We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant spaces, relaxing atmosphere”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #31 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Loved the stunning Beaux-arts facade, the beautiful public spaces, the clean contemporary design. An elegant hotel within a signature building. Unpretentious, resourceful and friendly staff. We really enjoyed our evening at the Vauvert restaurant: outstanding food and atmosphere, very nice music selection by the live dj. Room was spacious and very comfortable.
(One suggestion: the breakfast selection could be a little bit more diversified).
Loved our experience!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mytimeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2010

Set in the historic district of Montreal, close to all the great sights, the contemporary hotels offers everything a person could need. The staff is attentive (we travelled with your young son) and always had good recommendations/tips to provide us. The restaurant is also impecable- Thursday nights are a great scene!
Any of my friends thinking of going I recommend they stay at the St Paul!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgentzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

The St Paul hotel is located in old Montreal, in a beautiful building. We got a free upgrade, for a very pleasant suite facing the street but without any noise. The bathroom was spacious with a huge tub and very good quality products. You even have an umbrella in the room just in case. The Staff was friendly and there are two restaurants: one at the 2nd floor where you can enjoy a nice breakfast on cosy sofas if you wish, and another one on the first floor with an independent bar. The only complaint would be about the corridors too dark. We definitely had a good time there, and we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

I recently completed two weeks at the Hotel St Paul on a business trip. Since my stay was broken up by a trip home I stayed in two different rooms. While I liked the first room set up better, I have no major complaints with either. I found this hotel can indeed be polarizing. A number of colleagues were staying at the hotel at the same time. One opted to move to another hotel they thought it was "too dark", the remainder stayed. Lobby/room and overall atmosphere is modern/industrial so if you are looking for chintz/cozy, better to look elsewhere. A warm fire and gracious hotel staff greeted me upon arrival. Hallways are extremely dark with each door illuminated similar to what I have seen in W chain. Multiple lighting options are available in each room too allow for both mood or bright lighting so lighting is not an issue in rooms. The first floorplan I had put the desk up against banquette seating which was a more comfortable workspace for me personally. The second room was similar in size but put the desk up against a wall and had a larger dressing area in entry with banquette which I found to be a bit of wasted space. Bathrooms are large and spacious with excellent counterspace and lighting. I found both rooms to be clean and modern minimalist in design. I did find the bed a bit harder than my preferance, but in all fairness I sleep on a monster featherbed at home which can rarely be be duplicated via hotel experience. No issues with internet connection. Room service menu is somewhat limited but I found no bad choices were made with my selections. Continental breakfast protein options were limited to hard boiled eggs - no meat options whatsoever - however what was provided was fresh with a huge bread and cheese selection. Staff was courteous and helpful through every phase of my stay. No complaints.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
Thank mzplacedinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Just wrapped up a 4 night/5 day stay at Hotel St Paul. Staff were really nice and very helpful. The hotel was the most modern that I've personally stayed in though it still felt warm and cozy. It's on the cusp of Old Montreal so you don't get the same obnoxious & noisy tourist pedestrian traffic at night like other hotels experiences I've had in the area. The continental breakfast was the right amount of food and selection to make four days breakfast not feel the same day in and day out. Fantastic location made it easy to get quite a lot done during what felt like not a long enough trip! Close proximity to local transit, spas, shopping, across the river from the casino, bars, clubs and fabulous restaurants made doing a lot stress free and unrushed. The windows open to allow fresh air in - that's rare and I loved it!!! Adored it, will stay again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gottakeepgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I took a regular room...oh boy, what a mistake. The wired internet connection was in one area, and the only table you could work on was in a completly different area. If you have to travel and work there, get a bigger room. If only for leisure, the regular room was a typical european room: small. Windows open...that is a nice touch.

But the hotel is indeed a design hotel ( sometime, so design that they seem to have forgotten the purpose of an accessory) , clean, staff ( altough really understaff when I went) was nice and polite and, well situated if you want to visit the old Montreal area. It is further away from the well known Crescent street but within a walking distance if you are a good walker.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pourvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

came to Montreal to check out the city from San Diego. I booked directly thru the front desk and while the process was a bit challenging at first it finished on a very strong note. gave me a fair room rate and the room I requested. design is strong, a tiny bit dated but overall enjoyed the feel of the hotel. the bar scene was worth the stay as well. part of the experience in staying in a hotel of this nature is the common area and the scene that comes with it. Housekeeping was very good, nice guest amenities in the rooms, turn down service, etc. breakfast was solid and good. location is great. Old Montreal is a nice area to walk. several good restaurants in the area. I would return and would suggest a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModernTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMontreal, Rooms Division Director at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2009

Dear Moderntraveler10,

Thank you for sharing your fabulous review and for staying with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Peter
pcappello@hotelstpaul.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,295 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,460 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,224 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,057 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £131 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing