We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Ranked #42 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is tucked away on a side street, but inside it is very good Marriott hotel. As with all the Springhill Suites the breakfast is included, but it does get very busy. The rooms are quiet, i did not hear any other guests, but the air conditioning could use an upgrade. I always like to stay in Old Montreal when I am in Montreal for business, this hotel is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchcanuckVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    473
    133
    29
    29
See reviews for
366
376
28
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I recently stayed with family at this hotel on our first trip to Montreal. We were a large group (3 adults and 2 teens) but we managed to fit into one large room (2 doubles, 1 sofa bed and a roll away cot). The room was quite spacious - especially the bathroom and had the usual features (mini fridge, kitchen sink, desk etc.). The room was very tired - especially the carpet. Having said that the bed was very comfortable and the location couldn't be beat in old Montreal. It was in quick walking distance to all the major sites. I thought the breakfast buffet was good, despite being extremely busy, and was pleased with the overall selection. I would recommend this hotel to others, as long as you can get beyond the room decor - I personally am there to visit a city not a hotel room!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pea18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The location is lovely - very close to
Notre Dame and other Old Montreal sites: Bon Secours Marketplace, harbor, etc.
Valet parked our car and we walked or rode the Metro everywhere (Metro is very easy and unlimited rides in the evening for $5pp).
Room in Springhill Suites was fine. It was spacious, had a fridge, toilet & bath were separate from sink, so easy for multiple people to get ready. Carpet was not clean (many stains throughout room). Hallway was also not very worn.
Pool is extremely small and hot tub looked like it could fit maybe 2 people.
We weren't there to stay in hotel all day though, so it was fine. Bathroom and beds were clean.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank h b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear h b,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our location, which is especially lovely in the summertime! We do apologize for the carpeting...as we approach our room renovations in early 2015, we do agree the carpeting has seen better days. However, we can ensure you they were all professionally cleaned last month, and in fact, we passed our Marriott inspection with a cleanliness score of 96%. Our hardworking housekeeping team are doing their absolute best to ensure that we maintain our brand standards while waiting for our new carpets to come in!

We hope to be able to host you once again next year!

Sincerely,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Good location in the old town of Montreal, close to several metro stops - allowing easy access to the entire city. Main reason for an average score is the property is starting to show its age - carpets in our room were heavily stained. Checked with the front desk and was advised they are all like that and the hotel is slated to be refreshed. Was further advised they steam clean monthly - which seemed true as the room had a musty smell of moisture that cleared out once we left the window open. A broken ceiling fan was fixed promptly. Marriott can do a bit better than this - check on the refresh before you book.

Room Tip: Corner or backside of hotel, the front side looks onto a narrow street and can get quite loud. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear JosephR,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and attentive service! We apologize about the state of the carpets - they were all in fact professionally deep cleaned last month, but as we are planning for extensive room renovations in early 2015, they are unfortunately reaching the end of their shelf life. Rest assured however, that our hardworking housekeeping team do ensure they are properly spot cleaned as well on a regular basis.

We hope to welcome you back to our newly revamped SpringHill Suites next year!

Best regards,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Went with my daughter for 3 nights. Great location, decent breakfast, clean pool. Only complaint is that the room next door seemed to watch TV 24-7 and we could hear it the whole time in the front half of our room..

Room Tip: don't be on first floor if you don't want kid noise- this is where the pool is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the SpringHill Suites Old Montreal at the end of July, 2014. We booked a Larger Suite room with two double beds and a sofabed for a family consisting of Grandma, Mom and two young boys. We were extremely happy with the room and surprised to find that we also had a nice balcony/patio area as well. Our larger suite room had a nice wet bar area with a refrigerator and a nice sized bathroom that separated the living area from the sleeping area - a real plus for when the kids go to bed and the adults want to stay awake. The hotel staff were very polite and checking in was an easy process. We weren't in love with parking being valet only at a cost of CAD 23 per night, but given that this is Old Montreal and space is limited, that's just the way it is. The best part of this hotel though, is its location. We found plenty of dining and shopping options within only a minute or two walk from the front door. We were travelling with a 5 and 8 year old, and they wanted McDonald's. On the map it looked like a bit of a hike, but we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was less than 5 minutes away. (Luckily the kids took to the Montreal dining experience and we were able to pass on by the Golden Arches!) Attractions (Notre Dame, Marche Bonsecours and the Montreal Science Center) are all within an easy 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. We found that the SpringHill Suites was a wonderful hotel, well worth the cost. I am personally very much looking forward to a return trip to Montreal in the future and would absolutely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLD1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel by myself on a business trip a few years ago. This summer I tried again with my family for a few days stay. We were all ver pleased. Very clean and well located. The staff are all working hard keeping everybody pleased. Hats off to the breakfast crew for keeping the hungry very demanding morning grumpy people satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,983 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,706 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,135 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Address: 445 Rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste | Vieux Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal. We offer warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain are available for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you. Our Old Montreal hotel offers state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! We put you in the heart of Old Montreal, near many of Montreal, Quebec's top attractions and landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing