We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular hotel with an unfortunate design flaw”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spectacular hotel with an unfortunate design flaw”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I was here for two weeks for business. This was my second time in this hotel in old Montreal and I quite like it. The rooms are huge with separate bedroom, sitting room and bathroom as well as many amenities including a full kitchenette and Nespresso coffee machine, 2 TVs, a fridge, and a fire place. The rooms are very well outfitted. The only complaint I have is that the bathroom and the bedroom are divided by a glass wall. I had to get up earlier than my spouse as I had to work but my spouse was here for a bit of a break for the weekend. When I got up early for work and turned on the light in the bathroom, it lighted up the bedroom where my spouse was still trying to sleep. There is no way to avoid lighting up the bedroom while going to the bathroom. In my mind this is a major design flaw. If staying alone or if both of you have to get up at the same time then this design flaw will not affect you but it did affect us. One other thing of note, I stayed in room 303 and the shower curtain rod was pulling out of the roof and the toilet paper dispenser was coming off the wall. I am sure that maintenance was likely going to fix this as part of regular maintenance but it was unfortunate that these minor issues had not been attended to earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony that faces the inner courtyard as they are much quieter than the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanaramaRidgeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that we do have rooms which do not have a glass partition from the washroom to the bedroom. When making your next reservation, please mention your request and we will be glad to add your request in your profile. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    475
    94
    46
    15
See reviews for
445
805
68
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed at the Saint-Sulpice for the second time in the past year for business purposes and for me, it is one of the best in Old MOntreal (I've also stayed at the Place D'armes, the Nelligan, the W, the St-Paul and SpringHill suite by Mariott so I can really compare). Service is always great, I have only praise for housekeeping, valet and reception. What I especially love ? the Nespresso coffee machine in the room, the mini kitchenette ( i work late hours and love to be able to bring some food instead of having to order pizza at 1am), and location - location - location. A few corners away from trendy breakfast spot Olive & Gourmando (who are not doing as well service wise as the Saint-Sulpice staff, but that's another review for another day), beautiful run or walk on the old Port and more restaurants to choose than most guests can enjoy. Oh, and the beds are really comfy. Can't comment on breakfast at the Hotel as I stuck to coffee and lunches. Thanks again for another lovely stay !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manonlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that once again, you enjoyed your stay with us. My entire team will be happy to hear that you appreciated the service you received from them and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My boyfriend I stayed September 2nd and 3rd at Le Saint-Sulpice. We had requested a room with a street view and we extremely pleased to find that the room window opened to a perfect view of the cobblestone road and on both days there were even street muscians playing right outside our window! We moved a little side table and two chairs in front of the window and sat there each afternoon after our morning sightseeing and enjoyed the view, music and a glass of wine as we watched the horse drawn carriage go by! To say that the location of this hotel is perfect would be un understatement. We were able to walk each night to dinner, and then stroll along the streets to listen to music right around the corner.

The room was called a Superior room, but is the hotels least expensive room. That being said we found it to be extremely comfortable and clean. The small kitchenette was perfect for a short stay where you could keep things chilled in the refrigerator or heat leftovers in the microwave. The coffee maker with the pods was a nice touch and the cream in the refrigerator was a welcome surprise. Each night we were given two bottles of water, also a nice touch.

The valet staff was exceptional, even offering assistance as we took out our maps as we were getting ready to take our car sightseeing. The front desk staff also very helpful and curtious. On the day we left the manager genuinely asked about our stay and gave us a PERFECT recommendation for sampling poutine in Montreal. His recommendation of Casse-Croute La Banquise was great and we loved it, well worth driving to!

I have seen complaints about the breakfast, but honestly it DOES say CONTINENTAL breakfast and that is exactly what is served. The croissants were amazing (especially the chocolate ones) and the fruit was fresh and plentiful. If you want a cooked to order breakfast there was the opportunity to order off a fairly priced menu.

The only negative we have to say is the concierge service the first night. We asked Max where we could find a good place to hear music or a band locally within walking distance. And with a look of great distaste he said there was NOTHING good in the Old Port area! I have to say his demeanor made us both feel as if we were bothering him and he seemed well.... rather snotty. Again I hate to say anything negative but I have always thought the job of a concierge was to enhance a guests stay by offering assistance and he did not seem to want to be bothered with us. I will tell you what upset us even more was that very night we walked into a piano bar right around the corner and enjoyed a wonderful blues singer... as we left there again on the same street a rock band played and we also enjoyed standing in the street looking through the open window... and we couldn't help but think... why didn't Max even mention this was right outside our door??? I will tell you the next day the Concierge was a totally different person and it was a TOTALLY different experience... he couldn't have been more helpful and took plenty of time to listen to what we were looking for in a restaurant and made some really nice suggestions.

As we tell family and friends about our visit to Montreal, the first thing we say is that if you go, you should definately stay at Le Saint-Sulpice! For us the location and the comfort of the room enhanced our trip and made it even more special!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cali1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property in regards to your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the concierge service the first day and our Head Concierge will ensure that Max is aware of the venues in our area. We look foward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The room 622 was nice....nothing really special....several problems...found old clothes and panities under the bed, so housekeeping is not one of their assets....found a blue Viraga pill laying on the lower level of the vanity in bathroom...another negative
televison was not working in main room, had to call maintenance, electric plug in master bathroom not working had to call maintenance, floor lamp plug rh side of couch, pushed down inside recess and not working.....
There is no electric plug in front bathroom so using a hair dryer in there is out...
Resturant very expensive and not worthy of the prices charged.....also poor service...ordered breakfast one Saturday morning at 10:30 was called back and told impossible as too late to order breakfast, however hours stated on menu for Saturday and Sunday, 11:00 pm was the cut off date..
For the price of what we paid for the room, a 5 star hotel price, we would have to say hotel is over rated and not more than a 3 star rating tops...
Would we stay here again, no! The Nelligan around the corner is much more nicer and at a cheaper price.
Richard Lewis

Room Tip: Go to Nelligan around the corner or stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in regards to your recent stay. We would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues and wish we could have resolved it before your departure. Our shift reports do not have a mention of your findings during your stay and should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me. This being said, I have spoken to our Executive Housekeeper to insure this isolated incident does not reoccur. Our reputation in regards to cleanliness speaks for itself as you can attest from the Tripadvisor comments alone. Although we do not operate our restaurant, we are working closely with our restaurant operators to ensure improvements are made. We hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves as we look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouldsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The first time for my husband and myself in Montreal. We wanted an affordable but elegant and European style3 hotel for our home base. A friend recommended the Saint Sulpice - it proved to be a glorious time. The location in Old town, next to the Basilica of Norte Dame, 1 block from Montreal's "restaurant row", the piers, the science center and more - the perfect location for sight seers. Our son was visit5ing us from Kenya so we wanted him to be comfortable. Our suite had a queen pullout that was quite comfy for a tall man - our pillow top queen was dreamy. Great place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erma942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy to hear that your first stay in Montreal & at Le Saint-Sulpice was up to your expectations. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Hotel itself was very clean and well keep and overall pleasing to the eye. The staf were inviting and the service was exellent and not once did my lack of french hinder my ablity to communicate with them. Be able to allow the family dog to tag along and sleep with us in the room was more then enough to put this experiance among my best of any hotel. I highly recommend it if your going to be in Old Montreal :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callender_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Cliff, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Located in the heart of old town montreal, this hotel optimizes all you could ask for in a great hotel. The staff is quite friendly and professional, the location is perfect and the rooms are very spacious! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenp344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your expectations were met at Le Saint-Sulpice. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,043 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing