We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but try the beds before you settle in!”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #30 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2010

The St.Paul was a mixed experience for us. From the moment we arrived at the front doors we were staggered by how beautiful the building was. Built in 1906 and maintaining all the outward appearance and detail of that age, it is a breathtaking appearance. Inside we were greeted warmly by staff who spoke flawlessly in English or French, and offered immediate and pleasant assistance. The interior design was almost as impressive as the exterior, painting a stark contrast of modern design with the classic outward appearance of the building. The room (ours was a Superior Queen, most are) was generously sized with large bright windows, and the room was ready with classical music playing softly in the background. So you're wondering, what's the bad part?

Well, the bed and pillows in our room were entirely uncomfortable. Neither myself or my wife were able to get a decent night's sleep on the bed as it was hard as a rock, and the pillows were similarly made of what seemed to be R40 insulation. It's difficult to down-rate such a beautiful place, perhaps it was just 'our' room - it was after all an 'ice' theme. Each floor has a theme incorporating elements of the Earth, so some floors are 'ice' that feature blue lighting outside the rooms and the interior décor is inspired by light glassy surfaces and cool colours. There are also 'fire' rooms, and I believe there might be Earth too.

The included continental breakfast was delicious, offering 5 types of fresh bread, 4 types of fresh fruit (Cantaloupe, Watermelon, Honeydew and Pineapple), fresh or packaged yogurt, a selection of croissants or chocolate-chip danishes, and 3 types of delicious cheese. The St.Paul is also in an excellent location relative to old downtown Montreal, close to lots of good restaurants and attractions. We ate near the hotel most evenings (Indian place around the corner is brilliant, as is Holder), and took the metro up to the Jean Talon market. Staff was very friendly, accommodating all of our requests effortlessly for maps and information.

One thing, because its an old building the rooms seem to have an older drainage system - the bathroom has an open drain in the center. Part way through our stay our room started to smell like sewer. My wife has apparently seen this before and just poured several litres of water down the drain and the smell disappeared, so no biggie. This is after all a classic building - if you want the style, you have to live with some of the drawbacks of older architecture.

Aside from our uncomfortable bed the stay was awesome. Perhaps if we had complained like some travelers love to do we could have been moved or even 'promoted' to a better room. We have traveled many times staying in just hostels so we weren't about to criticize and just made do. If you do have problems with the comfort of the bed I'm sure the staff would happily change your room, so overall I'd give the St.Paul a great review.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akboss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

Well the facade was amazing and with the positioning on night time spotlights, the building looked very impressive especially when it got dark. However once we arrived at our room, it seemed as though a lot of the character had been removed from the interior. Granted the hardwood floors were nicely stained a dark expresso colour, the ceilings were high and expansive,and the bathroom was well laid out with a great soaker tub, there was however something bland and sterile about the feel of the place. The breakfast was simple but with enough fruit/cheese/bread/hard boiled eggs/cereal to get full on. The location was fine and within walking distance to a lot of attractions. Anyway all in all a nice experience but way off from the best place I've stayed in Montreal.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kissycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Really lovely hotel in the great neighbourhood of Old Montreal. The outside facade of the building is stunning and the interiors are creative, fun and elegant. Highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank BAP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

From Location to service, friendly staff & ambiance - this boutique property has it all - close to shopping and historic old Montreal. Excellent for the business & leisure traveller.

The Vauvert restaurant in the hotel is very trendy - food was excellent and well presented. Thursday nites are very popular at this bar for the locals...don't miss it!

Rooms are unique and well appointed. Deluxe continental breakfast is included and enjoyed in the Cube 2....very relaxing...could have stayed there all day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We went to the hotel for a long-ish weekend to visit the Jean-Talon Market and the Easter Island exhibit.

As advertised:
* Located steps from Old Montreal - very convenient
* Friendly + helpful staff
* Clean and BEAUTIFULLY appointed rooms (the pictures don't lie - the rooms look that good!)
* Continental breakfast was very generous
* Free Internet

What you can't see:
Aforementioned beautifully appointed room had possibly the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on (not firm but HARD)

Because of the bed - I give this hotel a fail however if this kind of thing isn't your concern, go ahead a book it. If you are in Montreal, should you really be sleeping ?!??!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol_Eh_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The Hotel has a great Location in the Old Montreal, Very close to the port, Old City, Artist area e very close to the shopping area. Everythink can be reach in less then 10 minutes walking. Hotel is very elegant and the staff very efficent and nice with clients. Restaurant is very good, from food to wine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Service was friendly. The young reception staff offered good restaurant suggestions and were generally very helpful. The room was well-appointed and very clean. We loved the dark hardwood floors, canopy beds, and large bathroom.
The buffet breakfast which was included offered very good variety in a whimsically colourful room. The formal restaurant and bar is a hopping place on week-ends.
Hip and chic without the attitude. I really liked this place and would definitely return. Only very minor aesthetic aspect I disliked was the reddish-hued lighting in the hallways.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellaf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,092 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,404 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,785 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £127 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing