We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #33 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I stayed here for New Year's eve 2009 with a couple of friends and it was an incredible stay. The hotel is a perfect definition of boutique hotel with all the right details including modern trendy decor a fire place in the lobby and beautiful accents. We attended the new years eve party which was chic but not stuff. The staff was incredibly attentive and friendly and could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and have fabulous fur blankets which were great for lounging under on a lazy new years day. There is a great oversized tub in the bathrooms and the robes got a lot of use as well as the mini bar. The breakfast buffet was modest but delicious with pastries, baked goods and coffee.
I have to commend the great service of Mikaël!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    350
    148
    67
    29
See reviews for
136
474
56
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Exquisitely designed hotel, not just for looks but comfort.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraserAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I came here for a business meeting that was set up by local colleagues in Montreal. The rooms have a trendy appeal to them and are very clean and comfortable. The lobby has a boutique style (read: small but nice) and there is a very good bar and restaurant off to the side.

Other stuff:

We used meeting rooms in the hotel and they were more than adequate.

Breakfast was included. It was a little more than continental, which was fine.

Location is good -- Old Montreal.

Service was friendly and quick.

Internet was free.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayg42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I love the St-Paul Hotel, one thing that really stands out about the St- Paul, is the staff.
The St- Paul's staff is incredible, they cater to all your possible needs, they are courteous and polite.
I look forward to every visit I have in Montreal and the St- Paul adds a whole lot to my time spent there.

M.O.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MarleneMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This hotel is located on the edge of the old Montreal and very easy to access by car from outside town.
It’s uber trendy and minimalist.
When we booked our room we got a free upgrade to a junior suite. When we checked in we were told that the junior suite wasn’t quite ready so we got upgraded again to a deluxe suite.
Needless to say, the suite was big! Stylish living room with cow skin rug, glass dinning area, huge bathroom with his&his sinks, bath tub at one end and walk-in shower big enough for 3 at the other end. The bedroom was completely white with faux fur bed cover and head rest. Gorgeous and relaxing.
I loved the hotel but was somewhat not impressed by Montreal itself.
For dinner you should go to Le Petit Moulinsard for the best Belgium cuisine. On the other hand, absolutely avoid the Verses. The deer is good but the waiting staff is awful!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

If you travel an awful lot like our group you will truly appreciate the unique experience this hotel has to offer. If you’re sick of staying at regular hotels and find yourself occasionally trying to get into the wrong room because you’re on auto-pilot, do yourself a favour and book at Hotel St. Paul for your next visit to Montreal.

The hotel staff are absolutely great every time we stay at this hotel! There has always been someone there to help with our bags, check us all in, and park our cars. Another important thing to note is that these staff are always smiling!!

You may be a bit surprised at the nightlife if you stay on a Thursday night but this is just one of the fun and unique features about the hotel. The rooms are gorgeous and you’ll find everything you need! I’ve stayed on the McGill side every time and I do not have a complaint about the noise as was mentioned in another post on this site.

The décor of the rooms are beautiful and quite unique. I don’t want to give it away in here.. just something I think you need to experience for yourself! I’ll admit that the beds are a bit hard for my liking but then again this is just my preference and what I am use to sleeping in at home.

Breakfast is a great at the hotel: fruit, cheese, pastries, a variety of breads, eggs and yogurt. They are always replenishing all of the above so no need to worry if something looks to be empty.

We have never had a problem with any vandalism to any of our vehicles while staying at the hotel. It’s a shame that one person did experience this, however, when ever you park anywhere there is always a chance that this could happen!

Once one of my colleagues did get a flat tire (this was a reoccurring problem with this particular rental vehicle) and the valet staff were more then happy to help her with it. The staff at this hotel are always helpful in these instances which make our stays much more enjoyable.

My favourite thing in the hotel.. If you have time, make sure you try out the bathtub! And in all seriousness.. If there aren’t enough towels why not just call the front desk and ask?

I hope this review has been helpful! With having over 10 staff booked at this hotel only a few weeks ago, we have no complaints as we all enjoy the time that we spend in Montreal and look forward to our next stays at Hotel St. Paul.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starseed21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Stayed at the St Paul for three nights on work assignment. Main purpose was to be able to relax after a long day. I'll break it down in a concise manner:

The Good:

The hotel is located in old Montreal, and is surrounded by trendy, upper-middle class oriented restaurants and cafes. The immediate area has a European charm to it, and makes for a nice getaway. The building the hotel is housed in, in itself, is a gorgeous early 20th century high rise. The interior has been expertly decorated and feels very modern. Room was clean and felt comfortable. Food in the restaurant is very good and priced reasonably well. The free high speed internet [wired] was also a nice touch.

The Bad:

Where does one begin? The staff is spotty, with a few great people surrounded by snooty and condescending individuals. On our last morning, on check-out, there was no one to even help with bags/door. I think it's safe to say that the hotel is understaffed. On top of this, we had the misfortune of having our vehicle broken into [not "vandalized" as the staff preferred to call it] while parked in the outdoor parking area. There was a mix up by the valet in not parking it in the more secure underground parking. When we were told of the incident, the staff were not helpful or in any way remorseful. On top of this, the mix up was handled terribly by the valet. I understand that parking lots in Montreal are a target for thieves, but if you're providing your customers with a valet service and treat a huge inconvenience such as ours with such tactless disinterest, it does not come off well. You are, after all, in the service industry. It is not a privilege for me to stay there. Rather, it is your privilege to have me stay there. Terrible experience.

The hotel houses a very popular and trendy bar/restaurant and it seems that the regular Thursday night party runs well into the early morning. McGill street facing rooms will have to deal with a lot of noise. Maybe even the whole weekend is a write off with noise, I'm not sure as I didn't stay through it. Not a great thing to have to deal with if you're trying to get some rest.

As previously mentioned, the beds are very hard and thus will be uncomfortable for a lot of people. The selection of toiletries is minimal, and considering what the room rates are like, this seems like a travesty. There weren't enough towels for the two us, and the turn down "snack" consisted of a single chocolate for two people. How considerate.

FINALLY:

St Paul is the perfect place for a party seeking, well off individual seeking the trendy confines of a stylishly heartless overpriced hotel. I would never again stay here, neither would I allow clients to book me there in the near future. I think a lot of work needs to be put into the training of the staff, to make sure that they know what customers need, expect and what respect is. If this was my business, I would slowly start firing a 1/3 of the staff and replace them with the kind of people who actually enjoy working at a hotel for a living. There is no need for such attitude.

It's the little things that count, that give hotels it's charm and soul. As such, it is my unfortunate opinion that the Hotel St Paul lacks both, and will still need a lot of managerial work in order to get it to be the kind of place that I would like to stay at. A great comparable hotel would be the Opus. Same idea, much better experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theramones1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,198 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,932 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,042 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing