We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restful luxury”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“restful luxury”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

this was our first trip alone since the birth of our daughter 3 years ago so we wanted it to be restful, luxurious and elegant. It was all three, definitely. Our room --- a Deluxe Suite -- was on the 6th floor and had both a fireplace and a balcony. The room, while slightly in decor, felt like our own personal pied-a-terre in old Mtl - we loved coming back for a late afternoon nap, cocktail hour on the patio and time to get ready for dinner in the well-appointed bathroom. The espresso machine was a great touch and continental breakfast on the Terrace was all we could have asked for to set off each great day. The neighbourhood is under construction, but there are still lots of opportunities for lovely moonlit walks down cobblestone streets. The hotel recommends some great restaurants on its website (see: "for foodies") and we tried two of them (thanks to reservations by the Concierge) and were totally amazed at the quality of the food.
All in all, the Saint Sulpice feels very old school, quiet, and lovely - not for the party crowd or those who want the most modern feel - but wonderful for those who want to just enjoy a true Montreal vibe in a great area.

Room Tip: you can guarantee a balcony in your room for an extra fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that all your expectations were met and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    483
    94
    46
    15
See reviews for
459
815
68
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Loved the location and size of this boutique hotel-- on a cobble stoned side street in Old Montreal, surrounded by shops and restaurants. We could open the large French windows onto the street and listen to the clopping of the horses and carriages passing below. Like visiting another century. The concierge, Etienne Bellemare, was amazing. I called ahead and said I was celebrating my 60th birthday and wanted to splurge. His choice of restaurants couldn't have been better and he even arranged for us to have the chef's table at the Europea restaurant--best meal ever. Tapis Rouge tickets to the Cirque de Soleil, only blocks away, rounded out an exceptional birthday treat. The staff was very helpful. We didn't like our first room which cut off a tiny bedroom from the living area. We didn't need the privacy and it felt cramped but they moved us while we were out sightseeing. Nice outdoor breakfast area.

Room Tip: Separated into bedroom and living area if you need privacy, otherwise, get the "loft" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCambridgeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that we were able to contribute in making your 60th Birthday celebration memorable. I will make sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our concierge and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,

Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed 4 nights at St. Suplice. We had a beautiful suite. It had a small kitchen, a large living room and a seperate bedroom. The room was immaculate. The hotel staff is terrific - couldn't have been more helpful. The location is perfect in old Montreal, near the water and on the back side of Notre Dame Church. It is also close to the subway. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triploverAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at Le Saint-Sulpice for 6 nights with our 19 month old daughter. Having a toddler it was important to stay in a hotel with a separate bedroom as well as kitchen facilities. I would definately reccommend Le Saint-Sulpice for this! Great spacious, clean rooms with fabulous facilities. We got one with a terrace and had dinner outside most nights. The location of the hotel is also fantastic. Right in the old town of Montreal with cobbled streets, restaurants and a childrens playground at the old Port. There is also a fantastic childrens day nursery with spa facilities for parents about a 20 minute walk down Rue Notre Dame called Parentheses Montreal. A MUST for anyone with kids!
The only dissappointment was the hotel restaurant where we had breakfast each morning. Since we stayed for 6 nights it shouldn't have been a surprise that we wanted a high-chair each morning but unfortunately we had to ask every day and they would have to go and fetch a usually soaking wet chair (left out in the rain all night!) which they would then dry and give to us for the baby. We would have to beg for coffee and butter for our toast - usually got it after about 3 requests. Also, the breakfast was the same for all 6 days! Not even a change of yoghurt choice or fruit.Not what I'd expect from a 4 star hotel. We also ordered room service (which comes from the hotel restaurant). We ordered chicken for our daughter which was undercooked when it arrived. Since she was so hungry we didnt send it back but microwaved it to ensure it was fully cooked. It was also overcharged on the room service bill. When we complainted to the restaurant manager he refused to belive it had been undercooked and said that the chicken they use sometimes looks rose coloured when cooked and then went into detailed explanations about their cooking techniques! For $22 I'd expect fully cooked chicken! In summary - fantastic hotel but avoid the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose one with a terrace on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for not meeting your expectations in the restaurant. With the addition of our new Executive Chef who will be on board as of mid-September and restaurant renovations which are scheduled to be completed by mid-October, we are confident that your future dining experience will represent the quality and service on which Le Saint-Sulpice prides itself. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campton, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

(We actually stayed here in August of 2010, not September). The rooms here are elegant and comfortable. The staff is helpful and respectful, especially with the valet parking. The restaurant has excellent food and service. Breakfast is good. We loved it here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteMountainsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The St Sulpice may have been a pleasant hotel, maybe even recently. It now seems committed to a dizzying spiral into seediness. The worst first: the breakfast service is breathtakingly bad. You cannot get coffee. We had to get up and beg the hostess to send somebody to serve us a small, weak first cup. A second cup is a mad dream. The buffet has good baked goods, cheese, good ham, cereal and yogurt, and bowls of fruit which deteriorated from nice fruit salad at first to watermelon our last day. Perversely inconvenient use of the attractive garden/lobby space, with the waiting-to-be-seated line mingling awkwardly with the buffet line, the routes from tables to buffet blocked off for no apparent reason with big planters so you have to weave between close tables and laden (but coffeeless) servers to get to the buffet. One day we were made to wait seven minutes for a table to be set although there were many empty tables and few diners. Another day we were refused service when we arrived ten minutes before the end of breakfast hours. The coffee issue would be less desperate if you could get coffee in your room. There is a very fancy coffee pod machine in your room. The machines and pods are for sale. You get 3 thimble-sized pods and a piece of paper saying the first 3 are free, all others (more in fridge) $2.50 each. Per day or per stay? There was no documentation stating terms the second day, so we didn’t dare use any more (it would have taken at least 9 to caffeinate all 3 of us adequately). We chose the St-S because it has suites – but coffee (espresso sized) cups, toiletries, towels etc are all for 2 (of the 3 free thimbles, one was decaf so doesn’t count); first day no bathrobes, second day, 2 not 3 bathrobes showed up. Of course we could have called Housekeeping but (1) this should not be necessary and (2) occasional lapses into insolence at front desk did not make us eager to talk to hotel personnel. There are bottles of water in the room and more (2) brought (waking us from desperately needed, hard-won nap) ostentatiously delivered in the afternoon but nothing to say what they might cost. So much has changed so recently at the St-S. that the Guest Manual has an Errata sheet, but some disparities are still not covered in the errata. Fridge is said to be stocked and a price list on counter but there was just one bottle of wine and coffee thimbles, nothing else, in fridge, and no price list. There were a bottle of champagne, 2 glasses, and a card about $49 on the counter. So general atmosphere of commercialism and dangerous money-grabbing booby traps throughout room, causing anxiety, defensiveness, and hostility to the hotel. Warm water in ice bucket when we arrived, so overall cleanliness suspect. Since spa has disappeared, hotel now offers guests use of gym nearby. This gym is small, crowded, and unpleasant. It was not clear whether guests could or could not use a second, reportedly nice gym farther away—hotel itself can't seem to keep up with the massive negative changes, different staff say different things. Room has nice upholstered furniture but wood pieces are nicked, battered and unpolished, seedy looking (they won't spring for a bottle of Old English??). My mattress might have been OK for some; I needed firmer. Bedroom window handle missing, toilet paper holder loose. The hotel is quick to tell you the bedroom is fully private and bath has separate entrances, but they have installed lightly frosted GLASS PANELS around the sink facing the bedroom. So if you turn on lights in the night it disturbs folks in bedroom, and folks in bedroom have to make effort not to notice sink activities. (The whole worldwide transparent-bathrooms-in-hotels thing: let's have a show of hands, how many like transparent bathrooms??) A gigantic fake fireplace protrudes annoyingly into the room (esp. awkward in relation to Murphy bed, which we could have called them to raise and lower every day but didn’t). There is said to be a device to operate the fireplace somewhere but we couldn’t find it. It was summer, we didn’t care, but just one more stupid oversight on the part of the hotel. AC satisfactory but very loud. One tea light for the signature red candle, no refills. Wonder how much we would be charged for a second tea light.
Attitude: The St. S. is very hard to get to by car at present because of constructions blocks in combination with one-way streets. This is not hotel's fault, but when we arrived and said we had had a hard time, the front desk informed us that no, it's very easy. The next day a veteran Montreal cab driver arrived 20 minutes late driving the wrong way up the street and almost in tears with frustration because he couldn’t find a way there. Worse: the Guest Manual says there's a nice bar in the lobby where you can meet a friend, have a drink before setting out, etc etc – the things people do in hotel bars. So, 2 of our party (20-somethings, admittedly overpolite and underdressed, but quite presentable) went down for a drink. They were told no, you can't just have a drink, this is a full-service restaurant (Bagatelle. Don’t go there.). Eventually they were allowed to sit at a side table. They asked for the wine list. The waitress said No. They asked her to suggest some wines. She brought them a glass of chilled red wine that tasted strongly of vinegar, presumably how it was supposed to taste but exotic and obviously not what young people barely past the white Zinfandel stage wanted, and a glass of nice white. I joined them and we had a total of 5 glasses. The bill was $76, the excess owing to the bizarre red. Maybe not that far out of line for a hotel bar, but clearly involving active hostility from the waitress. The young people insisted on tipping her anyway.
Positives: Great location. Very quiet. Front desk efficient, quick to make restaurant reservation, call taxi, though they may sneer at you.
Not good enough. Skip the St Sulpice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ideefixe310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property regarding your recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay. I will discuss your detailed account of events with all departments concerned to ensure the necessary actions are taken. I wish you could have contacted me during your stay as we could have addressed these issues, react and resolve them immediately. It would be my pleasure to speak with you and we hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The location of this hotel is great. The staff at reception was pleasant and the concierge was very helpful. The room was very spacious and clean. I was disappointed with the continental breakfast. I was there for 6 nights and it was always the same. A little variety would have been welcome. Every day I had breakfast I had to ask for butter and jam. The service was slow even though it was not very busy when I was there. Breakfast is served in the terrace, which is very pleasant.
Rosemary

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Rosemary,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently revising our breakfast set-up to ensure our guests are served in a timely manner during high occupancy days. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,114 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,692 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,053 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing