We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A fantastic Hotel, located in the heart of downtown, close to Chinatown, The Old Port, and a plethora of clubs and restaurants. The front desk staff is spectacular with their knowledge of the city and their willingness to help you find your way, in both french and english. Rooms are spacious, newly renovated, and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank marcus e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you were entirely satisfied with your stay in our budget boutique hotel and that you appreciated our prime location, the helpfulness of our staff and our renovations in keeping with the building's historical character. There is always something to do in Montreal......come back and see us soon. Remember to call us directly to receive a special return guest rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights on a rail tour of the US and Canada. The location is great, a short tack journey from the rail station and right in the middle of the actions. Yes the hotel is located above a sex shop, but it is the kind of area which I imagine was once quite seedy, but is now in the process of being gentrified with lots of new arts development going on the immediate vicinity and feels perfectly safe. The Comedy Festival was on during our stay and the streets nearby filled with festival goers, with a fantastic atmosphere and we managed to attend a couple of shows. The room was great for a budget choice, clean with some nice features including exposed brick and aircon. My only criticisms are the stairs to get to the foyer and then into the rooms on the higher floors, and the staff were a bit aloof. I would stay there again as the hotel provides great value for money.

Room Tip: A room on the lower floor would avoid carrying suitcases up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for posting your feedback about your experience at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you appreciated our location in the heart of the entertainment district, as well as the value that our budget boutique hotel affords. We welcome your comments; they help us to continue to improve on the service we offer our clients. We value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend for three nights in July when we went to see The Killers in concert. Upon arriving, we were kindly welcomed by the receptionist. She made check in quick and easy, which we were grateful for after a long day of travelling. We were also notified that we received vouchers for free breakfast at Cafe Depot, which was a nice surprise as I did not think our reservation included that. Our room was perfect. Clean and comfortable with lots of space. We had a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel, which I requested, and there was no outside noise or disturbances in the hotel of any kind.

The location of this hotel is great! A two minute walk to the metro and a mall just down the street. The only complaint I have is that one night, we wanted to go out for dinner nearby. I asked a man behind the counter and he gave me directions. We ended up walking around for fourty minutes and finding nothing where he directed us. This wasn't a huge deal, just frustrating. Overall, we had a great stay and would return to this hotel if we visit Montreal again!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor at the back of the hotel are large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank shaniepanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for posting your feedback about your experience at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles on Trip Advisor. It has been a true pleasure to read your review! It is unfortunate that the directions were unclear but we have city maps that might have alleviate that issue. We are glad that your stay was exactly what you needed and that you enjoyed your accommodations, your breakfast and our location in the heart of the action. Come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Spotless rooms with modern decor. Friendly staff and perfect location near Place des Arts, shopping and restaurants. The hotel doesn't have an elevator, fridges in the room and an ice maker, which wasn't a problem for us but worth considering for longer stays. Overall great value, would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lindzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for your warm comments regarding our property. I am so pleased that you had a great stay in our establishment and that you plan to return. Please note that ice is available from the hotel reception. At this time, our studio apartments,have full size fridges but our budget rooms and standard rooms do not. Our stairs can be daunting. Unfortunately, being located on the second floor of a historic building, it is not possible to install an elevator. Remember to call us directly in order to receive a special discounted return guest rate. ....we appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My stay here recently was pleasant and a great intro to Montreal. The service is excellent - helpful, quick, friendly. My room was clean; everything worked; it was a nice arrangement and cozy. Things are new but not plastic-y. The price was excellent for such a great location in downtown. The room is smaller than at chain motels in the US that I am familiar with but it was more pleasant and just fine. Who wants to spend much time in the room, other than in bed, when it is so much fun to be out on the street. The area might be described as eclectic - multilingual, multisocioeconomic, old and new architecture, fun shopping of all kinds, endless bars and shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for sharing your feedback about our property with Trip advisor travellers! We are flattered to receive such a nice review and delighted to read that you had a great stay in our establishment. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Comfortable rooms in a great location! Truly at the crossroads, where the rest of the city streets change from N/S or E/W! Everything is within 15 mins walk.

The day receptionist, Carole, is exceptionally pleasant and helpful. They accommodated a change of date, and provided useful recommendations and tips for things to see and do during our short, first-ever, visit to the city. And while the hotel has no parking of its own, the Place des Arts just a block over has good covered parking (no in-and-out privileges, though). Don't be too put off by the XXX store on the ground level, but do be prepared to walk luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for posting your review about Hotel Quartier des Spectaces on Trip Advisor! We are glad to read you had a nice stay with us and that you appreciated our prime location. I will gladly share your kind words with Carole, our daytime receptionist regarding her exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit in Montreal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now since 2010. Each time I visit this place, I see more improvements. Love the newly renovated rooms. The room decoration is pretty, clean and bed is comfortable. Received a great customer service when we found out that the light bulb in our toilet was not working. People are friendly. The location is great as it is very close to the happening place 'Places des festivals' and other major tourist sights. Perfect location to stay for those who love the jazz festival. Walk a few steps and you are right there in the festival hub. You can come back to your room for a short nap and go back to enjoy the festival. The hotel is going to open their own restaurant shortly. However there is no parking for the guests.There are some outdoor and indoor parking nearby which may cost $25 per night or more. There is a sex shop downstairs but as another reviewer mentioned it is hardly noticeable. I felt safe to walk outside at night. Overall I like this place very much and will choose to stay there for my subsequent visits. Hopefully the place will improve even more and the customer service will remain as great!

Room Tip: Newly renovated rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

I am so pleased that you love our hotel; I will gladly share your comments with the entire staff. Our aim is to offer the cleanest accommodations at the best rate possible for a prime downtown location. The staff also prides themselves in offering the best customer service possible and therefore we thank you for your kind words in this regard. There is always something exciting to do in our dynamic district, the Quartier des Spectaces and therefore we hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
594 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#70 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#78 of 165 in Montreal
463 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#48 of 165 in Montreal
883 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £20 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing