We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #32 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
“Bad”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked 2 nights left after one night! Original room reeked of bleach which I'm allergic too
I informed him that I would break out in hives if i stayed in this one and asked if i could check out the other room for smell before moving. I'm not going to write step by step, but basically after the attendant (who was great and extremely nice) checked the room we went downstairs and he informed the reception that indeed the smell was horrendous. Reception did not care, apologize, or offer me a discount for putting me in a lesser, wall facing room. I stayed there that night and checked out next morning and went to another hotel. The room was dusty, dark and not so clean.
I would NEVER NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Sam D,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We take our guest's comments very seriously and are sorry there was an unpleasant smell of bleach in the room. Please note we only use bleach when needed and is not a common procedure. The proper heads of departments have been informed of this situation to avoid future recurrence.

Due to high occupancy, we did not have the opportunity to upgrade you to a superior room category but we are eager to make this right. Please take a moment to contact us at frontdeskmanager@hotelspaul.com to provide us with more information so we can take appropriate actions. Should you be in Montreal again in the future, please let us know as we would make sure you have a perfect experience at the St Paul Hotel.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    362
    151
    69
    29
See reviews for
147
490
59
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent two nights here in early august 2014 as a family travelling with one 8 year old child. The place is located perfectly to explore the old town and the rest of Montreal. The Hotel is really stylish and maybe a perfect stop for business purpose or when travelling as a couple. Check In is professionell and fast. Parking is only available as valet parking. We booked ar large room with a living room and a separate bedroom. The furniture was selected with a real good sense of interieur design, the bathroom was very large with two sinks and all the necessary comfort. When we arrived the sofa bed for our daughter was not prepared. We started thinking that this ist is the way things are on the american continent since we made this experience whereever we stayed - what is uncommon in Europe where all beds are prepared on arrival for the number of booked persons.
After a long drive we eagerly wanted to have a short nap before exploring the city. A call att the reception desk brought us back to reality. The answer was a clear no to our request of preparing our daughters bed. This will be done at 06:00 p.m. Wow!
3 people had to squeeze into a tiny queenbed. Another thing which I personally have problems to understand. Why offering a really large room with tiny beds - but this is just my humble opinion.

After a short rest we started our tour to the wondefull old Montreal, had a gorgeous dinner and came back at 09:00 p.m. And? Exactly the sofabed was still not prepared. We called again, complained and finally somebody came and prepared the bed very slowly - do I need to mention that we had towel for our daughter.
The room was indicatecd as suitable for 2 adults and 2 childs. The mattrass of the sofabed was as thick as my pointer finger is long and even our skinny little girl with her 22kilograms of weight layed on the pure metal. This is a shame for such a hotel. Form follows function but what is the purpose of a stylish sofa on which only a neweborn baby could get a comfortable place to sleep.
To sum up: Forget my saying when travelling alone or as a couple otherwise chose a place where your kids get the what they deserve and you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Marion E,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay in our establishment. We are happy to read you have enjoyed our prime location in Old Montreal and the hotel's unique decor.

As for your comments on the sofa bed, it won't go unnoticed. Your feedback is important to us and the concerned management team have been informed of this mishap. We usually prepare the sofa beds at the turn down service to allow for more space in your living area. We are also in the process of renewing the current sofa beds with a superior level of comfort.

Should you find yourself in Montreal again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we would greatly appreciate to have the opportunity to welcoming you again and provide you with the most pleasant stay with us.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The St. Paul is located on the south end of Old Montreal and an easy walk to the North End. It is conveniently located not only for seeing Old Montreal, but for seeing the vast majority of Montreal itself. I'm a walker and getting around Montreal is quite easy. The town is laid out quite nicely for not getting lost. As for the hotel's accommodations, they were Spartan. This is not a romantic getaway place, which is why I enjoyed it. It was priced right, especially with their third night's stay at half price and it offered everything I needed. The hotel is very European, had recently been refurbished and was safe... meaning it was in a safe neighborhood. All told, if you are on a business trip or traveling alone, the St. Paul is a good bet. If you are looking for a romantic getaway place with a lot of accommodations, I'd say Keep Looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Jim A,

Thank you for reviewing our establishment. We are happy to read you have enjoyed our European look and feel and our three-night stay promotion in collaboration with Tourism Montreal. Our prime location is ideal for you being a walker.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you visit Montreal again. We also offer a romance package should you come with your significant other!

The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Housed in a beautiful building on the edge of Old Montreal, this hotel is a gem. Immaculately clean, beautiful rooms and spotless bathrooms with HUGE tubs and good lighting. The rooms are well lit with excellent sound systems. The neighbourhood is quiet, and there are loads of cafés and restaurants in walking distance. The Hambar downstairs has am excellent bar, trendy, helpful staff and a great menu.
I highly recommend this spot..

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGaslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear GasladyLeeds,

Thank you for the kind words and the 5/5 rating! We are honored to be considered your favourite hotel in Montreal. Your comments have been shared with the team.

We are looking forward in welcoming you again in our establishment.

The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Been there for business. The hotel is well located. The building itself is beautiful. The room and the service are good. However the hotel itself is a bit dark: you should not be claustrophobic! Breakfast is fine.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear David C,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the St Paul. We are glad to know you have enjoyed our historical building, our room and the service from our staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly when planning your next trip to Montreal!

The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent 1 night in the charming hotel on our way to upstate NY. Great location - just walk behind the hotel for 5 minutes and you're in Old Downtown. Beautiful rooms, lobby, and friendly staff. The restaurant looked really nice - but we chose to go to dinner in Old Downtown. My only complaint is that we had to drive around the block several times to figure out where the valet/parking was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Beth Q,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the St Paul with other travelers. We are truly happy that you have enjoyed our establishment and its location.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Discovered this smaller jewel on a recent trip to Montreal (great rate on hotwire.com). Reminded me of hotels in New York City - smaller, club like elevators, modern, minimalist - very appealing. Excellent service - I left a significant tip for the personable woman who looked after my room. Did not eat here as within walking distance of absolutely everything (attending conference at Congres du Palais). Will absolutely stay here again......particularly if the price remains right.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl L, Director of Sales at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear A&BOakville,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our friends at TripAdvisor.
We are sincerely grateful for your kind words about St Paul Hotel! It is very important to us to receive feedback from our valued guests. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back soon at our establishment. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,237 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,983 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,343 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing