We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imitation Indian Food”
Review of Allo Indi - CLOSED

Allo Indi
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Imitation Indian Food”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Indian Restaurant run by Bangladeshis who have no clue about Indian food. Extremely poor quality, flavor and quantity of foWod served and very expensive. We paid US$ 5 for each Naan. All the food was extremely sweet and the maitre D blamed it on the taste buds of the people of Montreal. Garlic Naan was sweet. The Tandoori Chicken tikka was grilled Chicken sliced and served on a sizzler platter. the pickle was Sweet and awful tasting.When we requested spicy food they just added raw red chilli powder and served it to us.

All in all an awful experience and we paid a very huge tab for it.

Go to Le Taj instead close by. That is a much better place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveluxworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    4
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Mixed - just like the veg”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Downstairs from the street, so window seats include looking at peoples feet as they walk by. Service was ok, but no more than that. Good range of vegetarian meals, decent Indian draft beer and very nice poppadum. Had a vegetable balti, which came served in a strange pot - not like the balti dishes we get in England, so you have no choice but to spoon it on to the plate. Was good to start with, but then when putting the rest on the plate I realised how much oil was in it. Some of the veg was crunchy, some soft. Most of it resembled what you might get in a bag of frozen veg.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
“Very bad service”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

People don't understand french and hardly understand english at this restaurant. They never served us water and never smiled once while serving us. The bathrooms we're very dirty. Also, the food wasn't good at all. Do not come here.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“The worst and most expensive butter chicken ever”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

probably, three times that price that they should charge, with a terrible quality. the butter chicken tasted like sweetened milk which was colored orange (god knows where the orange color came from).

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viva111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkton, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Every time we visit Montreal (approx...”
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Every time we visit Montreal (approx. 6x/yr) we visit this restaurant. The dishes always taste fresh,but the service can be spotty. Small price to pay for a reliably good meal. Plus it is fun to sit in one of the window booths and look up at the pedestrians as they wall by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Igot2legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Allo Indi also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing