We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Ranked #42 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

When you visit Montreal, you want to visit the old town. The hotel advertises that they are just steps from the old town, but they do not do themselves credit. They are right in the heart of the old town. Parking is underground in a private lot connected to the hotel, $21 a night. You can easily walk the entire old town, so a car is not necessary. While you have the usual souvenir shops, you are also surrounded by a multitude of good restaurants and some excellent galleries displaying both paintings and Inuit art. The three Inuit art galleries offer perhaps the best selection in Canada. The hotel is good; the breakfast that is included is average at best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Riverman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hotels primary problem is the pool and exercise area. The exercise room is like a sauna and borders on being dangerous . Staff were told and said they adjusted the temperature but it made no difference. Several guests I met also complained and nothing was done . The whole of the first floor where the pool is smells of chlorine and I would suggest giving the first floor a miss.
You cannot pick this hotel up on any GPS so if you are trying to find it it can be frustrating . Get a landmark close by and make your way from there . Rooms are clean and adequate but seem smaller than most Springhill Suites . I am platinum and probably get a bigger room from most hotels I visit at this one I got a polite smile and no recognition. Overall would recommend however since my visit a couple of years ago I feel that the warmth and caring nature of the staff has disappeared. Perhaps it was just a bad day .

Room Tip: Get a high floor and definitely not the first as there is a chlorine smell that is evident throughou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerperthaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The restaurant attached to this hotel is above average. The Auberge St-Gabriel serves fire roasted meats and the smell draws you in. A little on the pricey side, but a great place to treat yourselves. The hotel itself good for a 3 star. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast had a lot of variety and was available for a decent amount of time. Although the hotel offered valet parking, parking was expensive. Additionally, they didn't have the staff to offer a car wash service.

The best think about this hotel was the location. Minutes away from all the hot tourist spots in old Montreal. Lots of fabulous restaurants, galleries and shops within easy walking distance. This was a great value considering the central location. I highly recommend this hotel as long as you don't mind no room service and other upscale amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The is a very nice hotel in the heart of old Montreal. Staff is very friendly and rooms clean. There are a few quirks with the room, nothing big. For example, The toilet paper dispenser is across the bathroom which, obviously, requires pre planning, or .... Some minor repairs needed in the rooms such as door sticks, handles loose. The room we had had an extra benefit described as a balcony but more like a small patio. Not much of a view but nice. The balcony is shared with another room and is across from a large office building, so privacy does not exist. Breakfast area is very comfortable but the food is average.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hallways seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCJim397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Best place to stay is in Old Montreal.
The cobblestone streets in Old Montreal with all the shops and restaurants are less than 100 ft away!

Stayed in a 1 bedroom suite but it wasnt really a seperate 1 bedroom by doors. Just a privacy wall. Keep that in mind if you want actual doors seperating your room for whatever reason.

Room was spacious though. Not too many drawers and needed more counter space in the bathroom. Overall cleanliness was good though ( and I am picky, always looking for things).
Stayed on the top floor. 2 AC units in the rooms which worked very well in getting the room cool,hoever was too noisy at night to keep on. The motors were too loud and we could not sleep. So it did get a little too warm overnight.

Kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave and fridge came in handy.

Free breakfast is offered here until 9:30am however we could never make it down that early. We had a toddler and by the time we all got ready it would be too late. My biggest irk with hotels is they stop serving free breakfast wayt oo early, I guess it os to save money. I think people should serve breakfat at least until 11am. It isnt fair to stop so early. So the free breakfast rate wasnt worth it for us.

On our last night we were a little inconvenienced due to water being shut off for the hotel due to some sort of flood or something. This was not fun as the bathrooms could not be used and water was not available in the sinks or tubs for a shower. Luckily it was our last night and we checked out in the AM. I did contact management regarding this as we were not able to use the bathroom for quite awhile with a 4 year old that was hard. A manager responded to my email within hours and we were compensated for this inconvenience. So this was rectified.

Would stay here again( minus any water issues).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zed26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Not the easiest to find in Old Montreal, but a great option for families. Literally in the heart of Old Montreal and within walking distance of all things in this part. Front desk and valet all extremely helpful and professional. Free breakfast is a bonus, and its one of the few hotels with pool and hot tub albeit small in size. Rooms are clean, and hotel while a bit dated is very functional. Parking was about $25/day which is not outrageous for Montreal. Would definitely recommend for families, couples and business travel. Not 5 stars merely because hotel is dated but everything else is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Marriott in Old Montreal. There were four of us on four motorcycles and it was important we have a hotel with secured parking. This Marriott has underground parking and so met our needs. The room was about $190/night for a king suite. The room was very nice. We were just down the hall from the pool and hot tub - a real plus. A very nice breakfast was included in the stay. The location was perfect for walking around Old Montreal. My only complaint is that by the time all of the various fees and taxes were added on, the room was actually closer to $260/night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tucker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,036 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 165 in Montreal
1,283 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,203 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal

Address: 445 Rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste | Vieux Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £120 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal. We offer warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain are available for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you. Our Old Montreal hotel offers state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! We put you in the heart of Old Montreal, near many of Montreal, Quebec's top attractions and landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing