We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #81 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. A really nice and familiar creating atmosphere hotel. My room was quite small but had all what I needed. Good bed, a/c, TV, shower, bed side tables and a little wardrobe. I will surely choose this hotel again if coming back in Montreal!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    136
    96
    42
    35
See reviews for
65
179
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knowsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. Firstly, the hotel is in superb location, around the corner from the Metro, up the road from the Bus station and a small walk downtown. The staff behind the desk were very helpful from the moment I arrived. My room was a double and it was rather spacious, the toilet wasn’t so big but that wasn’t so much a problem. I slept fine most nights, my room was on the top floor (no lift) however there are only two sets of stairs nothing neck breaking. The room was cleaned every day, no issues there. The only problem I had was the heat of the hotel, coming in from a humid temperature into the hotel which was worse. The air con in the room was OK, it cooled the room down slightly. That was my only problem with this hotel.

Overall, the hotel is in superb location and clean, comfortable rooms. When I visit Montreal which I intend to as it is a fantastic city, I will be staying at Hotel De Paris again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamboXIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here during Dec 2013, the hotel has a great location right down town but is not very accessible. There is no indoor parking available - street parking only. Th ebuilding itself is beautiful, unique and full of character. The front desk attendants were very pleasant and helpfull. Our room however was INCREDIBLY small, and the bathroom did not have hot water for a shower (maybe plumbing problems due to the old nature of the building).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We weren't sure where to stay when we went on vacation and we just chose a random hotel on our first night. After a bit of research on our second day, we found this cozy little place and instantly agreed that this was where we would be staying for the remainder of our trip.

It was very quiet, which was nice and relaxing, yet walking distance from a few interesting places as well. The receptionists were amazingly nice and helpful and had no issue getting us a cab very fast. The outside of the hotel reminded me of an old castle, which was pretty cool. There was a homely Thai restaurant right below which provided free breakfasts with your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We looked forward to our stay at this hotel but was unfortunately very disappointed. Staff were not too welcoming and helpful and the room we were allocated was extremely small and up in the roof on the last floor...nothing like those advertised. Location is not too bad. All and all not too great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Steyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The biggest issue that I had with this place is that we were stuffed into a room beneath a staircase and directly adjacent to the lobby. Because of this bizarre location we could hear everything that was happening in the lobby all-night-long; checking-in, checking-out, telephone calls, chatter at 4 AM, etc. Did not sleep at all for the 3 nights we stayed here. I requested at the front desk for the door that separates the lobby from the hallway where the rooms are located to be closed, but even this simple request could not be granted by the hotel staff. The hotel staff has zero clue about how to be hospitable to guests. They fail to explain the amenities of the hotel (like that fact that breakfast is located in a Thai restaurant next to the hotel).

Room Tip: Do not stay here. There are a plethora of other hotels in this section of the city that are also lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

As we drove to the quaint Hotel De Paris that I had selected from a picture on the internet we were amazed that it was even more beautiful then the pictures. We walked up those stairs that were hand made many, many years ago that could present a challenge for some. These stairs could be what would stop a few people from enjoying the beautiful architect of the Inn. The old style of the hotel has been kept and if you ask about the history I hope you get the story of the little Inn as Tristan told it to me. Simply wonderful. Close enough to the Palais des Congres where we were heading. Our room was small but very clean.Make sure to go and eat at the little restaurant at the bottom of the stairs called Pamika Brasserie Thai, the Pad Thai was the best we have ever had and the service was wonderful (make sure to sit at the bar and talk to the young man).

Room Tip: We were comfortable, tip just make sure if there is a problem with noise from the neighbors room, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolyvan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#87 of 165 in Montreal
123 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#45 of 165 in Montreal
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#80 of 165 in Montreal
570 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 165 in Montreal
679 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#103 of 165 in Montreal
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: 901 rue Sherbrooke East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris has been hosting guest for over 30 years in the popular Plateau area of downtown Montreal. Housed in two beautiful heritage homes, this hotel a variety of room types to satisfy every guests from low priced, small budget room to large executive suites. Be advised because of the nature and age of the buildings, all rooms are only accessible be stairs (no elevator). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing