We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home-like Lebanese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garage Beirut

Garage Beirut
Ranked #678 of 5,668 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Home-like Lebanese Food”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

It's a small but warm place & you would probably question yourself whether you're at the right place when you see it from the outside. It occupies such a small space just under street level. The food tastes really like it's been prepared at your mother's kitchen. Yes it takes a little longer to prepare and serve but you should expect that when the owner himself prepares the food. I tried Hummus, Shankleesh, Rkakata Jibneh and a mixed Tawook & Kafta. They all taste great. The pictures on the walls reflect a great taste. The password for the WiFi is very creative: ilovekabab! I would definitely go back again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mason2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Warm Lebanese Food in a Cold Montreal Winter”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I went there with a friend who recommended it. It was a great meal. The place is very cozy. The food is authentic. We had the mix grill and the filet mignon. I loved their Fattoush salad. It was one of the best I had in a long time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azzouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

What a great find 2 blocks from my hotel. Neat, clean little restaurant with classic Montreal tavern chairs and charming, knowledgeable wait-staff. I had the shish taouk, fattouche and hummus followed by baklava and Turkish coffee. All superb. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“authentic tasty and affordable”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Felt like being in beirut again, the food was great couldn't complain. The restaurant is simple and not very fancy but very authentic of Beirut's casual restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epicurian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolland, CT
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great place with great tasting food”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

The hummus was very fresh and very good. We also ordered a fattouch salad which was very unique and tasty. The mixed grill plate for two was a great value and tasted great. We had kenafe for dessert which was very unique and good. Overall we loved all the food.

The service was a bit slow and we had to walk in to pay our check, but it was friendly.

The decor is quaint and more like a neighborhood restaurant than those a few streets over.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leopolean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garage Beirut also viewed

 

Been to Garage Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing