We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Porto Mar

Porto Mar
Ranked #250 of 5,818 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: Lovely restaurant in Old Montreal. A little off the main rue St Paul, but worth it for good quality food and service.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We chose this place based on the ratings online but we're disappointed.

Saturday night we made reservations for 3. Arrived 10 min late. Lots of tables available but hostess made us wait at the bar while she cleared a table for us.

We ordered the mixed grill for two expecting great grilled seafood. The only thing grilled was the sardine. The salmon was blah, the asparagus was boiled and soft, the 3 little shrimp were overcooked and tough, squid was boiled. Even our companion wondered if we wanted his food which was pork and clams
.

Too bad. We are Portuguese and that wasn't a typical grilled Portuguese meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Itsmesjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3caramel, Public Relations Manager at Porto Mar, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
The reason why they were politely asked to wait at the bar was that a lot of people had just left and there were no tables that were cleaned, set and ready. It is not our policy to seat someone at a dirty table so they were asked to please wait while one was prepared.
When asked if everything was ok the clients said everything was fine and never complained or commented about the food. If they were dissatisfied we would have been happy to replace their meal with another one. But they ate pretty much all of their meals and never said anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    37
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“If you like Portuguese - that's your place”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We tried to say genuine. Caldo verde, grilled sardines, Vino Verde. Porto Mar delivers them all as good as it can get so far away from the homeland. The caldo verde - which is always different - was pretty good, but missing a little spice, the sardines were perfect.

We wanted to wash it down with a good Porto, however here their selection was limited and none of the offering was really good, but in line with the price expectation.

A solid good meal, with nice service in a great location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Austinprogress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice Portuguese cuisine in very nice Old Montreal”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We ate dinner at Porto Mar on September 9, 2013. Tony, Porto Mar's proprietor, & I spoke Portuguese and discussed soccer issues of the day. The restaurant's décor features toned- down lighting, stone and brick walls, with an ambience that's conducive to conversation without having to yell at one another.

Our waiter was tremendously gracious and promptly solicitous. We enjoyed the monk fish, the mussels, and the espetada a la Madeireise. The entrees ranged in price from around $15 - $28, and represented a fair value for the quality of the food offered. We drank a $28 bottle of Portuguese wine, which was moderate in price and quality.

In sum, Porto Mar should be considered as a serious restaurant option if/when visiting Old Montreal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveAdvisor510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Porto Mar”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a terrific restaurant on Old Montreal. Service by Cynthia was excellent and Tony was a fabulous host. Very warm and friendly. The house wine was very good as well as the port. All the food was prepared to perfection including the calamari, the escargot, the sardines, the salmon and the Portuguese tarts for dessert. The restaurant is located in a great old building with interesting stone and wood staircases. There may even be a ghost lurking around in the basement. We will certainly come back next time we are in Montreal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plawsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Porto Mar”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

It is a wonderful restaurant in Old Montreal. The interior design is cozy : brick walls and some industrial touches. The service was wonderful. We had:
Bifana - Sandwich au porc avec frites / Pork sandwich and fries, Steak et frites Porto Mar / Porto Mar steak and fries, Salade de saumon / Salmon salad. Food was delicious. Mouth watering! The size of salad was good enough to be entrée. The sandwich had amazing pork .
Wonderful experience. Recommended for everybody!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatyana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Mar also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Porto Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing