We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #37 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay in room 1005. It was to a high standard and every member of staff from the lady that brought my nightly chocolates and turned down the bed to the management have all been very helpful and pleasant

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tyso_kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Tyso_kitten,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments, it is always a pleasure to receive a token of appreciation from our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    342
    143
    66
    28
See reviews for
131
466
53
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Perfectly located. Excellent service. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and willing to help.Highly recomendable!

Super hotel. Le personnel est attentif et très aimable. La chambre propre et comfortable. Tres bon service. Pour en parler aux amis et le recommander!

Bien situado. Personal amable y atento. La habitación perfectamente limpia y muy cómoda. Recomendable 100%!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Lomarca,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with Trip Advisor travellers, as well as for your encouraging comments about our facilities, service level and staff.

Looking forward to welcome you again at the St Paul Hotel.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

It was my first stay at the St Paul Hotel. Regularly on business trips here, I know the city and the hotels very well. But what a surprise! Everything went prefectly well. The room was SO nice. elegant design & decoration, comfortable king bed, nice view.. I stayed 3 nights and had manage to catch cabs, directions, get to the airport for my flight. the front desk was adorable and pro active. Their lobby on the second floor, I beleive its called the Attrium, is perfect if you need to sit for appointements; very quiet, comfortable and very chic. Definitely staying there next time.

Room Tip: great location, friendly staff, Old Montreal :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NNTorontoStar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great service with friendly staff who accommodate every request. Rooms are decorated in a minimalist style without being cluttered. The restuarant is very good with great service and fun staff. Location is perfect for exploring the Old Town.

Would I stay here again? Definitely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Travel Dazzle,

First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with Tripadvisor travellers. Your evaluation of various services and facilities is very much appreciated.

We were particularly pleased to read your encouraging comments about our location, restaurant and staff.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Hotel St Paul Montreal.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in April and had no complaints at all. Location is good, our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and staff very helpful. We found the location to be very convenient for seeing the old part of the city and the underground city. Some good restaurants nearby which was a blessing due to the weather being very cold and wet. Would definitely stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurs7315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Maus7315,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel St Paul with Trip Advisor travellers, and I’m pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please rest assured that your nice comment has been shared with the hotel team.

Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel was not at all what I expected after seeing the pictures on tripadvisor. It looks so nice and modern and chic but in actuality it is cheaply put together, not that clean, and the service is mediocre at best. I would not recommend this hotel. It had an upscale price tag but really fails on the details. Like the scratched up plastic boxes they staged the bathroom amenities on? Fail. Looked horrible and the boxes took up valuable space in the small bathroom. The nice "looking" but completely uncomfortable and cheap "sofa" in the suite was also a fail! All the plain "Ikea"-like furniture looked beat up. The lobby is totally rough looking. The "bellman/ valet" who theoretically helps with bags and parks the car was wearing sneakers and baggy dress pants like a mallrat teenager.
The best part of the room and the only thing that seemed like they put some thought and investment into it was the deep extra large bathtub. That was well enjoyed!
The restaurant was closed and the hotel had nothing else going for it. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canada_girl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Canada_girl28,
Thank you for your review as it will allow us to improve the downfall of service you met, to our great disappointment.
We have forwarded your review to the different managers of every department involved with the issues you are mentioning to ensure that this sort of guest experience does not reoccur. The standards of our hotel have always been very high and our goal is to satisfy 100% of our hotel guests with genuine hospitality.
For your information, the restaurant Vauvert was closed for renovation, and reopened last week under a new name and concept, the Hambar.

If you would like to reconsider a future stay at our hotel, please feel free to contact us.

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I went to Montreal a few weeks ago and stayed at the Hotel St. Paul, my partner choose this hotel and it was a great surprise! The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of old Montreal, it was great to discover the city. We were in a Junior Suite, we had plenty of space which was perfect for staying a week in the same hotel; also the room was luminous and I loved the decoration. Also, we had a warm welcome from the staff; they were really attentive to our needs.
I will definitely come back at this hotel for my next trip in Montreal!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: 355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway of Old Montreal, Hotel St-Paul is on McGill Street at the corner of St-Paul. Business and leisure guests will love the proximity to the Convention Center, World Trade Center, St-Catherine Street Shops, Old Montreal attractions, the Subway and all highways. A heritage building, beautifully restored, features a surprisingly modern and serene interior. The design awards are many but it is the comfort and highly personalized service that completes the experience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TravelUp, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing