We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel + Perfect Location + Friendly Staff = Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #33 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel + Perfect Location + Friendly Staff = Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband and I just returned from a four night stay here. I love Design Hotels and the St. Paul did not disappoint. The rooms and common areas were decorated beautifully and were spotlessly clean. Claudia in reservations was efficient and accommodating, Karla at the front desk went out of her way to help us with our numerous questions and requests, and Alixe provided lots of information -- always with a smile! The hotel is VERY close to some great restaurants and within easy walking distance of most things you'd want to do. There are lots of hotels to choose from in Montreal but I truly feel I picked the very best one! The St. Paul is a great find -- and the only design hotel in Canada!

Room Tip: If view is important ask for a room facing McGill on a higher floor; if size matters more tell them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_and_Steve_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    350
    148
    67
    29
See reviews for
137
474
56
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Quick to mcgill university and to the old port. Centrally located to st. Denis. Great bar and nice rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seantcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Walk out the door to the right and down Rue St. Paul and you enter old Montreal. Boutique shops and cobblestones and horse drawn carriages and great restaurants. But if you don't leave the hotel, you'll be more than pleased with the Vauvert Restaurant and bar inside (and outside patio across the street for drinks). The food is so good (lunches too). Nice atmosphere and great staff.

The rooms themselves are rather small, but clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here on on anniversary trip. St. Paul was in a great Old Montreal location, accessible to Rue St. Paul, the river, and historic sites. Our service was wonderful and the rooms were nice and clean. We only had a few complaints about the hotel. First, it had a very modern, cold feeling to it. Nothing warm and welcoming about it. Even the lighting in the halls was dreary. Our room did not have a single thing on the white walls. Second, the bed was SO hard as other reviewers mentioned. if you like hard mattresses, stay here; if not, reconsider. Third, at this price, I would expect free Wi-Fi and a continental breakfast. Rates are not cheap!

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor to avoid the busy street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was pre-booked into this hotel for business and was delighted with the service. The theme of dark in the passageways took a bit of getting used to but the rooms were light and airy.

Food in the restaurant was exceptional if you like fine food, a continental breakfast was available in the mornings. If there was one thing I would change it would be the option for a cooked breakfast.

The staff, well despite reading some of the previous reviews I would like to say they had an exceptional team on staff the whole week of my visit. If I wanted advice, service or just someone to say hello every single person employed there went out of their way to cater to my needs. even one of the waiters in the restaurant waved goodbye when I left the hotel. And good looking, the girls at the hotel are some of the most georgous women on this planet. Montreal is renowned for beautiful girls though.

I didn't make it to the gym because the hotel was so close to so many great places to see that when I wasn't working I was out in Montreal walking and taking in the many sights to see.

A great hotel that I hope to stay in again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Trish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
408 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Another trendy and dark-lit boutique hotel, very centrally located in Old Montreal. Great for exploring all the touristy sites, close to the subway stop, and to many excellent restaurants. The hotel itself is perfectly fine aside from the fact that it has little light. Our room faced a back alley with a dirty fire-escape in front of the window, so not much of a view. As there are so many great eating choices close by, we didn't bother about eating in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear TravelandLearn_11,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our establishment aside from the dimed light. As the first Design Hotel in Canada, we have a very unique decor and atmosphere which have been, from the other reviews, very appreciated from most of our guests. Nonetheless, every of our guest reviews is seriously taken into account for future improvement. We are sorry you were not able to enjoy a great view from your room, and should you would like to give us another try, then we will make sure you get a stunning view.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever consider to come back to our hotel.
Sincerely,
The Management.
amarande@hotelstpaul.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We LOVED our stay at the Hotel St. Paul. The staff were extremely friendly, well dressed, upbeat, and helpful. Be sure to tell the door man you like his lime green tie (personal joke).

I have never slept on a more comfortable uber pillow top bed with fluffy feather duvet, fabulous down pillows, and great ambient lighting. You will love the huge bathroom with mega tub and yummy soaps and bath robes. We had the least expensively priced room yet still felt like a king and queen. Delicious little night-time chocolates come with the turn down service.

Warning: internet is NOT FREE. That pains me when I am spending close to $250 a night at a hotel and am addicted to my online junk. The closest WiFi is two blocks away at Cafe Presse where you can grab a super strong latte and bagel for breakfast, or you can get your internet fix in the hotel business center on old Dell PCs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,198 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,043 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
2,095 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing