We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Saint Albans, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My boyfriend found this hotel through hotels.com and it was a great find!! We spent 3 nights. The room was very clean and cozy. The room appeared to be recently renovated with hardwood floors, brick walls, new modern bathroom furnishings. The hotel staff was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping, the metro, amazing restaurants, music and the arts. There is a parking spot right next to the hotel to unload your car and off site, paid, underground parking close by which the hotel staff made us aware of and easily provided directions to. We stayed in December and we could hear some noise from the outside (mainly a snow plow), but not enough to be a problem. We wished there was in-room coffee maker, however, we were happy to go out and enjoy the multitude of cafes around. There is a sex shop right next door and again, not an issue what so ever. It is a clean area and no one hanging around the streets. We felt very, very safe. We had a very, very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you had a fantastic experience and that the team was able to make your stay so comfortable. We are proud of our recent renovations, keeping with the building's historical character and appreciate your comments in this regard. Thank you also for your suggestions; it helps us to improve the services we offer. I will gladly share your comments with our entire team and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    133
    49
    13
    18
See reviews for
52
133
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I stayed there when we got married and it was perfect for us. The room was newly renovated with nice brick walls, hardwood floors, an extremely comfortable bed, stand alone closet, and plenty of room in the main room and bathroom. The hotel staff were helpful above and beyond anything I'd ask of anyone by offering information on events and locations. I was even given a card for 10% off my next stay! The location is really awesome too. It's right downtown near a main performance arts, metro, and plenty of great places to eat. People might think it's sketchy because there is a sex shop right next door, but downtown is full of them. It's the same way in Europe and other than seeing it, unless you go in, there's really no affect it has on you. My wife and I have stayed at other hotels in the area and believe me when I say you really can't beat this hotel for any reason.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and in the back. If there are any events going on in the street, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We would like to thank you for your support and loyalty and for sharing this beautiful comment. I am so pleased that you appreciated our renovations in keeping with the building's historical character. Our staff loves to help our guests discover our beautiful city and I am pleased that they, in part, have helped to make your trip ''perfect''. Remember to book on our website or call our reservation desk directly in order to receive the 10% additional discount for return guests. Thanks once again and till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My girlfriend and I decided we wanted to explore Montreal over the summer, since that's where she grew up. The hotel is over a sex shop, which is in no way an issue besides the stairs you have to take to get into the lobby of the hotel.The employees here are outstanding. Their knowledge of Montreal and how to navigate it is invaluable, and they were always willing to help. Our room was not huge by any means, but it was clean, cozy, and very nice. We walked everywhere, and we had access to most that Montreal had to offer. The Old Port is about a fifteen minute walk away, and we just so happened to end up in the middle of the Jazz Festival, with concerts just outside the hotel and a LOT of fun activities going on. We spent an entire day wandering rue St. Laurent, and getting over to the Biodome or La Ronde was a very short trek. The train station is around 5 minute away and the ride to La Ronde was also maybe 5 minutes, and getting to the beach from there was only an extra 10. Although the hotel doesn't technically offer complimentary breakfast, because our Expedia booking said it was included they honoured that, and we received free breakfast over at a Quebec coffee chain called Cafe Depot (and the Montreal bagels were better than I could have ever dreamed). I can't actually say if I ever noticed any noise issues from our room, but we had our AC pumping the entire time and that was enough white noise to give us a peaceful and cozy sleeping experience.
All in all, I would have to say that if you are an easy going person/couple/family/etc. this is an ideal place to stay for the quality of service, location, cleanliness and price, which was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for recommending our hotel. I am pleased that our staff, in part, helped make your visit to Montreal a great experience. Our hotel is fortunate in being located in the heart of the entertainment district and within walking distance of the majority of the tourist sites. It seems as if you took full advantage of our prime location and the festivities within this dynamic area. Since your last visit, we have made further renovations to the hotel, primarily in the lobby....we continue to strive to offer the best service, clean and aesthetically pleasing accommodations at the best value possible. Thanks for recognizing our efforts in this regard, We look forward to your next visit....rest assured that our staff will be pleased to continue to guide you in the discovery of our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

i spent one night there. its a good location. a little sketchy but close to everything. the first floor is the nicest. the room was nice and clean. theres only paying parking nearby so take that into consideration but the front desk was helpful with that...
Id recomend it if youre not that picky about grandeur. its a decent nice and clean place and id go there again

Room Tip: first floor was nicer, took a walk upstairs and was glad i was on the bottom theres no bar or resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are pleased that you had a good stay in our establishment and we look forward to your next visit. To obtain our special return guest rate or to make special requests, please call to the hotel directly at 1-514-849-2922.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

VIsited November 2013. Selected Hotel Quartier des Spectacles based upon TripAdvisor review and central location. Admittedly the street appearance in the immediate area of St Catherines and St Laurent could be a bit more fashionable, but do not let that fool you. The property was lovely, spotlessly clean and a perfect location for exploring Montreal. St Laurent Metro station is just a short block away with good connections. As a budget traveler I was impressed with the size of my single room, very spacious, unbelievably tidy, good sized WC. Free internet and coffee machine in the lobby. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. QUALITY, PRICE, LOCATION. This is a good bet for the budget minded traveler. Fully stocked WC, room cleaned daily, good TV reception, warm and cozy. I would not hesitate to visit again when in Montreal. Also, very easy to location via 747 Airport bus. Purchase a transit card at Airport--this will cover your transport to/from Hotel as well as as many days Metro transport that you desire.

Room Tip: St Catherines street facing rooms do have some street noise, but not enough to interrupt sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and for your recommendation of our establishment. We are pleased that you had a good stay and that you appreciated our prime location, the helpfulness of our staff and the cleanliness of the property. We are proud of being rated the best value hotel in downtown Montreal and we appreciate your comments in this regard (quality, price, location). I will certainly share your comments with the entire staff and we look forward to your next visit to Montreal. Remember that we give a discount for return guests when booking directly on our website or by calling reservation desk. Till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in October. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Old Montreal and a lot of other places of interest. Subway stop is also right around the corner.
Hotel itself is very nice and we had a super clean/new room which was very spacious. Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, and was happy to help us with directions and suggest places to see in Montreal.

The only 2 negatives were 1. there is no elevator. We had a room on top floor but luckily just a small suitcase so wasn't a problem. If you have a big heavy luggage, you should request a room on lower floor. And 2. our room looked over the street outside. So late into the night you could hear occasional drunk people outside on the street yelling. This was on a weekday night too, I imagine it would be worse on a weekend.

Overall though I would recommend this hotel to others, and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob_Toronto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We are pleased that you appreciated our newly renovated rooms, the cleanliness of our property as well as our great location on the corner of the famous Ste-Catherine street and Boulevard St. Laurent. Being so centrally located is certainly advantageous; but we realize that at times there can be street noise that permeates rooms facing the main avenue. Thanks for your comments and for your recommendation. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again on your next trip to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

my wife and I were very impressed with the hotel, the room was amazingly clean and updated. the front desk staff were very professional and helpful. They gave us recommendations on places to eat and things to see. The location of the hotel is very central, so alot of the sites were easy to walk to. This being our first trip to Montreal we walked to the places, but the subway is across the street to get you to other parts of Montreal. Going up the hill is a fairly long walk but there is lots to see. We want to come back and see more of Montreal and we would definitely consider this hotel for our next trip. Thanks for making our visit to Montreal a good one.

Room Tip: we were located right beside a main road and the only noise that woke us up was a firetruck driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words and your excellent recommendation. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay in our hotel. There is always something to discover in Montreal and we look forward to your next visit to suggest other areas of interest. Remember that return guests receive an additional 10% savings when they book directly with the hotel. A la prochaine.... till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#70 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#75 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#66 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#73 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Property: Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing