We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes a bit of luxury is not a bad thing”
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #36 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sometimes a bit of luxury is not a bad thing”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you want a hotel in a great location, with very nice rooms and helpful staff, and you don't mind paying, then this is the hotel to choose.
The hotel delivers on what is promises - a luxury experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boy4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    85
    24
    6
    12
See reviews for
54
292
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our family stayed at the St James last Fall and the visit was amazing. This was the first time we had traveled with our newborn and arrived by car with her and our sweet pup. As a traveler, who myself would have been surprised and a little skeptical to see a family pile out all together, I felt we were greeted with the warmest of welcomes and all of our "gear" was quickly whisked away to our room. What a relief! No only were the staff exceptionally welcoming on arrival, when we arrived to our (beautiful) jr suite there was a crib, dog bowl, dog bed and even doggie treats all set-up. The suite was spacious, exceptionally clean, comfortable, with a large marble bathroom with shower and tub. There was a sitting area with raised ceiling and all the furnishings were perfect.

We used all of the services from the gym, to in-room dining, to the spa. While the gym was very small, I was the only one using it and it had all of the main pieces of equipment I use (treadmill, and light free-weights, and mat). The spa experience was fantastic. It is located right next to the gym in an old vault. It too is small, very boutique feeling and personal. Instead of larger changing rooms that males or females share, they had a personal changing rooms with shower, etc. The massage was unbelievable. I recommend trying out the spa services if you are interested.

In room dining was fantastic. Prompt, courteous, and delicious.

If looking for: boutique, personal (but not overbearing) attention, luxurious comfort, superb service, and central location in Montreal THIS is the ONLY place to stay.

If looking for: large hotel/resort, anonymity, big lobby, hustle and bustle, scheduled activities and pool-- look elsewhere.

We have stayed at many of the other luxury hotel chains in Canada, such as the Fairmont, but felt that the experience at the St. James was far superior for the intimate feel, boutique environment, and personalized service. We can not wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: we stayed in the jr suite and loved it, but can not compare to other rooms in the hotel as this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacation_loverTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The desk staff was superb in all respects. The room was lovely and everything worked except the air-conditioning (on the hottest day of 2013, I think). The staff at first claimed it was just off for too long and needed some time ( 1 degree per hour which would have meant about 10 hours to fix), which we knew was just wrong. They finally agreed (the front desk pushed the engineers) and it did get fixed. The only other problem was that on our last morning (we needed to get to the airport, of course), the dining room waiter forgot we were there (a different waiter from the prior two mornings) and didn't notice that we had been waiting a half hour for breakfast that had been ordered while others were served (there were three other tables that had guests and two waiters, so the problem was just inattentiveness). When we finally got his attention, he found that the kitchen had forgotten the order. All kinds of apologies from the woman in charge of the dining room (who should have been walking the floor looking for problems). This kind of thing sometimes happens when dining rooms are less busy; the staff takes a mental holiday. The breakfast was, when it came, excellent--and we made our plane with plenty of time. Just an annoyance.

All that said, this was a very, very good hotel that just had a momentary lapse.

The old construction is great. Absolute quiet in the rooms, heavy doors and no sound of people walking overhead.

The exercise room is tiny, but okay for the basic good equipment (no free weights) if only one or two other people are in it. The spa rating is really for the exercise room. We only looked at the spa which is small, but well appointed. Make reservations well in advance, because it is not staffed full time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dls0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights August 2-4. The hotel is sumptuous in every way - the rooms, lobby, restaurant, and the wonderful statuary. The staff including doormen, concierges, reception, room service, housekeeping, were all very helpful, courteous, and remarkably bilingual.
We were upgraded to a elegant wood panelled suite which was luxuriously comfortable.
The XO Restaurant has wonderful cuisine.
We cannot recommend this hotel too highly. If you want refined and elegant rooms in a terrific location. Le St. James is for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocratesCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Mr. SocratesCanada,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent experience at Hotel Le St-James.

Le St-James Team is very humbled by all of your kind words. It was truly a great pleasure to host you!

Please do not hesitate to contact us at 514-841-3111, if we may be of any assistance during your next trip to Montréal.

Have a wonderful day!

Kindest regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Beautiful hotel! The best in Old Montreal. The service was impeccable. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with a nice sitting area and the bed was comfortable. Gorgeous bathroom and the pressure of the water is top notch!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeStJames, Manager at Hotel Le St-James, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Mrs. Sofia R.,

Thank you for sharing your excellent comments with the Trip Advisor community.
It was a pleasure hosting you!

We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Le St-James again soon.

With very kind regards,

Elizabeth Glimenaki
Vice President, Sales and Marketing
514-841-3111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed over the July 4th holiday and found the hotel very comfortable and very convenient to Old Montreal and the Jazz Festival. It's a five minute walk to Old Montreal and was a 10-15 minute walk to the Jazz Festival. We were upgraded to a deluxe or superior junior suite which had a nice sitting area and a large marble bathroom. The hotel was quiet and the A/C worked well which was important because it was hot out. Staff were all very helpful. It's a little more expensive than a lot of the hotels but you are guaranteed good service and quality. We didn't eat any meals there because we wanted to check out Montreal's other venues.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a stunningly beautiful hotel located in old Montreal. Excellent customer service from the bellman, concierge, front desk, restaurant. Has a minimal gym that is adequate with treadmills/weights/balance ball. Delicious latte and breakfast in XO restaurant downstairs. It even has a library to relax in. Elegant building, the elevator doors are the gold doors from the empire state building when it was a bank. BTW for Madonna fans, she stayed here when she was in Montreal. (our taxi driver informed us of this) Great comfy bed too. Molton brown ammenities.

Room Tip: junior suite upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
985 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,934 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Property: Hotel Le St-James
Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing