We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience met expectations - and web pictures!”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2010

It is rare that a hotel looks as good in person as it does on the web, but this was an exception - it looked just as good if not better. The lobby area was warm & welcoming, the staff was friendly & helpful, and the outdoor patio is an oasis. Breakfast was served outside - lovely and adequate buffet included in our room rate, charming & entertaining staff member who makes fresh fruit smoothies & offers everyone shots of it to sample. Lovely space, very tranquil, great for any meal or just a cup of tea with a book in the late afternoon. Our room was a one bedroom with queen bed, plus a living room with Murphy bed at one end for our teenager, plus a kitchenette. Juliette balcony overlooked the patio area with view of the grassy lawn behind the hotel. Quiet, lovely, well-appointed, clean, ample soft towels. One small item was repaired within hours of reporting it. Location is ideal for exploring the old port area of the city with its great architecture, shops, galleries and restaurants, and wasn't too far to walk up to St. Catherine Street and that area. We parked around the corner on St. Francois-Xavier for about $15/day. Great stay, and would return.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank kjsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at Le Saint Sulpice. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to update our website to ensure that all changes to our property will continue to reflect the images on our website. We look forward to seeing your on your future trips to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,606 - 1,612 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

Montreal is one of my favorite cities and Le Saint-Sulpice is easily my favorite hotel in the city (and one of my favorites period). Excellent location and beautiful rooms - I've never slept better!

This hotels gets my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This hotel was our "splurge" during our 11-day/5-city tour in Canada. We were met by valets who parked our car. Upon check-in, I could see there was a wedding event going on, and the concierge informed us that we wouldn't be getting the room I had booked, but a larger one at the same price. It has a beautiful lobby and the hotel is located right in the shadow of Notre Dame cathedral on a cobble-stoned street. The room suite was spacious enough, with a comfortable bed and a sofa sleeper for our sons. It had mini-bar (way overpriced, as they all are) and a microwave (which we wound up using). It was quiet and very classy. My only complaints are that the wifi in our room never worked...it worked if we went down to the lobby, but not in our room -- very frustrating since my husband needed to conduct some business and the staff acted a little patronizing toward us as if we didn't know what we were doing. The did lend him a USB cord which worked. Also, the clerk said that the breakfast buffet was on the patio from 7-9:30. I didn't realize it wasn't part of our package until i got the bill for $25 per person!! And it was nothing to write home about! There is a MacDonalds in walking distance. The hotel is close to the main entertainment street, St. Paul, with lots of restaurants and shops. Very fun and lively. Also just a few blocks from the waterfront area, also very fun and lively. We took the subway to Mont Real and hiked up it. There are also Bixi bike rentals everywhere, so you could rent a bike and get around pretty easily and cheaply. I think this was my favorite city out of Toronto, Ottowa and Quebec. We only spent 2 nights/3 days here and I feel like we missed so much, so I would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon recently and what an incredible start to our trip! We were actually on a stop-over in Montreal so were just looking for somewhere clean and comfortable to stay before our connecting flight but were absolutely blown away by the hotel when we arrived. We think the hotel must have upgraded us as the room was just unbelievable for the price we paid. We had an enormous roof terrace with views over old Montreal, log burning fire, whirlpool bath, enormous and extremely comfortable bed, we were so sad that we were only staying for one night. The room was not the most up-to-date, but so comfortable and enormous, it really didn't matter.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendwanderer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Excellent service with a real smile, at the desk, for breakfast and at the door. In the heart of old town Montreal, next to the Cathedral close to most restaurants. The rooms have a large bed and a good quality pullout for a family. The lofty shape is trendy, allows for light to enter the room, but does not have some level of privacy for a family. A kitchenette may be handy for some, but could have done without.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whendrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Love this hotel. Perfect location to explore old town. Wouldn't even consider any other hotel in town. Our third visit and certainly will return again. The comp. breakfasts alone would bring us back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookhereMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. Your loyalty is of upmost importance to us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

My partner and I stayed here on the final leg of a NYC to Montreal road trip and there was no better place to round off the holiday. Friendly staff, a very knowledgeable concierge, well equipped, spacious rooms and a lovely elegant feel throughout.

If you're considering booking a stay here, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Fevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,519 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,117 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,404 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,785 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £107 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing