We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Hotel St-Paul Montreal”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #33 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Westmount QC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay at Hotel St-Paul Montreal”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I spent one night at the St Paul Hotel, and I definitely would have stayed more if I could. My room (suite 911) was absolutely perfect, clean, design and chic. Wi-Fi connection was available, Breakfast very good and staff very friendly. It’s an hotel I recommend without any hesitation. And please, try the Vauvert restaurant inside the St Paul hotel, the ambiance is really something and the food is delicious.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    356
    150
    68
    29
See reviews for
139
482
57
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My wife and I have travelled extensively for business and pleasure from Brussels, San Francisco, Miami and beyond, and this is the best hotel we have visited. The service is excellent and given with great smiles from staff like Nora, Claudia, Mike and Pietro. The location is excellent and in easy walking of distance of great restaurants, the old town and the commercial district.

Reg Bedell Attorney at Law

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I travel around the world for my business and pleasure; the St. Paul in Montreal is extremely good value. You will not be disappointed with any aspect of your stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I have nothing but great things to say about our stay at this hotel. The Hotel St. Paul balances minimalism and warmth in both style and vibe. The staff is incredibly friendly and eager to please. Rooms are small but offer an edgy urban decor and very comfortable beds. The beautiful hotel restaurant and bar is a late-night hotspot on Friday and Saturday. Finally, Hotel St. Paul serves a lovely continental breakfast daily which is an added benefit in an expensive city like Montreal.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Was expecting somewhat more from St.Paul. Staff were excellent and went out of their way to be helpful. Great location in Old Montreal. Room was a little small and basic for the price, although very clean. May stay there again depending on the price, lots of alternatives in the 4-star category.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Unbeleivable service. Everybody knew my name an hour after check in !!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My husband and myself recently stayed at the St Paul with another couple for three days, two nights. We each had a room on the 9th floor.

The positive aspects:
-The rooms were clean
-The hotel is located fairly close to the tourist area of Old Montreal

The negative aspects:
-The breakfast was non existant. There was no food, no cups, no cutlery, no dishes, no coffee, no tea, no staff refilling ANYTHING, etc etc. They should not advertise "breakfast included"
-We were not told that they charge extra $$ for parking until we were checking out and given a bill for $12 per day!
-Our internet connection did not work in either room throughout our entire stay and they did not fix the problem when it was reported to the front desk
-The rooms were BOILING hot, and the thermostat didn't really seem to help. (We only discovered that the windows open on our last day.)
-Our TV remote didn't work

To summarize, this hotel is trendy, but it lacks substance. Although we still had a great time in Montreal, we will not stay at the St Paul again, and we do not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMontreal, Rooms Division Director at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 18 February 2010
Dear vlukewi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your thoughts about your recent experience at the St.Paul.

We normally provide a more satisfying experience; however, I do admit that on this occasion we fell short. Therefore, on behalf of the entire team, I do apologize for all of the shortcomings of your stay.

Please know that I have shared this review with the proper departments and that we will certainly look for greater accountability. Such service deficiencies are not exemplary of the standards set at the St.Paul and I assure you that corrective measures will be taken within the departments concerned to ensure that this sort of guest experience does not reoccur.

If you would like to contact me directly, I will be more than happy to discuss this matter further with you.

Kindest Regards,

Peter
pcappello@hotelstpaul.com
514.380.2201
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 164 in Montreal
1,213 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 164 in Montreal
1,329 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,114 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing