We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but not perfect”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location - right in the middle of all the action. The rooms are really nicely done and very impressive - all suites. Very helpful front desk staff as well as concierge, etc. Now why didn't I give this a 5 - sometimes it's the little things. First it has been a pretty hot couple of days in Montreal - beautiful weather not complaining - but air conditioning has to work.....Our first night the air was barely putting out anything and we had to leave the windows open (on the 1st floor and not really comfortable with that either). Housekeeping was good enough to get us a fan. To their credit, AC was fixed 1st thing in the AM and now we are nice and comfortable. Second little thing - the wifi is very tempermental. Can be pretty annoying. As I said - sometimes it's the little things. Would recommend, but make sure your climate controls are working properly on getting into your room.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CatConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,005)
There are newer reviews for Le Saint-Sulpice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 2,005 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The suite rooms were nice in this hotel and the location is great right next to the cathedral. Heart of old montreal. The breakfast was nice but I had expected better. I would have been happier with a more courteous receptionist staff. Overall good but expected more out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Le St-Sulpice is a very nice stylish and elegant boutique hotel located in the heart of old Montreal. We stayed there for 3 nights and our stay was outstanding. We were welcome by the very friendly staff at reception, amazing flowery scent in the lobby and a very efficient valet parking (there is no parking on site). Our suite was spacious and stylishly decorated and included a fire place, bathtub and shower, Nespresso coffee maker with free capsules and l'occitane bath products. The concierge was extremely helpful and all his restaurants tips were great. Breakfast a la carte is pleasant, though service sometimes slow. The only improvement area would be the light in the room, which was insufficient, as well as the door between the bedroom and the living room, which did not block the light (our kids sleeping on the sofa bed were flooded with light from our room and had trouble falling asleep). But these are minor imperfections. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, both for families and couples.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank ValerieKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are gappy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here last week with my two young kids and aunt for a family reunion in Montreal. The location was spectacular for access to Vieux Montreal. We could walk to do everything touristy. Since the family reunion activities required us to drive around, it was very helpful to have the valet service take care of the car, particularly given how few parking spots are in the area. The terrace restaurant was awesome. The staff was very helpful with a fire alarm that would not stop beeping. They took care of it immediately. The valet staff was always helpful and very attentive. Since it did rain during our stay a couple of the days, we definitely made use of the umbrella provided in the room. The staff prepared the Murphy bed for my aunt while my kids and I stayed in the separate bedroom. We did see some other boutique hotels during our walk in the area. If I were to visit Montreal again, this would be the place I would stay.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites provided the space needed with kids and an aunt. Great for family visits.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My fiance and I (Late 20's, early 30's) recently stayed at Le Saint-Sulpice and the experience was amazing!! From the moment that you walk and and smell the lotus flowers that they pumps through fans (Only in the lobby, they don't pump the smells in individual rooms), you know you will be taken care of! The hotel was well kept and everyone was quite helpful, including the concierge! We checked with the concierge for each dinner on local suggestions of various price ranges and they always made excellent choices! The hotel is also in a great location in old Montreal, as you can walk to the water and you are directly next to Notre-Dame. There are tons of places nearby to walk to for coffee, food, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TiffanyK20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and service offered by our team. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel was charming, and situated in the heart of the Old Town, perfect for sight-seeing and great restaurants. Our room on the third floor was comfortable, well-appointed and roomy. The only suggestion we might make for improvement would be in the lighting. Like many hotels today, this one has obviously cut back on the electric consumption. While we do appreciate the efforts at energy conservation, it was very difficult to get satisfactory lighting to apply make-up, etc.
The service at the front desk, the helpfulness of the valet/bellmen and especially the willingness of the Concierge to make our visit memorable, were outstanding. Thank you, St. Sulpice, for adding so much to a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our team will be so happy to hear that they made your stay memorable.
Hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is our 5th time staying at Le St. Sulpice in winter and summer and it is always perfect. We travel with our two teenage kids and maltese dog and the hotel puts us into a fabulous "Murphy Bed" Suite on the ground floors with a separate bedroom and terrace. They even provide treats for the doggie. We appreciate the convenient and beautiful location in the center of Old Montreal. If you call the hotel directly, they can usually work a special discount for longer stays. The concierge and front staff are kind, pleasant and helpful and the porters are particularly attentive. Really, what more could you ask for in a vacation hotel except that the bar stay open later! Come and stay for a while, it's always a pleasure.

Room Tip: ask for a Murphy Bed Suite with balcony or terrace in summer or a fireplace in winter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesChoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your loyaly. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,176 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,071 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £126 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing