We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Approach with an open mind: A bit tight; clean but inconsistent housekeeping.”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #78 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed in a budget double on the fourth floor of the main hotel. The space was quite small, but the furniture looked newish and in good condition. Everything looked quite clean although we did spot what we think may have been a bed bug on a window shade. That said, no bites, so perhaps we were mistaken. The hotel staff were generally quite friendly and helpful, although the housekeeping can be best described as inconsistent: the number of bath towels and hand towels and washcloths each varied between 1 and 3 throughout the days we stayed there. Drinking glasses came and went.

On the whole, I feel that the hotel was good value for money. Particularly given its location a two minute walk from the Metro and quite within walking distance of parks, restaurants, and sightseeing in pretty much every direction. Just don't sweat the small stuff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gewurztraminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Hello Guest!

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the inconsistent housekeeping you experienced during your stay. We had just hired a number of new part-time housekeepers for the summer and unfortunately, it takes a couple of weeks before they become as consistent as our full time housekeepers. In any case, I will pass along your feedback and make sure these observations are corrected. I am pleased that you did find the accommodations very clean. Perhaps next time you will consider staying in one of our executive rooms that are much larger but still very reasonably priced.

Thanks again,

Dino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank AshuMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed two nights in June and were lodged in the annex building across the street from the main check in. Our room had no air conditioning, no access to ice, no water glasses, the bed was hard with a thin matress and the television, which was about 22 inches, had poor reception. The internet was on and off, but the worst aspect was the noise level. The walls are paper thin so getting sleep was not an option. The only two positive things about the hotel were the two front desk staff and the breakfast cafe waitresses. They were very helpful. We paid over 514.00 for two nights for a property that didn't even compare to a Red Roof Inn!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not placed in an "off property" location when booking
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Hello Lisa,

I am sorry to hear you had such a noisy stay at our hotel. Grand Prix Weekend is always a hectic and boisterous weekend for any hotel in the city. With tens of thousands of tourists coming to be part of the race festivities, all rooms generally get filled and it can be a little overwelming.

I have read your review and apologize for any of the hotel's shortcomings. The room does in fact have an AC unit that is mounted above one of the windows and operated by a switch to the left of the window. Although we do not have any ice machines, you should have had two glasses in your room. We have been informed of the issue of the signal strength of the WIFI and have already replaced the affected router. I have instructed our maintenance supervisor to verify the condition of the mattress. Usually, our guests enjoy the rooms in our annex as they are superior category rooms with high ceilings and wood floors.

If you are willing to give our hotel another try on a future stay, I invite you to contact me and I will be happy to accomodate you in another room of your choice.

Once again, I apologize for your noisy stay and thank you for the feedback and positive criticism of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: ne pas y aller ou refuser les chambres du 3eme étage cause marches
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelerP735YM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tfanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dino S, General Manager at Hotel de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Peut- être une chambre à l'étage ?
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phiphipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dino S, General Manager at Hotel de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alon1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dino S, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#86 of 165 in Montreal
125 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#84 of 165 in Montreal
581 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#55 of 165 in Montreal
483 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#52 of 165 in Montreal
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Address: 901 rue Sherbrooke East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £44 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris has been hosting guest for over 30 years in the popular Plateau area of downtown Montreal. Housed in two beautiful heritage homes, this hotel a variety of room types to satisfy every guests from low priced, small budget room to large executive suites. Be advised because of the nature and age of the buildings, all rooms are only accessible be stairs (no elevator). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing