We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in old Montreal”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

You can't beat this hotel in regards to the price, service, and location. All three things make this hotel such an excellent experience. The front desk was accommodating, the bell men were always there to help you, and the location is in the middle of old Montreal.

I would come back in a heartbeat. My only MINOR complaint is that we came for a bachelorette party which mean 3 girls per room. The showers were set up in such a way that it doesn't allow privacy within the bathroom- but like I said it was only a minor problem. My bed was extremely comfortable and we had a fireplace- which was so necessary after a cold day outside. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristieMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,005)
There are newer reviews for Le Saint-Sulpice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 2,005 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We wanted a large and comfortable suite for a family-time weekend, and were willing to pay for it. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite offered everything an extended family could need on a weekend getaway. The lounge area included a comfy sofa(bed) and 2 arm chairs, multiple side tables, desk, and a working wood fireplace. The dining area had a full size dining table and kitchenette replete with Nespresso, tea kettle, microwave, mini-fridge, and stovetop. We had no intention of cooking, but had lovely room service dinners for our full family of five, take out from a local sushi place, and croissant-full breakfasts.
Grandma appreciated having her own bedroom and bathroom with walk-in shower, and boys appreciated all the cozy lounging space. Parents enjoyed leaving boys with grandma to walk the charming neighborhood!
In fact, our car remained garaged the entire long weekend. We could walk to all the sites in the old town, and to the subway for easy trips to the Biodome and Rue St Catherine/McGill.
A few nitpicky problems did not ruin our time: malfunctioning remotes, bathtub stopper. Beds were soft, but oh well. We loved lounging by the fireplace with coffee or wine, and being able to open the windows to hear the bells of Notre Dame.

Room Tip: Suite 615 has no balcony but a view down to Rue St Sulpice. Amazingly quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandwichedMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed the accomodations and stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I had been to Montreal earlier in the year on business and stayed at this property and was highly impressed and returned with my wife for a weekend in early November. I had booked on line and requested a room similar to what I had stayed in earlier in the year. But when we checked in, they had upgraded us to a 6th floor room (601) which was wonderful.

During our first night we noticed a drip in the bathtub that was surprisingly loud, so loud in fact I had to put a towel in to muffle the noise. I let the front desk know the next morning and this problem was solved in the four hour time frame during which we had left the room.

Not only is the hotel a great boutique experience, but the location in Old Montreal is perfect. It's literally located right behind Notre Dame Basilica on Rue Saint Sulpice, and is seconds away from Saint Paul Street and all the restaurants, bars, shops and stores it has to offer. You can be at the waterfront in one minute. When we went downtown, it was a 5 minute walk to Place d'Armes subway station and we were downtown in minutes. Place Jacques Cartier is about a 5-10 minute walk away.

Restaurant here can be expensive for some, but there are many many options within your reach once you leave the hotel

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 601, and it's two balconies, but being November it was too cold to enjo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and location. We thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

the hotel looks little scruffy from the outside and it's definitely a little agèe inside, but the rooms are big ( maybe too big) and comfortable. You also have a little kitchenette in the room, but the choice of reasturant in Montreal is huge and I didn't use it
wi-fi is free and they are connected with a spa
You are right in the centre of the old part of the city and its cobbled street, a very nice atmosphere
overall a nice experience

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bidibodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Beautiful contemporary hotel in lovely Montreal neighborhood. Service was excellent, and I loved that we could separate the suite into two sleeping spaces for the kids. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNTraveler_wKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you & your family enjoyed your stay and services rendered. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The location of Le Saint Sulplice in the Old Port is perfect and within walking distance to great sights, shopping and dining. The staff is pleasant. Although the suites were recently updated, they are looking worn. Management / Housekeeping Staff need to pay attention to the small details within the rooms (i.e., install a door stop on the back of the bathroom door to prevent the door handle from making a whole in the wall / patch the hole in the wall, replace the handle on the toilet). Asked for the sofa bed to be turned down and although there is 24 hour Housekeeping Staff, the request slipped through the cracks. Despite the lack of attention to small details, it was nice to return to Le Saint Sulplice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-G-TorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and noticed the renovations. The final phase of renovations will be completed by Spring 2014. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent a weekend in Montreal and was very pleased to be in smack in the middle of Old Montreal, with the Cathedral practically next door.

Staff was pleasant, rooms were very clean and they have great toiletries (I hate traveling with bottles of shampoo, soap and lotions, so this has become somewhat important to me).

Definitely try the tea shoppe down the street. Will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plenilune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and l'Occitane amenities. We look forwrad to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,175 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,070 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £126 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing