We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St Paul
Nearby Hotels
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke(Montreal)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gault(Montreal)
US$428
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$780
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$758
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,343)
Filter reviews
1,343 results
Traveller rating
666
397
172
75
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
666
397
172
75
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold montrealdark hallwaysdesign hotelbota botaturn down servicejunior suitevalet parkingbeautiful hotelmini barlocation is greatroom was spacioushigh ceilingsnotre damefew blocksyogurtelevatorboutique
Filter
Updating list...
656 - 661 of 1,343 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for the first time at Hotel St.Paul. Couldn't ask for a better location if visiting Old Port. Also easy to accessing for driving in and out of Montreal. Valet staff were excellent, very friendly and pleasant to talk to. Overall good stay, would stay again in future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank sd508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear sd508,

Thank you for your review! It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at St Paul Hotel, and that you took advantage of our ideal location to explore the beautiful city if Montreal! We hope you will be back soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had great expectations for this historic hotel in great location in an historic city. We were very disappointed. Overall, the room was the most uncomfortable I can remember, The deep tub and shower were slippery and difficult to access; the shallow, square sinks did not drain properly and spewed out water if turned on too much over the back which was 2 inches from the wall; we never got a paper, although promised one; the desk people were elusive, without humor, and no help; you needed a flashlight to navigate the elevator and hallways; everything in the room was behind doors so when they were opened, one had to climb over beds to move; the lighting was unfathomable. One day @ 6pm the room had not been cleaned. The design for this hotel was simply not user friendly. One bed was comfortable, the sofa bed was flea market material. All four bell boys we dealt with were fantastic. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Michael C,

Thank you for reporting the issues you encountered during your stay with us. We are so sorry to read you did not enjoy our hotel's design, and deeply apologize for the lack in service, which we assure you is clearly unusual. Would you be so kind to contact us at your earliest convenience frontdeskmanager@hotelspaul.com to provide us with more detailed information? We are eager to take the appropriate actions to correct these issues. Should you be in Montreal anytime in the future, please let us know and we would make sure you have a perfect experience this time.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A boutique hotel located at the gateway of Old Montreal and conveniently close to the Victoria Square metro station. The beautiful neo classic building is renovated in a luxurious chic style. The room overall was clean and well arranged with trendy modern furniture. The beds were comfortable and plus

The staff is professional and polite. Valet parking is available and the gym is adequately equipped (water and towels provided). The weather report is given with a chocolate for each time the room is cleaned daily. Overall, the stay was luxurious and enjoyable. What holds me back from giving a 5 star rating is that the WiFi connection though free, was poor (for those on a higher floor). Worst case, you can had to go to the lobby for devices that cannot connect via Ethernet.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Andrew H,

Thank you for sharing your thought about St Paul Hotel with Trip Advisor travellers! What a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in Montreal thanks to St Paul Hotel! Please note we are currently working on an internet network update so that the kind of issue you had with the WiFi does not reoccur. We hope you will be visiting us again soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The St. Paul once set the standard and created an entirely new category of hotel in Montreal - and perhaps the world over. This boutique hotel could have defined the category a decade ago - bringing modern design to a historic, heritage building in an (at the time) slightly run-down area of old Montreal. It's gleaming hardwood floors and square sinks, black elevators, and alabaster fireplace in the lobby were once the pinnacle of high design. While other hotels have come and gone in their trendyness, I always stayed at the St. Paul because it has stood the test of time. However, I was disappointed on most recent stay and there were some significant problems that can not be overlooked. Is definitely getting a bit tired, and scuffs on the walls and especially the floors even conjure the word grungy. We had a major catastrophe when the sprinkler system activated, causing a flood which damaged our luggage and other personal items. The hotel was more than accommodating and refunded the entire cost of our stay, and offered us a discount when we return -- but it will be hard to take them up on it unless they freshen up the place and repair some of the troubling building systems issues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Judd S,

First of all we would like to thank you for being a regular guest to the St Paul Hotel for all these years. We appreciate you took the time to give us your feedback about your last stay with us, and are truly sorry to read we do not meet your expectations anymore. However, we do have excellent news for you and all our guests! Big renovations are planned at the end of the year in order to update our spaces to current standards. Therefore, we kindly suggest you to subscribe to our newsletter to keep in touch with us and be notified at the end of the refurbishment! In the meantime, feel free to contact us for your upcoming stays in Montreal, we would be happy to determine the best accommodations options for you.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The St. Paul hotel is located near the Old Port section and close to Rue St Paul where there are dozens of shops and restaurants. It has a modernized interior using the façade of an older building on the site. We had a 2 room suite and the bathtub in the bathroom was huge. The room did have a mini-bar which we used as a frig and a safe. The halls are dark as they use low intensity red lights. They do have valet car parking which was somewhat expensive. We did not eat breakfasts in the hotel as it was expensive and found cheaper restaurants nearby. The only negative we had was that the Wi-Fi did not work on the 7th floor so we had to go down to the lobby for email several times a day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashattuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Ashattuck,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to read you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for expressing your negative points as well, as it is very important for us to meet our guests expectations and adjust our service accordingly. We took good note of all your remarks, and hope that you will be visiting us again soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews