We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All style but no substance”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #30 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Just returned from a long weekend in Montreal. Quiet and great location, unfortunately, still a disappointing stay.

Here's a list:
-Very uncomfortable bed and pillows... never could get a good nights sleep
-Air conditioning never worked properly
-House cleaning left the door open
-House cleaning cleared a bottle of wine from the room... but never touched or replaced the glasses (left on the floor beside the bed where the wine bottle was)
-House cleaning walked in despite the "do not disturb" sign

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BE_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMontreal, Guest Relations Director/Rooms Division Director at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2009

Dear BE_Toronto,

Thank you for taking time to share your St.Paul experience with us.
Let me say I am so sorry you found the bed and pillows to be so uncomfortable and my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences! I will share this information with my housekeeping team, and I assure you that we are more on top of things than this review implies, but I guess mistakes will happen. I do regret that we were not able to resolve your complaints with satisfaction while you were at the hotel.

Hopefully you’ll give us another opportunity in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Peter

P.s. I sure hope that these negative reviews are not being posted by our wonderful yet fierce competitors down the street.
(Just kidding, we love our partners in Old Montreal and I truly enjoy responding to any type of review posted on Tripadvisor.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2009

Living in NYC I always go to Montreal for a long weekend as it is a wonderful city to hang out. Part of the reason I feel this is the St Paul. I will only stay there and have been for years. I find the Hotel chic and quite, this is not like a chain. It has a personality of its own (which I find very Montreal) and a great staff. I understand that there may be newer hotels just down the street, but their cookie cutter style is just not cutting it for me. I am going again in the start of May and will be at the St Paul

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYLONLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

I stayed at the st paul with 10 other colleagues in feb 09. worst hotel experience ever. There was no hot water for two of the five days that I stayed. Not consecutive days so theynever bothered to fix the problem the first time. The staff atttude was absolutely disgusting. When there was no hot water at 7 am the response was that the engineer didnt start till 9 am so they didnt know anything till then. when it was suggested that they may want to contact him and get him in early, the response was simple- no.
The breakfast was terrible- two types of fruit and cheese and that was it apart from cereal and bread. The yoghurt was out, the boiled eggs were out the bananas were out. The staff dont ever apologise for anything being wrong with the hotel, the attitude is "it isnt my fault". I would sack every one if they worked for me! The last day says it all. I asked to speak with the manager, - of course he didnt start till 930 so I asked that he call my room. At 11 am I have to check out and ring to tell them that I still have had no contact with the manager. The response is "You told me room 409, we have been calling that". Not a "I'm sorry I must have written the room down wrong' just a simple not my problem.
I could list a million other issues- no phone charges, out of towels (can you believe this!) rooms poorly cleaned or not cleaned at all and thenyou are calling reception to tell them and they tell you the cleaning staff have gone home.
Do yourself a favour- just dont stay here

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMontreal, Rooms Division Director/Guest Relations Director at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2009

Dear drcw,

Thank you for your review.

I have to admit that week in early February was a challenging time for Hotel St.Paul. I guess the best way to describe that period is through Finagle’s law which says "Whatever can go wrong will go wrong, and at the worst possible time.”

We strive for excellence, but we are still human, and on occasion, we fall short of our promise. This appears to be the case in this instance, however, rest assured, that I have notified all personnel and my colleagues of your comments and I believe important humbling lessons were learned from this experience.
As I mentioned in a previous response, I’m very passionate about the hotel, as are my colleagues and our staff, and we want everyone to love the St.Paul, therefore, we will continue to work hard to ensure that we provide each St.Paul guest a memorable experience that they rightfully deserve.

Kindest Regards,

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed in this hotel as part of our 2 weeks in Canada in September. We'd booked it via Canadian Affair, as they are able to offer preferential rates when you book flights etc with them. Before departure we'd read some fo the reviews, and of course, when you see some negatives you wonder if you'd made the right decision. But we work on the theory that it's all subjective, and in the end we decided we DID make the right choice !.
We pulled up outside after a 5 hour drive from Toronto a member of hotel staff welcomed us and helped us unload our luggage. Now some people may not like a "relaxed but polite and efficient" attitude among staff in the service industry - but we felt it hit the spot just right for our welcome.He helped us with our bags and arranged for our vehicle to be parked - what else do you need. Check-in was efficient and once again helpful and with a smile, and that was the story for the service throughout our 3 day stay. Our room was compact, especially with 3 of us staying in it - but extremely well equipped and comfortable, with all we needed for our stay. Every night there was a turn-down service with a small chocolate left for each of us, and every morning our compimentary paper awaited us. The complimentary continental-style breakfast was more than adequate, with a wide variety of juices and more than set us up for 3 days of exploring Montreal.
The location was fantastic - in the old town, with a huge choice of eateries and bars around us - and once again the staff came up trumps with their recommendations for somewhere to eat - an amazing Italian restaurant which is located in what used to be the women's jail - a must place to eat !
Would we stay here again - in a heartbeat - we actually would struggle to criticise this hotel at all - for us the service was pitched at the right level - relaxed but very efficient and polite and ALWAYS friendly and with a smile. The location was perfect, the rooms comfortable (albeit may be considered small by the standards of many North American hotels),the ambience was excellent, and the small touches like internet access, turn-down service, papers, breakfast etc all included in the price just added that extra sheen. We made our choice - and it definately was the right one !

PS - we didn't detect any "nasty" niffs during our stay !

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dmorvanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMontreal, Rooms Division Director/Guest Relations Director at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2009

Dear dmorvanuk,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property and share your Montreal experience with us all.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day, therefore, please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning to visit Montreal again, so that I may personally take care of your hotel arrangements.

Kindest Regards,

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My parents met my boyfriend and me here for my 40th birthday, and we had just a fabulous time. We never did have a chance to eat at the restaurant that was there at the time (Cube, is it still?), but we had cocktails at the bar both nights that we stayed and the bartenders were so nice and friendly. The hotel is totally funky, and our room was just so cool -- check out the pictures here posted by others. On the night of my birthday, one of the staff had a piece of luscious chocolate cake, candle and everything, delivered to my room. On top of all that, it is in a prime location for exploring Vieux Montreal and all of its restaurants and arty shops, as well as the waterfront (you can see the Habitat and the Biosphere in just a short walk) and some other old, historic places. Just the old architecture around this place is amazing. The warm and fuzzy touches -- the arm-in-arm bathrobes, the chocolate on your pillow with the temperature forecast, the really nice toiletries -- all were icing on the cake.

Other than the cold Canadian winter (my birthday is in November), I can't think of any negatives. We loved every restaurant (it is Montreal after all), all of which were in the neighborhood and many with live music. I remember one desk staff guy was irritated when I greeted him in French and then couldn't follow through (I can say all the important stuff in a lot of languages, but that's about it); he got over it and was really very helpful every other time.

I have just great memories of this weekend, and not just because it was my birthday!

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteffieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I recently travelled to Montreal on business, and the St Paul was recommended by our local colleagues. What a lovely experience from the moment we arrived at the front of the elegant entrance. Attentive staff, classy modern decor, through to every last detail in the rooms - thoughtful lighting, music playing on arrival, quality bathroom items, bathrobes, etc, etc. Situated near the waterfront and many wonderful bars and restaurant - the perfect location for those who enjoy comfortable quiet surroundings. My only wish is that we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusTraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Prior to this trip I read reviews about this hotel on this site. One review made me concern was the one by "Breezy300". But I also read management's reply on that review and I thought it'll be ok. Well, now I learned I should've taken that review seriously.

-"Perfumes Chemical" mentioned in the review.
When we were checking in I noticed the distinctive sweet "smell" and made me think about the review. But Hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful, I tried not to think about it. But at the end of our stay this smell became un tolerable. We couldn't wait till leave the hotel.

-Uncomfortable bed
We couldn't pinpoint what was so wrong about the bed but we had terrible night sleep. Yes, the bed was hard but I like hard bed usually. I think it was the bedding gave us some sort of allergic reaction. The hotel gave us a choice to be environmentally friendly, not to change the sheets everyday so the second day we slept in the same sheets and had bad sleep again. We asked to change the sheets on the 3rd day and some how we had better sleep. Till then we were both sneezing and I had hives. But I was in the denial, we thought we were just catching a cold since it was so cold out...

So my vacation turned out quite uncomfortable one. I should've taken the advise by "Breezy300".

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jeeru2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,063 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,477 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £130 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing