We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is probably my 800th (joke) stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. I wrote a review after my first time, but I'd like to update it. First of all, I am a local and have always booked through SniqueAway - now Jetsetter, so I've never paid full price. My husband and I use this hotel as our respite hotel (we have a special need's child) - sometimes we take a night off by ourselves, but this last time we came together - a rare treat! We had a busy day, so we checked in late. To our surprise, we were given the last room they had left, which was the Presidential Suite. There had been a party in the room previously, so the couch was wet and the cushions taken off to air dry, but this did not ruin our stay at all. There's another TV in the bedroom, so we used that one. Despite the cold, we enjoyed the view of the rooftop terrace and we would definitely book this room for a party one day.

As usual, I have nothing bad to say about this place. Their rooms are really nicely decorated, their soaps (Occitane) are wonderful, there are always enough towels and pretty much anything else you need. Spas are within walking distance or you can get services in your room. The hotel is very clean and always super quiet. Their beds are really lovely and the rooms are dark. I always sleep like a baby there. The valet services are excellent and quick.

It was also my birthday weekend, so it was a really relaxing time and a great surprise upgrade.

Room Tip: In the summer, ask for a room away from St-Sulpice street to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay with us and your upgrade to our Presidential Suite. We thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hôtel is a charm down the old Montreal. The service is very good and employees are very good and professional…. although the room are not exceptional the old cachet is great…. Thanks for the great experience...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacMarioQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Do yourself a favor and stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. I love this hotel for the wonderful service, rooms and location.
The hotel is quiet, steps from some incredible restaurants and I truly appreciate the bottle of water each night.
I cannot say enough about the staff - they are polite, helpful, pleasant. I look forward to seeing them each time I visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and my entire team will be happy to hear your kind words in their regards and look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The rooms were great, location very convenient, but restaurant for breakfast was dreadful. Poor service and food was not good. I would have given a higher rating for service if the restaurant had been better.

Room Tip: The suites were lovely and ask for one on first floor overlooking the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchess695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for not having met your expectation in regards to the service & food at breakfast. We have followed up with restaurant management to ensure measures are taken to avoid future incidents. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I spent three perfect nights at Le Saint-Sulpice from October 22 to October 25. The small suite on the 4th floor was very comfortable. I never ever heard a peep from anyone in the halls or neighbors. I couldn't even tell if there were others nearby!! There were large windows and a glass door opening onto a balcony set with chairs. We had a fireplace in our living room which added to the atmosphere. The location in Old Montreal is perfect and truly easy to walk. We loved the turndown service. They had everything you would need in a room including a safe which was great for all our electronics. We even managed to walk to "downtown" as well which is like a smaller NYC. But, cabs are plentiful and quick! The concierges on duty were all very helpful. We ate supper at Quattro for Italian - just half a block way. We ate supper at Holder - walking distance on McGill. Not to be be missed though is Olive + Gourmande for breakfast - walking distance as well. Every person in every store in every restaurant was helpful and understanding of the language barrier. If you can master bon jour and merci you'll be fine!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmeyerhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, location and dining in Montreal. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Was visiting Montreal to meet my mom and based on reviews decided to chance on staying at the Le Saint Sulpice. The experience was absolutely exceptional. I arrived on the late night flight and was actually met outside by the front reception attendant who helped me inside to the reception and then upgraded my room even without asking! The room was awesome. The service during my entire stay was absolutely phenomenal. From the front desk, concierge to the doorman the staff was super courteous and went up to and beyond what was expected to please their guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamanaGenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy and touched to hear that this was your best experience in Canada. We are so happy to have met your expectations and we look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel was absolutely beautiful. The staff were ultra friendly. The hotel is in a perfect location in Old Montreal. Easy walking distance to many shops, restaurants and bars.
We would definitely stay there again. Normally, I like to try different hotels, but not here. We plan on another trip next spring and Le Saint-Sulpice is our choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. My entire team will be so happy to hear your kind words and hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back this spring.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,475 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,242 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,390 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £122 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing