We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely B&B, wonderful owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Petite Bourgeoise
Ranked #29 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely B&B, wonderful owner”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The owner Joanne was very pleasant, and she really went out of her way to make a wonderful breakfast! The decor was nice, and the bathrooms were incredibly clean. Do take note that the bathroom is shared as with most B&Bs, however there are 2 bathroom for the 3 bedrooms so this was never an issue. Also take note that the location is not directly downtown, however the bus stops right outside the B&B, so this was not an issue either, and the neighborhood was nice and quiet. Overall, a really nice 2 night stay- I would certainly recommend to any friend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa_Leigh_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
19
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Province of Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

the best thing here is breakfast: no matter if you stay 1 or 10 nights, every morning you'll find a new one. the host is great, she'll give you all the info you need about the city and the recommended sites. the room was nice, very clean. I won't give the best vote because the bathroom is outside the room and that's a bit annoying also because you have to share it with other guests

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My cell was temporarily out of order and I needed to call a cab at one point. There was no ground line available to guests. The proprietor was a very nice woman who was a bit older-who had a cell phone if guests needed to make a call but that was only available until 9pm-after that time she departed and there was no ground line in the place to use at all which surprised me a bit since it is a staple of the hospitality industry for obvious reasons. I ended up having to walk four blocks or more to find a pay phone in the area. Also the proprietor was not present when some guests arrived in the afternoon-from far away-so I found myself in the position of being the one who checked their reservations and let them in-as f I worked there. It was not meant to be that way but it was that way. I tend to stick with what is rather than what is intended in terms of how I judge something. The breakfasts were very good-creative and served with a friendly attitude. This is not the jewel of the Nile though. The surrounding area besides the park is poor. Someone actually tried to start a fight with me in a local diner because I didn't give them directions fast enough for their liking. Local city bus service was hit/miss-sometimes not showing up at the time on the schedule. There was an eight hour power failure in the area when I was there which could be a security issue at night-as in there were no street lights. The rooms was small for the price-to me-and the TV set was also quite small for the price-to me. I like being outside when its warm but if the temperature is above 100 I prefer being inside. Being inside at this location was to be in a stylish yet cramped room. I think friendliness from a host is great but this place really needed to have a phone for guests, etc. I give it an average based on the positive attitude of the host-not based on what I was near etc. There was free internet-if you didn't mind standing up to use the computer.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank footloose888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winters, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We enjoy staying in neighborhoods of great cities that are not in the center of town. Learning to navigate transit systems and walking around the outskirts is our way of feeling less like a tourist, and more of a temporary local.

La Petite Bourgeoise was the perfect bed and breakfast. We had a fabulous spacious room that was immaculate. The entire house is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Joanne, our innkeeper, was amazing. She prepared a huge gourmet breakfast each morning, and accommodated it to our preferred time. She was an excellent tour advisor and helped recommend sites to see and how to get there. She had a full mini fridge available for us, with drinks and snacks whenever we wanted. She even offered to do our laundry (for a nominal fee), and drive us to the Metro on our last day, to avoid the rain. Joanne spoiled us. No other B&b will could compare.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amcurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Fantastic experience in Montreal. Johanne is fully dedicated to her guests and the house is superb and romantic ! I recommend the breakfast which always fresh and very nice. Although located in Verdun, it is quite easy to take the metro and access the city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fabrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is the best stay in Montral with the greatest hostess in Johanne. She really makes you fell like family when your there and the meals are excellent. It made be never skip breakfast again after the great breakfasts I had here. The B & B is on a quiet street with the Bus to the downtown and subway only steps from the door. If your planning a trip to Montreal then this is the place you want to stay at. I will for sure return on future trips to Montreal.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet here the Red room is just off the front door and office with the others in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sassari, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I've been staying with Johanne at "la petit bourgeoisie" since October so I can really say that this place is amazing! First of all the house is really beautiful, elegant but comfortable and warm at the same time. The atmosphere is so relaxing and calm! The rooms are very beautiful, the furnitures are new and everything is clean and pure. My room is the red room, the smaller one but my favourite one. When the house was built this room was a study so half of the walls and the floor are covered with wooden, like the rest of the house, and I like it so much! There are 4 rooms: the orange room, the green room, the suite and the red room. There are two bathrooms really clean. The interior design and the decorations are the outcome of a amazing person, the owner. And obviously everything that she does is amazing. I forget to take a picture of the breakfast, but it's just like a piece of art. You have a lot of things to eat like muffin, croissants, bread, fresh and dried fruits, marmalade, orange juice, coffee, tea and cooked things really good. Everytime she cookes something different. She is a smart and kind person, really concerned about her work and the people that she meets. She always tries her best for her guests and I think she really does it. She can make you feel comfortable and if you need some indication she has maps and everything to help you. The place is really really beatiful. Next to here there's the riverside park where you can have a long walk near the river. If you want you can arrive till the rapids and far than that, till Lachine. Rue Wellington is near here too and is plenty of shops and restaurant where you can find anything (even Italian foods! I'm Italian so...). If you don't want to walk you can take the bus till the Metro station and from there you can reach downtown in about 10 minuts. I think that it's the perfect place because you have the park and the river next to you if you want to enjoy a walk on open air, but you can reach the city centre in 15 minuts with the transportation tools. The trasportations here in Montréal are really well organized and they have a convenient pass for one-day, three-day, one week, two-week and a month for metro+bus ride. And Johanne has the card if you need it. Summarizing, I think this place is indeed amazing. And If I'am to visit Montréal again, I will come back here for sure. Thank you Johanne!

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank muskietto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Terra Nostra
#8 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Maison Des Jardins
Maison Des Jardins
#12 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Gite Ocoin B&B
Gite Ocoin B&B
#16 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Alexandre Logan (1870)
Alexandre Logan (1870)
#13 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast
L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast
#45 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
La Conciergerie
La Conciergerie
#26 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Bourgeoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Bourgeoise

Property: La Petite Bourgeoise
Address: 611 Rue Manning | Verdun, Montreal, Quebec H4H 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Petite Bourgeoise 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Host Johanne VilleneuveInterior designer Johanne Villeneuve has opened her doors to those from all over to come in share the experience of Montreal. This traditional 1920s quarter has been transformed into a modern yet classical Bed & Breakfast which offers a pleasant comfort and particular atmosphere to businesses, tourists and local visitors.Our mission is to provide high-quality accommodation offering relaxing rooms including a distinguished breakfast and a selection of special packages to suit your desires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Petite Bourgeoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing