We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat there”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Unfortunately anything that related to food at this hotel was a disappointment to us. We ordered 4 Diet Cokes from room service. All cokes were more than 8 months past their expiration date (yes, 8 months), and the hotel had run out of fries, jam and a number of other day-to-day items, despite being almost empty.

During the 4 days we were there, missing items were never restocked. Staff were friendly and happy to apologize for anything missing or wrong, but no one seemed empowered do anything about it or pass on the message.

For frequent travellers who are used at staying at hotels, and perhaps on limited time and therefore just needs things to work, I recommend staying somewhere else.

On the plus side, the location is great, the rooms are nice and spacious and the in-room products are great. It is just the service that fails.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lars_nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and rooms. We apologize for the misses in the restaurant. We have recently completed our transition in our Food & Beverage department. Our new Restaurant Operators have completed the renovations in the restaurant and with the addition of our new Executive Chef Stelio Perombelon, we are confident that the issues you encountered will not reoccur in the future. We hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves and we look forward to seeing you back on your next trip.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,471 - 1,477 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

Le Saint-Sulpice is a very nice hotel that just misses greatness.

Recently renovated, it shines with a stylish decor of red and black, punched up with bold designs accented by dark wood and stainless steel. We got a wonderful room that was spacious, located in the back away from street and elevator noise, and was blissfully quiet. It also came with a kitchenette, a balcony, and an electric fireplace. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with a soaking tub and separate shower. The staff is attentive and personable. And its location is top notch - its entrance is half a block away from the Notre Dame Basilica and an easy walk to the old port area.

What's missing? Well, its restaurant is a bit of a head snap. It has the same bold red and black colors and a gorgeous ceiling of sculpted wood. It is located below ground and you look up and out to the sidewalk through windows framed by wrought iron trellises. Despite the little flowers carved into the grillwork, the restaurant feels a bit like an underground prison, especially in the daytime when it is light out and it feels cold and dark inside. The layout is reminiscent of a school cafeteria with rectangular tables lined up in a straight line down the middle and interspersed along the wall directly under the sidewalk. A long red banquette runs the length of that wall and looks uncomfortable at best. Maybe it's better at night when it's dark outside so you don't know what you're missing.

The kitchenette is a great convenience. It comes equipped with all the basics you need to cook. But, the microwave is tucked into an upper cabinet above the cooktop and high above your head. You risk spilling something hot on your face anytime you take heated food out of the microwave.

The breakfast buffet is continental and no better than it needs to be - three kinds of croissants, a basket of sliced bread, two meats (a salami, a ham), three types of sliced melon, a bowl of plain yogurt, two cerreals, juice and coffee. The coffee tastes watery, disappointing in a French hotel/restaurant.

Finally, and this is probably a quirk of mine, I am not partial to fragranced lobbies and rooms. Le Saint-Suplice fragrances the lobby to create an aura of spa and serenity. OK if you don't mind that scent, but it didn't appeal to me and I found myself holding my breath each time I passed through.

Room Tip: HIgher floors away from the elevator. Ask for a rooms with a balcony, electric fireplace, and kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluenote18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed at Le Saint Sulpice for three nights in October and was impressed. I didn't experience any of the problems/faults I had read about prior to my stay.

My room was large, clean, came equipped with a kitchenette and included complimentary reliable wi-fi. I had no reason to use the restaurant due to the number of alternative options in the vicinity.

This was the first hotel I stayed in during a trip across Canada, and the only downside was the price in comparison to subsequent hotels. Having said that, given the excellent location of the hotel in particular, I would consider staying here again if I returned to Montreal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourGuideRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and wanted something romantic and cozy.Le Saint-Sulpice fit the description. The room was perfect and the staff was wonderful. I cannot wait to return to Montreal and this great hotel.

Room Tip: I researched trip advisor and looked at the pictures taken by those who stayed at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le Sain-Sulpice. We are so happy to hear that all your expectations were met on your Anniversary weekend. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

One of the best experiences I've had with a hotel. The location is great, every staff person I encountered was friendly, and incredibly helpful. The room was bigger than we imagined, clean, and pretty luxurious (large deep tub, gas fireplace, Nespresso maker, two TVs, great bed, etc...) And on top of all this, they welcome dogs. No "dog smell" in the room, no attitude from staff or other customers, very accommodating in terms of cleaning the room when we were out with our dog. This will be where I always stay. Oh, and there's free breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Really cute hotel, friendly front desk staff, great location in the heart of Vieux Montreal--but we were disappointed by one huge issue. Our first night, we were shown to a lovely large room with a fireplace. In bed that night, we were unhappily surprised by multiple insects in our bed! (Not bedbugs, but not really sure what they were!) Our call to the front desk brought someone immediately who agreed there was a problem & moved us to another room down the hall. After finally falling asleep that night, the rest of our stay was pleasant & uneventful. We were, however, disappointed that management didn't offer to compensate us in some way--a glass of wine at the bar perhaps, or breakfast? On the whole though, we had a good experience there & would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanOT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We apologize once again for the insect in your room. With the cold weather in Montreal at times they make their way in and we can assure you that this is a rare incident. Please call me directly on your next trip to Montreal and I will personally make your arrangements.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had a lot of fun staying here in Montreal. We got a deal on SniqueAway, and the price for the size of the room was amazing. We were also in a great location, right in Old Montreal and just a few metro stops away from the Plateau where everything is hopping. There was great shopping nearby as well. We also got good service, and everyone spoke English, which was helpful for us. Wifi was free, which was great compared to hotels in US.

The only bad things were that the breakfast was not included in the morning (boo) and reception/valet messed up our cars, overcharging us for a car that wasn't ours (luckily we caught it) and making us wait for almost 45 minutes when we were ready to leave. The beds are also really small (might be a non-American thing, not sure). Other than that, it was wonderful

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cscott02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your most recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice Montreal. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although your room rate did not include breakfast, we do have packages with breakfast included in the rate. We also have rooms with king size beds should you require a larger bed on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,460 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,224 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,761 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,295 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £123 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing