if you're feeling frisky why not give it a shot.

As far as the rooms in the hotel, ours definitely met our needs. It was quite small, but certainly big enough for two people. The bed was comfortable and the shower was refreshing with plenty of hot water. It was a modern room with well kept hardwood floors. Most importantly, we felt the room had alot of character, that you won't find in the bigger hotel chains.

This is an excellent hotel in a very lively area. The staff are next to none, and management should be commended for running such a lovely establishment. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thanks for your great recommendation and encouraging Tripadvisor guests to stay in our establishment. Carole (with her great smile) and all of the reception staff of the hotel love to guide our clients in their discovery of our city and our vibrant neighborhood. I am pleased that they have in part, helped to made your trip a memorable one and I will share with them your kind words. Glad that you will be back......hopefully soon since there is always something to experience in Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Upon learning that my usual hotel was closed for re-development, I was scrambling to find an alternate that would be both inexpensive & well-located. Not sure how exactly I stumbled onto Quartier, but I suspect it'll become my go-to for Montréal accommodation.

Located near the corner of St. Laurent & St. Catherine, the hotel is an easy walk to much the city has to offer, with a Métro station around the corner on Maisonneuve. It's true that there is no elevator so you'll be carrying your bag up stairs, but this is a non-issue for able-bodied folk. The room I had was recently renovated, cozy, and clean. My one comment (which I made) is that for an east-facing window, the curtains aren't dark enough to block out the sun in the morning.

I'm probably the only person around who still doesn't travel with an web-enabled mobile device, so the fact that the hotel doesn't have a public kiosk was a bit of a drag. The guy at the desk kindly offered the use of his own terminal though, and I ended up finding a 'net café up on St. Denis.

In all, this place offers a great deal (via booking.com) and gave me far more for far less than I've paid in most other cities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

We are delighted that our hotel will be your ''go to place'' while in Montreal. We love seeing our clients return time and time again and we are pleased to offer them a discount when they book directly with the hotel. For your information, we will soon have a computer station for the convenience of our clients who do not bring a web enabled mobile device. Thanks again for your warm comments and suggestions.....till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Hotel Quartier des Spectacles is right along st. Catherine st. It is close to shopping centres, museums, entertainment. The location is absolutely perfect, everything is within walking distance or a short metro ride. We stayed for 2 nights on our first visit to Montreal, we couldn't have chosen a better place, our room was very clean and we got a great deal on hotels.com, we love walking especially because the summer weather was beautiful and everything we wanted to see was close by. Lots of outdoor entertainment, we saw a just for laughs comedy fest show, took the metro to mount royal for some great poutine at la banquise, highly recommended!, walked to china town, spent some time in old Montreal and the waterfront, lots of beautiful architecture and the Notre Dame Cathedral is breath taking, we recommend crepes suzette and montreal poutine resto bar restaurants in vieux port. The hotel staff was very helpful, friendly, and provided a luggage storage which was very helpful so that we could do a little more touring on our last day since our via rail train didnt leave until that afternoon. Overall it was a great experience, and next time we travel to Montreal we will definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the first floor, this hotel doesn't have elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We are delighted to read you appreciated our prime location, our clean accommodations, as well as the great value. We our proud of our establishment and pleased that in small part, we made your trip to Montreal memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to our beautiful city and remember, we offer a discount for return clients who book with our hotel directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I ask for three things from a hotel: cleanliness, quiet, and comfortable. The Hotel Quartier des Spectacles met all three of these requirements. Being centrally located allowed us to walk to almost all of the sites and shopping in the city. We only used the Metro once to visit the Botanical Gardens. We visited during a heat wave and thank goodness, the air conditioner kept our room cool. The only improvement I would suggest to the management is to upgrade the WIFI and cable service. The TV was circa 1990s and probably should be replaced with a flat screen.

A special thanks to David who helped us book our reservation and then outlined the city on a map for us to navigate. He provided great insight how to tour the city, and he was most helpful in negotiating the crowded center city streets with our baggage during the festival.

Room Tip: We chose a studio because I like the room to be quiet. If you prefer a view, then opt for the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ednra2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Your warm comments regarding our property and your suggestions are greatly appreciated. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you appreciated the insight that David offered to make your experiences in Montreal memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Simple and Clean Hotel. The staff at the Hotel are very curtious and Helpful for any Information. The best part is it is right in heart of the city location and great Price and we enjoyed our Jazz festival right down by the hotel.

We had great experience at this hotel and will sure visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles. We are pleased that you will be returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a prime location - walking distance from many attractions. The rooms are tiny but they are perfect for just storing your things as you explore the city. Like the other reviewers say: there are stairs up which you must carry your luggage and the neighborhood does have quite a few adult shops and strip clubs but I never felt unsafe at any point. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsJetSetter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you for your review of Hotel Quartier des Spectacles. Being situated in a centennial building, our rooms are all unique----that is, we have a variety of room types and sizes. This dynamic area is indeed safe and ideal to explore the city. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in Montreal and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I really have nothing to complaint about! It's a great location & fantastic staff to help with luggage. Wifi worked too!
Just letting everyone know that it's a long flight of stairs to reception and NO left!!

Also, we were placed in a corner room overlooking the main street and as it happens, there was a big festival on and the band (MOSLTY hedious pounding stuff) was directly under our room :( We weren't happy about that! So be aware of festivals that may be happening during your visit or you won't get ANY SLEEP.
That's all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowRoseAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your review......I will share your comments with staff regarding their helpfulness and your appreciation about taking care of your luggage. Our hotel is on the second floor of a centennial building and unfortunately there is no possibility of an elevator. You were obviously at our hotel during the Montreal Jazz Festival and one of the many stages is indeed only a few meters away. The international performances begin late afternoon and the last concert finishes by 11 pm. Many clients request the corner room for that vantage point but on a future trip, if you want a quieter room, simply request a room facing the back. Hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
591 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
701 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#69 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#39 of 165 in Montreal
1,756 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 165 in Montreal
876 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £25 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing