We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent But Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Ranked #42 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent But Expensive”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Marriott in Old Montreal. There were four of us on four motorcycles and it was important we have a hotel with secured parking. This Marriott has underground parking and so met our needs. The room was about $190/night for a king suite. The room was very nice. We were just down the hall from the pool and hot tub - a real plus. A very nice breakfast was included in the stay. The location was perfect for walking around Old Montreal. My only complaint is that by the time all of the various fees and taxes were added on, the room was actually closer to $260/night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    453
    125
    29
    26
See reviews for
341
358
28
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel couldn't have been better. Great location, friendly staff and big clean rooms. I will definitely stay here every time I come back. Walking distance to great restaurants and bars and very comfortable overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobears13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I've been to Montreal a few years ago and stayed in downtown close to Mount Royal. I felt I was far from everything back then so this time I made sure I found a hotel close to the Old Town and heart of the city. This hotel really is right in the heart of the old town and is only a block away from the Old Port. It's about a 5 minute walk to the metro and 5 minutes to Chinatown. The location was just excellent (although it may be hard to find without a GPS as it's down a very narrow side street across from the Palais de Justice) and the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Our TV remote control was not working properly when we arrived, so I called the front desk. About 2 minutes later the engineer arrived and had the remote working in no time (he had to fiddle with something behind the TV, it wasn't just dead batteries). My only complaint would be that the air conditioner was located right next to the bed so it constantly blows air on you all night. The breakfast was quite good for a Marriott select service hotel, although the waffle irons seemed fidgety and a few people had trouble with them. This hotel was a great value for the price we paid and I definitely prefer the location in the Old Town over some of the hotels a bit farther out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exceededbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a clean and comfortable hotel, centrally located in Old Montreal. My family and I were fortunate to get a room at the last minute on our way from Toronto to Montreal. We had no idea that the Grand Prix was on for that weekend. I read others who stated it was hard to find, we didn't have an issue with that, but I can see how you could drive by it and not realize it. It is within walking distance of all the shops, a park, a few landmarks, etc. the breakfast was average for a mid range hotel. We really enjoyed our trip. The room was clean and about average as far as appearance and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The property seemed to be well taken care of, not real fancy, but that was ok with us. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karentl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at Marriott SpringHill Suites in Old Montreal for a weekend and loved the location. They have valet parking which costs @ $24/day. The hotel is hard to find, rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste being a narrow one way street and the scant hotel sign. However, for the price and location, you can't beat this hotel.

We used our Marriott Reward Points to reserve 3 nights here. We had a suite (not sure if all rooms are like this or if we had an upgrade) with a living area, bedroom, bathroom, kitchen area (with microwave, refrigerator & sink) and an office area on the 300 level of the hotel.

Eleavators were fast, the free breakfast was excellent and the rooms were clean. They have free Wi-Fi service too.

The hotel is two blocks from Notre Dame and about 3 blocks from the river front area.

Lots of restaurants within walking distance and near bus routes as well.

Overall, a great place to stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTerpFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I booked this hotel to be relatively near to Parc Jean Drapeau as my husband was going to the F1 Grand Prix. As this was at the end of two weeks in Canada, I also chose the hotel as it has a laundry and swimming pool. It also offers a free breakfast and free WIFI. It is carefully tucked away in a narrow back street, so no views from the rooms, but we didn't mind as we were not planning to spend much time in it. There is a fridge, microwave and sink plus cups and glasses. You can also get a couple of paper plates and cutlery if you wish to eat in, the staff helpfully pointed out the nearest supermarket and it really saved us a fortune compared to eating out every night. There is a pull out sofabed, work desk, flat screen TV, separate bath/shower, and the bed area with very tiny closet. The bed is 6 foot wide (for my european readers) and very comfy. The good thing about being tucked away in a back street is that it remained very quiet at night so slept really well. Breakfast is on the mezzanine level. Sausages, hash browns and eggs, cheeses and boiled eggs, bread for toast, bagels and muffins. Coffee, juice and cereals and pastries. I couldn't have wished for more. They also have waffle makers which was fun. The staff have been tremendous considering how busy it is this weekend. It does have a relaxed feel about it despite the rooms being full. The pool is about the size you have in a small back garden but the hot tub is really soothing after a long day walking the streets of Montreal. I would come back here because the staff have been so nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willowArgyllandBute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Group of girls recently stayed for just one night - we loved the location, right in Old Montreal, walking the cobblestone streets and easy jaunt back after full day and night out on the town. Breakfast was included and had a variety of good choices. Nice and clean...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindainFergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,931 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Address: 445 Rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste | Vieux Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal. We offer warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain are available for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you. Our Old Montreal hotel offers state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! We put you in the heart of Old Montreal, near many of Montreal, Quebec's top attractions and landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing