We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #35 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Not great”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Really disappointed in this hotel. I stayed here a few months ago, and was pretty unimpressed in general given the price of the room, but hey, you can't have it all and you learn your lessons.

They charged me for mini bar purchases that were never made (and in fact, I left an extra Red Bull that I brought with me in the fridge, so they actually had more than I when I arrived). When I called to dispute, the person on the phone while rude, refunded the amount but wasn't able to tell me how the calculate these charges, despite me asking.

Then, nearly a month after I had checked out, they again charged my credit card for the disputed amount. This is absolutely unacceptable, and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Patrick B,

First of all we would like to thank you for giving us feedback about your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we were truly sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel. As you already know though, we took care of this issue and contacted you the minute we got your first message. The amount charged by mistake has been refunded this morning.

Should you come to Montreal again it would please us to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and make certain you have a pleasant stay with us

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    347
    144
    66
    29
See reviews for
135
470
55
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Second time at the St. Paul. Staff is so pleasant and friendly. Rooms are cozy . Great Bar and Restaurant. Will definitely return a third time soon. The location is great with amazing restaurants 5 mins. walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank njosh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear njosh2014,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to read it was your second visit at the St Paul Hotel, and that you are already planning to use us again in the future. You should definitely visit us during the summer, it is the best season to enjoy Old Montreal's neighborhood and activities!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Organized a corporate event that required hosting 20+ guests.
The front desk team was extremely friendly, organized and accommodating.
Rooms are large, and clean with nice modern bathrooms.

Location in Old Montreal is excellent, with a quick cab ride to many other neighborhoods.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear B S,

Thank you for taking the time to post us a review on Trip Advisor!
It was a true pleasure welcoming your group at the St Paul Hotel. We hope you will think of us for the next one!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 511. It's a corner room with beautifully decorated living room, dining room and king size bedroom. Bathroom has a soaking tub, two vanities, a shower with rain head and two robes. Living room has CD player, DVD player and TV. Also a TV in bedroom. Our daughter stayed in 911. Same layout but decorated differently. The turndown service made up the pullout sofa for her son. Very nice. Every employee was super nice. From the bell boy to the bar/restaurant staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsyelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear PatsyElaine,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at the St Paul Hotel! We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had plenty of time to take advantage of all great activities, restaurants, shops, and museum the Old Montreal neighborhood has to offer!

We look forward to your next visit!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I like this Cozy hotel. The staffs are very friendly and the girls at the reception are very beautiful. The wifi is good. I can use my iPad even when I was standing one the corner of the street outside the hotel. The breakfast is good. They have very decilous bread and yougart. I like this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Xinyu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Xinyu C,

Thank you so much for your kind words about St Paul Hotel. It was a pleasure to welcome you in Montreal, and we hope you will be back soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I loves the guys at the door that take care of your bags and park your car. It's a nice touch.
The desk staff are helpful and friendly.
The lobby has a cool vibe with a beautiful fireplace and the elevators are dark and moody with interesting lights being held by miniature deer heads.
The room this time seemed a bit smaller than our first visit (maybe it was the lay out). On the plus side, most of the now has dark hardwood floors and the mattress was really comfortable. On the down side, I was kind of annoyed by the bathroom by things that never really jumped out at me on the previous visit. The tub was obviously some sort of slide over quick fix and it squeaked something awful when you moved around. The tub is huge and the shower curtain didn't fit. Water splashed out either end which made for an irritating shower. The bathroom sink is shallow and water sprays out and if the taps are turned to anything more than a trickle. The bathroom is impressive looking but not overly functional.
We were also annoyed by a maintenance man who began to let himself into our room because we had our window open and it was making a humming noise in the hall. He wouldn't go away until we promised to shut it when we went out.
Overall it was a decent stay but just, JUST annoying enough to try some place else next time

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recklessfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear recklessfriend,

Thank you for your review and your good comments about St Paul Hotel. We would be willing to investigate the issues reported (bathroom, maintenance). We already have new shower curtains on order, but would like to get details from you concerning the rest, in order to avoid this type of situation reoccur.

Thank you in advance

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were reminded of this hotel via a Travelzoo voucher. The hotel has been well maintained since it opened and its location in Old Montreal is ideally situated near boutiques, the old port, fabulous restaurants (Olive & Gourmando) and galleries.

The suite was spacious, quiet and well appointed. We had planned to go out and done but chose to take in and enjoy our views. The staff were lovely and accommodating.

We should be returning soon.

Room Tip: small but efficient work out room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fairmont5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Fairmont 5,

Thank you for rating us 5/5 on Trip Advisor! We are happy to read you made the most of your stay at the St Paul Hotel, and that you are planning to visit us again in the future!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing