We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for My Needs”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #31 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The St. Paul is located on the south end of Old Montreal and an easy walk to the North End. It is conveniently located not only for seeing Old Montreal, but for seeing the vast majority of Montreal itself. I'm a walker and getting around Montreal is quite easy. The town is laid out quite nicely for not getting lost. As for the hotel's accommodations, they were Spartan. This is not a romantic getaway place, which is why I enjoyed it. It was priced right, especially with their third night's stay at half price and it offered everything I needed. The hotel is very European, had recently been refurbished and was safe... meaning it was in a safe neighborhood. All told, if you are on a business trip or traveling alone, the St. Paul is a good bet. If you are looking for a romantic getaway place with a lot of accommodations, I'd say Keep Looking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Jim A,

Thank you for reviewing our establishment. We are happy to read you have enjoyed our European look and feel and our three-night stay promotion in collaboration with Tourism Montreal. Our prime location is ideal for you being a walker.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you visit Montreal again. We also offer a romance package should you come with your significant other!

The Management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Housed in a beautiful building on the edge of Old Montreal, this hotel is a gem. Immaculately clean, beautiful rooms and spotless bathrooms with HUGE tubs and good lighting. The rooms are well lit with excellent sound systems. The neighbourhood is quiet, and there are loads of cafés and restaurants in walking distance. The Hambar downstairs has am excellent bar, trendy, helpful staff and a great menu.
I highly recommend this spot..

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank TravellingGaslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear GasladyLeeds,

Thank you for the kind words and the 5/5 rating! We are honored to be considered your favourite hotel in Montreal. Your comments have been shared with the team.

We are looking forward in welcoming you again in our establishment.

The Management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Been there for business. The hotel is well located. The building itself is beautiful. The room and the service are good. However the hotel itself is a bit dark: you should not be claustrophobic! Breakfast is fine.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear David C,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the St Paul. We are glad to know you have enjoyed our historical building, our room and the service from our staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when planning your next trip to Montreal!

The Management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent 1 night in the charming hotel on our way to upstate NY. Great location - just walk behind the hotel for 5 minutes and you're in Old Downtown. Beautiful rooms, lobby, and friendly staff. The restaurant looked really nice - but we chose to go to dinner in Old Downtown. My only complaint is that we had to drive around the block several times to figure out where the valet/parking was.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Beth Q,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the St Paul with other travelers. We are truly happy that you have enjoyed our establishment and its location.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the near future.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Discovered this smaller jewel on a recent trip to Montreal (great rate on hotwire.com). Reminded me of hotels in New York City - smaller, club like elevators, modern, minimalist - very appealing. Excellent service - I left a significant tip for the personable woman who looked after my room. Did not eat here as within walking distance of absolutely everything (attending conference at Congres du Palais). Will absolutely stay here again......particularly if the price remains right.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl L, Director of Sales at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear A&BOakville,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our friends at TripAdvisor.
We are sincerely grateful for your kind words about St Paul Hotel! It is very important to us to receive feedback from our valued guests. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back soon at our establishment. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I spent 5 nights there for a wedding in the Centre des Sciences de Montreal.
Great location, very dedicated bilingual staff.
We had the deluxe suite. The room was beautiful with comfortable bed and sofa, nice linen, modern bathroom, modern and welcoming furnitures.
We ordered breakfast in the room, the breakfast was very good with generous portions.
We only had good good souvenirs at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyNuyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl L, Director of Sales at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear GuyNuyet,

Thank you for taking this time to express and share your comments concerning your recent stay at the St Paul Hotel Montreal. We are truly happy to read your post and will definitely share it with our team.
Should you visit our city again, please do not hesitate to contact us it will be a pleasure to accommodate you again at our establishment.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked this hotel based on price and location, and we were not disappointed. The staff is very nice, and the rooms are decent sized, with hardwood floors. The hotel is located on the edge of Old Montreal, so it's just a short walk around the corner to great shops, cafes and restaurants. It's also right down the street from the Metro, which is very clean and great for getting around the city. I would definitely recommend his hotel, and we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl L, Director of Sales at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Dave G,

Firstly, let me thank you for sharing your appreciation of our establishment during your recent stay in July 2014.
We are sincerely grateful to read your comments about the St Paul Hotel Montreal.
A true pleasure knowing you took advantage of our prime location in Old Montreal.
We will share your comment with our staff and we welcome the opportunity of accommodating you in a near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,295 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,459 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,224 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,057 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £131 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing