We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT WEEK END”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #32 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We hade a very good week en Montreal.
Hotel is very well located in Vieux Montreal, walking distance to most of the places even with heavy snow fall you can walk.
Our room was a big one, with a very comfortable bed. Internet is free and fast.
Breakfast is mmore european style, which I like much better.

Room Tip: Views are not great so better to be in the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlos_Madrid_SpainE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Carlos_Madrid_SpainE,

Thank you for posting us such a nice review on Trip Advisor. It's a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at the St Paul Hotel, especially, bedding, internet and breakfast. We hope you took advantage of the neighborhood's great activities and restaurants.

We look forward to your next visit in Montreal!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

I love this Hotel! It is close to my work and walking distance to most attractions. I've been visiting Montreal since 2003 and I have been staying in the Hotel St. Paul since 2007. I choose to stay at the Hotel St. Paul again and again on my return to Montreal.

Note it is not a Holiday Inn! It is a boutique hotel with a different atmostphere. Modern, warm, safe, clean, dark corridors, dark lifts, bright white rooms and a stunning bathroom. The bath is wide enough to fit 2 people comfortably! The staff is friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MadeleinVorster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear MadeleinVorster,

Thank you for your taking the time to write us such a kind review. We are really honored that you consider us as the best hotel in Montreal, and that you are staying with us for such a long time! Having loyal and pleasant guests like you is what we love the most about hospitality, it really pleases us and motivate us to provide the best service quality to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit, hopefully during the summer season!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our first time at the St. Paul, but it won't be our last.We arrived early and our room was ready for us. The Valet service was fast and efficient. Our room was large and well equipped. Plenty of space to spread out and make ourselves comfortable. The hotel is close to the edge of Old Montreal making for easy walking between downtown and the old city. The staff was very friendly and eager to help us in anything. Turn down service and chocolates on the pillow were an unexpected extra. The large soaker tub was very pleasant after our long walks. If there is one area that the hotel could improve on it would be the sofa in the room. It was very uncomfortable, although it was an interesting model that fit in with the rest of the decor. Plenty of affordable restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: As we only had the one room and had never been there before I really don't know which rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VermontLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear VermontLinda,

Thank you for your nice words about the St Paul Hotel! Your message will be forwarded to the staff. We are truly happy to read you enjoyed your time at our property. You should definitely visit us again during the summer season to make the most of your Montreal stay: music festivals, street food, parks, outdoor activities, etc etc feel free to give us a call should you need any information!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very friendly and accomodating staff. They called to confirm that our room was acceptable after we had checked in. We were there for the second time with a Travelzoo coupon. Accomodations were upgraded to a suite and the breakfast was included in the package. The continental breakfast is robust, with a wide range of choices, both sweet and savory. The location at the entry to Old Montreal, but walking distance to museums and shopping is perfect. We'll go back.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank llm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear llm9,

Thank you for your review. It's a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at St Paul Hotel for the second time! It's our team's goal to make sure our guests are happy with their room, and with the service provided.

Make sure to visit us this summer, you wouldn't miss the best season in Montreal!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Really disappointed in this hotel. I stayed here a few months ago, and was pretty unimpressed in general given the price of the room, but hey, you can't have it all and you learn your lessons.

They charged me for mini bar purchases that were never made (and in fact, I left an extra Red Bull that I brought with me in the fridge, so they actually had more than I when I arrived). When I called to dispute, the person on the phone while rude, refunded the amount but wasn't able to tell me how the calculate these charges, despite me asking.

Then, nearly a month after I had checked out, they again charged my credit card for the disputed amount. This is absolutely unacceptable, and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Patrick B,

First of all we would like to thank you for giving us feedback about your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we were truly sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel. As you already know though, we took care of this issue and contacted you the minute we got your first message. The amount charged by mistake has been refunded this morning.

Should you come to Montreal again it would please us to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and make certain you have a pleasant stay with us

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Second time at the St. Paul. Staff is so pleasant and friendly. Rooms are cozy . Great Bar and Restaurant. Will definitely return a third time soon. The location is great with amazing restaurants 5 mins. walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank njosh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear njosh2014,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to read it was your second visit at the St Paul Hotel, and that you are already planning to use us again in the future. You should definitely visit us during the summer, it is the best season to enjoy Old Montreal's neighborhood and activities!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Organized a corporate event that required hosting 20+ guests.
The front desk team was extremely friendly, organized and accommodating.
Rooms are large, and clean with nice modern bathrooms.

Location in Old Montreal is excellent, with a quick cab ride to many other neighborhoods.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear B S,

Thank you for taking the time to post us a review on Trip Advisor!
It was a true pleasure welcoming your group at the St Paul Hotel. We hope you will think of us for the next one!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#21 of 165 in Montreal
1,277 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,195 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,033 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,416 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £136 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing