We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great comfort”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great comfort”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The room had everything one might need to relax or work in: Fire place, stove top, espresso machine, desk, big bath, and a comfortable couch. Helpful staff, good restaurant downstairs, and a fabulous location for exploring old town Montreal. Next I return, I'll again stay at Le Saint-Sulpice.

Room Tip: I let the staff choose for me and they did a great job. Fifth floor street side was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and services rendered. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    466
    94
    45
    15
See reviews for
438
787
67
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We drove for 7 hours and decided to wait until we would get to the hotel to eat dinner. When we got here, the hotel told us the dining room was closed for a private function but we were welcome to have dinner in the lobby/bar. We had no issue with that but when we sat down, we were clearly disturbing the staff. No one came to see us and when the bartender did, helping us looked painful. Other staff members were also walking by giving us a very unwelcomed looked. I asked if we were bothering them and was told that the service would be very slow because of the Christmas party happening at the hotel. We had our three hungry kids with us and no one to help us out. I asked the front desk and they suggested that we go out for dinner... Getting the kids all dressed up (including a 6 month old baby) again and trying to find a place at 8pm was not ideal at all.
We ended up going to our room and ordering room service, which was fine. I was just disappointed that a hotel wouldn't ensure that it's guests are being welcomed and taken care of upon arrival... Not very hospitable in my opinion.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I apologize for the dining room being privatized for a function on one of the nights during your stay. We always have the option of eating in the lounge area or room service as the Christams period can be quite busy. We pride ourselves on our service and it saddens me to hear that your dining experience was not up to the standards you deserve. We have spoken to restaurant management to ensure such an event does not reoccur. We hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here a few years ago. Nice hotel, across form Notre Dame, and located in old Montreal along the cobblestone streets. You can walk to many things from here. Good food and shopping right in the area.

Traveled there in 07-08. Yes awhile ago but I just got around to finally creating an account :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank PeterOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have undergone several upgrades since 2007-2008 and we hope to see you back to experience the changes.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Everything about Le Saint-Sulpice is wonderful. We have now stayed there three times, the first time for a wedding, and subsequently for holiday. The staff is gracious and courteous. The rooms are beautifully appointed, modern yet warm. I especially love the suites which actually do have separate bedrooms, unlike many hotels. The little touches, such as the Nespresso machine, make it special as well. The location, in Old Montreal is perfect for tourists and I suppose anyone who needs to be in the area. You can walk along the water, or rent Bixis - municipal bikes - to tour the area, which is quite easy to bike around in. There are numerous restaurants and shops yet it still retains much of the charm of age. The staff is gracious and courteous. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeBee386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that we are your hotel of choice in Montreal. We thank you for your loyalty and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I booked this hotel on a limb through hotels.com. What a wonderful surprise! The location was superb, right in the middle of Old Montreal. Everything is walking-distance, including the Place d'Armes metro station. The staff was very warm and the room was lovely. We will definitely book again at Le Saint-Sulpice on our nextt trip to Montreal!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_perusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you chose Le St-Sulpice for your Montreal getaway and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Let me start by saying the hotel and the room was beautiful, well maintained, and clean. The service was impeccable, and the staff was extremely friendly.

That being said there are a few things I would warn one about before staying there. First, we had gotten a room with a queen bed, however, when we entered our room we saw that it was actually a double. I called down to ask that we at least get a queen and she responded that the bed was a queen and that all the King beds were taken. This led me to wonder if the King bed was actually a King or just a queen. Now maybe for most people this wouldn't be a problem, but for us it would definitely effect our comfort depending on the length of stay (my feet hung off the end and I'm only 5'8").

Second, now this is more odd then anything but I feel people should be aware of it. Our room had a window between the bedroom and the bathroom. Now the glass was frosted but if a person got close enough to the glass you can see them almost perfectly from inside the washroom.

Other than that no real complaints, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

One sidenote I'd like to make in case the hotel reads this, the perfume scent in your lobby is BEYOND overwhelming, I got a headache within seconds of being in the lobby.

Room Tip: I found that the feather pillows became very thin and hard once laid on, I asked for a non-feathered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do have rooms which do not have a frosted window taht separates the bathroom & bedroom. Please do not hesitate to request those rooms on your future visit. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We visit Montreal often, and I usually go for the "Priceline" best deal. This time, we wanted something special for my husband's 50th birthday. We were also traveling with our 11 year old daughter. I booked the St. Sulpice directly, and felt it was a great value. The room was more like an apartment, but unlike the cheap suite hotels, this was very nice, including a Nespresso machine. The separate bedroom was a plus as we could watch TV after our daughter went to sleep on the comfortable fold out sofa. From the time we entered the lobby, we felt like we were someplace special. The people on staff were lovely, and paid attention to our particular needs. The parking, at $28 a day, was a fair deal, as it was "in and out", and the valet would have the car ready quickly. Even without a car, one can get around easily on the Metro. The location is charming with a number of great restaurants nearby. We did not take the breakfast package, as we were on the go and there are cafes nearby.

Room Tip: Some floors may be designated pet floors. We heard "yipping" early one morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and services provided by our team. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing