We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great experience every visit to Montreal”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great experience every visit to Montreal”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My work places me at this hotel for meetings every year – great choice by them, as I have always had an amazing experience.
Great location close to shopping – in historic part of Montreal.
A couple celebrities working on films in town stayed here at the same time, with all the staff and fellow guests providing discreet attentive service.
You can hear the church bell on Sunday morning from the Notre-Dame-church next door,, which could be a detriment to some late sleepers, however I quite liked it.
They placed me in a great room with a great fireplace and balcony, though I think that may have been a perk arranged by work.
I fully look forward to staying here on my next non-work trip in May.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay & we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    474
    94
    46
    15
See reviews for
444
804
68
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in the old part of Montreal. This is the second time that I have stayed here on visits to Montreal, and have loved both times. It is located right in the heart of the old city, right behind the Basilica, and a few seconds walk down to Rue Saint Paul. It is a charming hotel, and the service and facilities are superb. A lovely ambience in the lobby, warm and inviting. Arriving mid-morning, I expected to wait for room availability, but was informed that I had been upgraded to a suite room, overlooking Rue St Paul. This suite had a lovely living room, with a separate inner bedroom with glass doors opening into the living room. It had a small kitchenette as well. It was extremely comfortable, quiet despite looking over busy Rue Saint Paul, and provided a spacious and comfortable working area for my business purposes. The bathroom was spacious, with quality L’Occitane products. The hotel is surrounded by many restaurants and quite a number of lovely cafes, so I did not eat in the hotel at all for any meals. The hotel is easily accessible to all of the sights in the old city, and a wonderful base for a walking tour. It is not easily accessible by public transport (bus or metro) from the airport, and the taxi fare was around $40 Canadian. Certainly I will be staying here on any future visit to Montreal.

Room Tip: always ask to check a room if in doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you bakc on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We chose this wonderful gem of a hotel based upon our previous visit with them a few years ago, as well as the excellent room rate they were offering. I'd like to keep this hotel to ourself, because you can't beat the quality of service, accommodations, location, and friendliness/helpfulness of the hotel staff.
We booked for December 27-29, 2013 into the Superior Suite with some trepidation based upon some prior reviews in Trip advisor, that the rooms they occupied were sub-par. Ours was beautiful, well equipped with a stunning bathroom; soak tub, separate shower and high end toiletries. Our room was nice sized with comfortable furniture, lighting, fridge, coffee maker, heavy drapes to block noise and light. One couldn't find a better area for shopping, eating, sight-seeing and general enjoyment of this historic part of Montreal. Go to to the Scandinave Spa one block from the hotel for a luxurious experience and 20% discount for services when you present your hotel key card. We had a super meal at The Italian restaurant Quattro at 17 Notre Dame Street West. Just a five minute walk from the hotel. It is owned by three Italian men who are exceptional in taking care of their guests....including providing some comic entertainment. No attitude here, just great food, drinks and company. Prices are around the $$$ range and worth it for a jovial evening. It's also a must to visit the magnificent Notre Dame Basilica - it is absolutely stunning inside and out. Extraordinary paintings of the saints and major biblical characters, priceless statues and embellishments on all the basilica's surfaces, on par with some of Europe's finest cathedrals. All this for a $5.00 entrance fee!

Note: I made a mistake by marking the pool and gym categories. The hotel itself has arrangements with two facilities, nearby the hotel, where a discount is offered to hotel guests. I gave an excellent for the pool because my experience at the spa was similar, but better than a jump in a pool. However, I did not use the gym and unable to fairly comment on it, nor am I allowed to completely remove the fitness center rating at least using an iPad. I'm not sure if this a Trip Advisor problem or mine. Rather than giving bad rating I'm giving it an excellent to avoid an unfair
Rankings.

Room Tip: Ask the desk if you make phone reservations their suggestions, based on your needs. Online reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in regards to your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay with us. We have repainted all our guest rooms this year as well as changed all chairs, arm chairs, coffee tables, curtains, and artwork. We are glad to hear you like the changes. We will be completing our renovations this winter when we will renovate our coridoors and change the coridoor carpets.
We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I love this hotel and come back every year. The rooms are amazing, the staff are kind, and there are so many perks to being right down in the old port. Our room had a fireplace and came with complementary logs. It was the perfect romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingLemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that once again, you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed at the hotel over Christmas for 5 days. We got a suite with a fireplace which was really nice as it was pretty cold for a few days. Love the separate bedroom for the added privacy and just being able to shut the doors when we had guests over for drinks.

Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. Always received greetings and smiles when we came back to the hotel and they were super helpful with getting us cabs. This isn't always the case at hotels and I think the genuinely friendly service goes a very long way.

We had Christmas day brunch in the restaurant and multiple drinks and appetizers in the lobby lounge and were always happy.

Location is great but I recommend asking staff for dining recommendations as many area restaurants cater to tourists and aren't good examples of Montreal cuisine. Places we were recommended were awesome and felt a bit more authentic.

All in all, a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard will be significantly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopefullylost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your Christmas stay with us. My entire team will be so happy to hear that they made your stay memorable. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food & beverage services as well. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We love the St Sulpice Hotel. It has such a cozy feel to it. The view out of our window was pure Old Montreal with historic buildings & architecture to enjoy from our room. Just down the street from Notre Dame, we could hear the five o'clock church bells ringing.
The room was showing a little age from the last time we were there, but still nice and spacious with a fireplace, sitting room & bar kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. we are happy to hear that once again, you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your loyalty and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just spent the night at Le Saint-Sulpice in Vieux Montréal en route to skiing at Mont Sainte-Anne and Le Massif. Wish we had more time there so will definitely return int he future. Wonderful boutique hotel in a fantastic location!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in regards to your recent stay with us. Although short, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,042 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing