We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great party venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #13 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great party venue”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My partner and I were married here last September. The small ceremony was on one of the executive suite balconies overlooking the rooftops of Old Montreal and backed by the Cathedrale Notre-Dame. The living room of the suite was big enough to allow a back up location in case of bad weather.
Hotel staff were wonderful every step of the way, facilitating every need (AV equipment, random odds and ends, storing flowers in the wine cellar, accommodating some guests early check-in, manpower moving chairs etc). The wedding packages include cocktail hors d'oeuvres- the quality and range definitely impressed. The quiet central courtyard with landscaping and fountains was a nice place to serve them. The restaurant has private function rooms of differing sizes. I must say that the food for the reception meal was stupendous - best steak I have EVER had :) Their sommelier offered lovely suggestions for accompanying wines. And they had no problem with us setting up our own music to play off their speakers.
The hotel itself definitely has an ambiance of class that hits you as soon as you walk in the large, luxurious lobby. Rooms (and bathrooms) are large, noise was not an issue and the Occitaine en Provence toiletries were a great touch. The complementary breakfast is simple and tasty.
Reasonably priced for the location (and what a location!) , GREAT upscale reception/event venue, looking for an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelly_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your wedding held at Le Saint Sulpice this past September. We are extremely happy to hear that everything was to your expectations on your special day. We look forward to seeing you back for your 1st Anniversary. You did say you were looking for an excuse!!!
Congratulations once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    461
    93
    45
    14
See reviews for
429
779
67
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2011

The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, the rooms are HUGE, clean and convenient. we had both a shower and a bath tab, bathrobes, coffee machine in the room, simple but lovely breakfast, and the location is perfect. We randomly picked this hotel while driving by at night, and we couldn't believe our fortune. It was an amazing hotel for a very reasonable price (it was cheaper than far-less-impressive hotels in the area, though it should be noted that we came during the off season so prices were more reasonable). Hugely recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clementine78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent stay at Le Saint Sulpice Montreal. We are glad to hear that our property and staff met your expectations and your enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Great value for a huge room in a perfect location in vieux Montreal. Very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empyrerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Le Saint Sulpice Montreal. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Huge, well-appointed rooms, expert customer service and attention to detail. Food is so-so, but you can't be perfect! And I would suggest getting a room away from elevator, as people can be noisy coming and going. Rooms could be a bit brighter, and it does seem to be fraying a bit (our safe didn't work and two light bulbs had to be replaced)--but these issues were quickly remedied.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoShibumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at Le Saint Sulpice Montreal. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to your comment on the lighting, we are in the process of selecting new lamp shades which will improve the room lighting. We have also changed our lunch menu in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Fantastic location on side street neighboring Notre Dame Basilica where you can hear the bell toll. Close to restaurants and just a short walk to the metro. We decided to forego the rental car and instead stayed in lovely Vieux-Montreal and rode the metro to various spots around the city. Hotel exterior is old world, inside more modern. Feels like a small chain hotel, i.e. not overly romantic, but well kept with efficient and kind staff. Our room was starting to show some age in the carpet and sofa, but housekeeping kept the room very clean. Beds not the most comfortable as one was a murphy and the other was a sofa bed. I can sleep on a rock but my husband's back was smokin'. Our room faced the street on an upper floor and you could hear tires on cobblestone and horses clip clopping along. Didn't bother us, but if you are sensitive to noise you may want to request a room not facing the street. Breakfast was a simple and satisfying assortment of toast, croissants, cereal, yogurt, fruit. Very fine hotel in a wonderful city!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsq98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at Le Saint Sulpice Montreal. We have recently completed renovations of a sample room which will be our 2nd phase of our renovations in the coming year. We will be moving forward with new room carpeting as well as new sofabeds. In 2010, we completed phase 1 which included new mattresses, goose down pillowtop on our mattresses, new linens & towels, new pillows, and Nespresso coffee maker. Please contact me to inform us of your room number as you mentioned that the comfort of your bed did not meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed here for two nights over New Year's and had a great experience. It is perfectly located in Vieux Montreal, on the same block as Notre Dame. It is 2 blocks to the Metro and within walking distance to many things. The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas with candles and greenery and a cool fake aspen forest out back.

Our room was a large suite with bedroom, and a big comfy bed with lots of pillows! There were lots of small details in the room that we loved - first of all it was large and made us feel at home, plus there was a cozy gas fireplace, balcony, large lovely bathroom, two closets in the bedroom, and even a candle for us to light and Nespresso maker for espresso in the morning (with 3 complimentary pods). They also bring bottled water at turn-down service, a nice perk when traveling, and there is a computer in the lobby with complimentary internet access and printing (nice for checking into your flight on the way home). This hotel would be great for longer stays as the rooms are large, and ours had a small kitchen area with a stove-top, dishes, sink and small refrigerator. Overall it is a great value - while it isn't cheap, these perks add up and make you feel like you've gotten a great experience for the cost.

Our only complaints were fairly minor -- the room wasn't ready at check-in, but we only waited about 30 minutes. There were a few maintenance/cleanliness issues -- the latch on one of the closets in the bedroom was loose and fell off while we were there, and there were some shards of broken glass on the bathroom floor when we checked in. Unless those issues become worse over time, we would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Montreal!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherinej77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Le Saint Sulpice Montreal. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments in regards to our property, our room ammenities, and our Christmas decor. I do apologize for your wait upon check in as this was a busy holiday weekend. I have also followed up to ensure the maintenance and housekeeping issues you encountered will not reoccur. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We booked directly with the hotel and got the best rate: $136 per night (plus taxes and parking) between Christmas and New Year's Eve for a basic suite. We were upgraded upon check-in to a deluxe suite, which means huge living room with sleek kitchenette (hidden microwave and fridge, mini-stove, sink, and Nespresso capsule coffee maker!), separate bedroom with normal bed (basic suites have murphy beds, though both types have the same mattresses) with ample closet space, huge bathroom with soaker tub, separate shower and two sinks, and front entryway and hallway for additional storage space. There were two flat TVs, free wireless, a pullout sofa, desk and chair, armchairs, Globe and Mail daily paper delivery, and free (included in our rate) continental breakfast in the downstairs restaurant until 10 am (they let me do takeout one morning to bring food and coffee back to my suite). The croissants and pain au chocolat were delicious! (breakfast also included cheeses, yogurt, toast, cereal, OJ, muffins, etc.) Parking cost $25 plus tax (higher for huge SUVs) for valet and local outdoor public lots were similarly priced. There was a computer in the lobby free for use if you don't have a laptop. No pool.

Only two problems happened: one day, no maid service appeared and I had to phone to request it upon our return to our room after 3:30 pm. On our last morning, no Globe+Mail was delivered and upon requesting it, they said they would send one up, but then another staff phoned back to say there were none available (it is included in the rate; upon check-in, you can waive the paper and get a small refund of 75 cents per day). However, there were usually other papers available free by the elevator in the lobby, such as the NY Times.

We ate dinner around the corner at Garde-Manger and down the street at Le Club Chasse et Peche, both of which were excellent. Good coffee was harder to find nearby, though we loved the quality and taste of the in-room espresso capsules.

This is a 4 star hotel that gets it right, and is great value for the money we paid; though, I understand during high season and F1 race it can be over $500 a night for the basic suite.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThingsToEatandDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
1,626 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
2,038 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing