We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Old Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Ranked #43 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is standard Marriot SpringHill Suites fare...functional, few frills, decent rooms. The included breakfast buffet is of poor quality and was overrun with more guests than tables and staff struggling to keep the food stocked. That said, the location is fantastic and right in the heart of the sights, shops, restaurants, bars, the old port waterfront area, summer fireworks competition, etc. So stay hear to be in the center of the action with a quiet, clean, room to pop in to recover from the fun you are having enjoying all that is Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel gets a three for the location. It is central to all attractions and a tourist information center. Many restaurants and places to walk and enjoy in the area, close to the water and walking along the pier area. The hotel is close to the Metro (subway) so people can get to anywhere in the city from these stops. The free breakfast was not well maintained or stocked the time we were there, the rooms were clean, parking with pricy (maybe not for a major city), staff was less than helpful or friendly when we asked for a information booth or location. We were told one was in the middle of the city, when a major and helpful information place was less than two blocks away. All it took was for a person to say that, but they did not. I would stay at this location again because of Marriott Points if I was not looking for any help from the local staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Great for access to the harbour and the bounty of fun/colour that is old Montreal. Small but very cute ... particularly the shower. The staff was extremely helpful/pleasant. Big bang for the money! The only downside was the breakfast. We went back 3 different times during core breakfast hours and could never find two seats together. Best part about this hotel? Walking distance to the Keg down the street ... & it is truly one of the best out there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for the location and that's all we got. The hotel is average. The breakfast is not up to Marriott standards. The front desk staff will not go a step beyond to help you find anything. They have a very cut and dry attitude that doesn't leave room for more than one question. The room was okay, but the a/c unit was very LOUD and would make a horrible noise every time it started/stopped. We had a hard time sleeping at night and were woken up several times. The air was either too cold or too hot, there was no way to get it right. The carpet was dark from stains and we noticed that it was not being vacuumed daily. Overall the location is the only reason we liked the hotel, but definitely not worth the $215 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Travellovers2,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to see that you had issues during your stay with us. Our whole team works very hard on providing excellent customer service, and normally, as you can see in previous reviews, this is one of our strengths. I apologize that we fell short during your visit, and have used your comments as a basis for additional coaching. You will be glad to know that per SpringHill standards, we just rolled out a revamped breakfast this week, with different options every day, more healthy choices, and more ways of customizing your morning meal. The carpets have all just been professionally deep cleaned, but unfortunately the light colour is a hard one to maintain.

Thanks again for your feedback,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Marriott is located within the old city of Montreal. It's the perfect location with great access to museums, shops, restaurants, bike and other parts of the city. It also has the added benefit of being reasonably priced. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. Front desk staff is very friendly and has good suggestions for dining and shopping. They do serve a free breakfast which is typical of other limited service hotels. The only drawback was that the guest turn this into a food frenzy grabbing handfuls of baked goods at one time....it was amazing to watch. One suggestion.....they need to expand the breakfast area to accommodate more seating and turn up the air conditioning in this space as well. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank uforcechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were going to be in Montreal for the Jazz Festival and decided to stay in Old Port instead of closer to the Festival. The Springhill Suites was ideally tucked away on a side street around the corner from the action on St. Paul Street. The music venues were an easy 15 minute walk away.
Check in was a breeze and the room was spacious and spotless. There was no view, other than the building across the way, but it was fine since we were rarely in our room and we did not hear a peep from the activity close by on St. Paul.
My only complaint, and it is minor, is that the breakfast area was very crowded and stuffy. It was a hot, busy weekend and that probably didn't help. One morning we walked up to Rue Notre Dame and had breakfast at Eggspecation, which was great. The variety of places to eat right around the corner was astounding and Jacques Cartier Place was a block away. Friday night was a fireworks display and the viewing areas were close by as well.
Parking was about $20 a day, but that is to be expected in a city. We did not take our car out at all, everything was that convenient.
Breakfast included, location, price ($227 CAD per night) and size of the room, this was an ideal choice for our 3 night mini vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larainerenee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Springhill Suites is located in the middle of Old Montreal - just steps away from great restaurants, shops, sites, and activities. A plus for the hotel is that it is on a side street so that, even though you are in the middle of everything, the noise of evening partiers never effects your experience. Also, we were able to park our car on the day we arrived and not use it again for almost the entire trip.

The hotel itself is very comfortable, but just a tiny bit on the worn side. The beds were extremely comfortable, the shower had great water pressure, and the staff went out of their way to be sure we had a great stay. Breakfast was average compared to other hotels' offerings, but was enjoyable all the same.

In a nutshell, this is the only hotel we'll stay at when we visit Montreal in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are available for a slight fee - you won't have a good view of the city (remember...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suslew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,005 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,176 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal

Address: 445 Rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste | Vieux Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £140 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal. We offer warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain are available for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you. Our Old Montreal hotel offers state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! We put you in the heart of Old Montreal, near many of Montreal, Quebec's top attractions and landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing