We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #93 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in October. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Old Montreal and a lot of other places of interest. Subway stop is also right around the corner.
Hotel itself is very nice and we had a super clean/new room which was very spacious. Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, and was happy to help us with directions and suggest places to see in Montreal.

The only 2 negatives were 1. there is no elevator. We had a room on top floor but luckily just a small suitcase so wasn't a problem. If you have a big heavy luggage, you should request a room on lower floor. And 2. our room looked over the street outside. So late into the night you could hear occasional drunk people outside on the street yelling. This was on a weekday night too, I imagine it would be worse on a weekend.

Overall though I would recommend this hotel to others, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob_Toronto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are pleased that you appreciated our newly renovated rooms, the cleanliness of our property as well as our great location on the corner of the famous Ste-Catherine street and Boulevard St. Laurent. Being so centrally located is certainly advantageous; but we realize that at times there can be street noise that permeates rooms facing the main avenue. Thanks for your comments and for your recommendation. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again on your next trip to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

my wife and I were very impressed with the hotel, the room was amazingly clean and updated. the front desk staff were very professional and helpful. They gave us recommendations on places to eat and things to see. The location of the hotel is very central, so alot of the sites were easy to walk to. This being our first trip to Montreal we walked to the places, but the subway is across the street to get you to other parts of Montreal. Going up the hill is a fairly long walk but there is lots to see. We want to come back and see more of Montreal and we would definitely consider this hotel for our next trip. Thanks for making our visit to Montreal a good one.

Room Tip: we were located right beside a main road and the only noise that woke us up was a firetruck driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words and your excellent recommendation. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay in our hotel. There is always something to discover in Montreal and we look forward to your next visit to suggest other areas of interest. Remember that return guests receive an additional 10% savings when they book directly with the hotel. A la prochaine.... till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I jumped on the LivingSocial.com deal on a 50% deal and was very glad that I only stayed for one night! The location of the hotel is ideally situated close to restaurants and downtown. However,there is a narrow long flight of stairs to climb up to the reception area and another flight of stairs to my room;it would be a challenge for those with knee problems or heavy luggage.Night Time noise was horrendously loud with the loud beat of a nearby disco till 3+ am making sleep impossible,do bring a super good earplugs(which I did but it did not help).Carol at the front desk was friendly but I sense the rest of the staff not friendly towards non-francophone customers.The room were quite clean.

Room Tip: Bring a good good ear plug,and light luggage for climbing up the long flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We are pleased that you appreciated our prime and convenient location but disappointed that you did not have a good night’s sleep. We pride ourselves in our customer service and love responding to the needs of our international clientèle. Being located on the second floor of a historic building, it is not possible to have an elevator and thus the hotel is not handicapped accessible. However, we gladly help guests with their luggage when requested. I realize that there can be some street noise for guests having a room facing the main avenue when there are special activities on weekends. However, it is most unusual to have music permeate till 3am since there are no full time discothèques in our immediate area and the noise bylaw is midnight. Of course, for light sleepers, we do have rooms facing the back, though many of our regular guests love and request the street view. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The lobby can be reached by ascending quite a few steps, so carrying a heavy suitcase a bit of a hassle. The rooms are clean, small and noisy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated right next to a sex shop in an interesting part of downtown. The hotel offers good value for a short business stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank EricvanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

The single standard room are our most compact rooms but remain the best value. If on a future trip, you would like a larger room with more amenities, our hotel also has superior rooms and studio apartments and these are ideal for business travelers and tourists alike. We are pleased that you appreciated our prime location, the cleanliness of our rooms and its great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Thank you to all your amazing staff for making my 6 night stay the best it could be. Just a hop skip and jump to shops, old montreal, metro, conference centre.
Rooms were super clean and comfortable.
Fantastic value for money ... Free wifi was a bonus
My room was a little bit noisy on Friday and Saturday night but my colleagues in other rooms said they didn't hear a thing.
I cannot speak highly enough of this place ... I will definetly stay again.
Thank you David and Zac :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thanks for awarding us an A+ rating and for your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, our central location and its value. I will proudly share your kind words with the receptionists Dave and Zacharia, as well as the remainder of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We pent 2 nights (Oct 4-5) at this hotel. We booked it based on great reviews and we were not disappointed. Thanks to David and staff for their hospitality and help. The room was very clean and when we enquired about ice, they had run out. The hotel staff actually walked the 2 blocks to a convenience store and bought us ice. Thank you !!!

If you are looking for a nice clean and quiet hotel close to the action with staff that care ... try this one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

We make every effort to respond to the needs of our guests with true hospitality and therefore sincerely thank you for your kind words in this regard. We love to see our guests return time and time again.....remember, we offer a special discount for our return guests when they book directly with our hotel. Till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just spent 8 nights at the Quartier des Spectacles. Would like to thank Carole, david, zac & Wally for thier help & hospitality.
If you are a pretentious snob who expects everything to be new & sparkly then you may want to go elsewhere, for that matter you may want to avoid Montreal altogether. People staying at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth @ $289/night agreed our room was nicer.
Right in the heart of everything, theaters across the street, china-town 2 blocks away, Old Montreal was a 10min stroll, and being right on St.Catherines is nice.
Wally was working on cleaning up and repairing the terrace area while we were there and there are continuous improvements being made. We had room 211a with a street view, one double one single, private bath & kitchen, A/C worked great.

Next time I'm in Montreal I know where I'll be staying...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian_arlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your comments and for highly recommending our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your studio apartment and that the staff made you feel welcome. We look forward to your next visit.....remember, return guests who contact the hotel directly gets a preferential rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
591 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#68 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#46 of 165 in Montreal
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#39 of 165 in Montreal
1,756 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 165 in Montreal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £25 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing