We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ma Bicyclette

Ma Bicyclette
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Montreal's ideal launch pad for your next cycling excursion - Ma Bicyclette! Enjoy car free networks that lead to the St. Lawrence River, Lachine Rapids, Formula 1 race track, Old Montreal, Downtown and much more. This outdoor boutique is located directly on the historic Lachine Canal bike path, steps south of the famous Atwater Market and offers the finest bicycle rental equipment for all ages! Fleet consists of quality comfort Pathway bikes & performance road bikes by Cannondale, unique cycling solutions for families, tandems and quality kids bikes. Our knowledgeable staff are here to advise on rentals, repairs and to offer insight on parts & accessories. Refreshing drinks and energizing snacks available to keep you going! Unique cycling accessories, Montreal memorabilia, cold drinks and rejuvenating snacks. Scenic location, directly on the Lachine Canal dedicated bicycle path (voted top 3 urban cycling destination in North America by Time Magazine) across from the famous Atwater Market. An absolute must visit location in Montreal...for all ages. Winner of Le Grand Prix du Tourisme du Quebec 2010.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Wonderful tour all over Montreal, from a cool canal bikepath to the city's heart to what I suspect is its real heart, the relaxed-but-urban plateau neighborhoods up from the museums and universities. One very modest climb and lots of easy rolling (the 20 or so K felt just right) plus a compendium of observations and tips that gave a real feel for the Northern Francophone metropolis. I'd recommend doing it as we did, on Day One, with a plan to come back around to as much as we can fit in over the next few days.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    5
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see Montreal highlights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We just recently went on a 3+ hour bike tour of various neighborhoods (including Vieux Montreal, International Quarter, Latin Quarter, McGill U area, the "Plateau", and more ... was a great way to see, and get our bearings of, the city. Our Guide Stephanie was EXCELLENT, very knowledgable about the city and great "insider" tidbits, and biked at a very reasonable touring pace. Small group (we only had 4 total plus Stephanie) also helped make this a great first 1/2 day of our long weekend trip to Montreal. Would definitely do this tour again with our little girl when she is older and can bike on her own. Would highly recommend doing this on one of your first days during a visit as you get a great appreciation of the city, its layout and its neighborhoods early on. Merci beacoup Stephanie!
Chris and Prabha, Evanston, IL

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pclare2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rent a bike or an hour or a day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Rent a bike or an hour or a day. Monterol has bike stations through out the city. A city that lets you rent in one place and return to another pay for a flat rate. You could then continue to check another bike out and then drop it of again. The fees were very low.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Convenient, healthy way to take in the sights and sounds of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Pros
- nice mix of stops (markets, historical architecture, modern festivals)
- getting to ride along a stretch of F1 racetrack was cool
- almost the whole route was flat, so riding was easy and Montreal seemed to be a very biker friendly city with bike lanes on every road and understanding drivers
- fee was reasonable $25/4-hours, wasn't sure if tip was suggested

Cons
- the tour could be more optimal for photographers by reversing the order of visiting the sites. The sun was always at the back of various buildings visited, causing them to be in shadow. If the itinerary/direction were reversed, customers would be able to get some nice, illuminated shots of downtown, Notre Damn Cathedral, etc
- make sure to bring quite a bit of water, as most of the riding is in the sun and you get thirsty quick (though not so much hot cuz riding near the river creates some really nice breezes)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had been running out of things to do in Montreal after having been there for three days, but Stephanie, the tour guide, made everyone fall in love with the city. The bike ride shows many of the neighborhoods in Montreal and Stephanie stops along the way to share fascinating tidbits and insider advice on things to do throughout the city. I felt like we learned a lot about the city in the most interesting way possible. The tasters of cheese and ice cream are delicious. I would take this tour again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liannajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ma Bicyclette also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Ma Bicyclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing