We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel is an experience in its self”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #32 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The hotel is an experience in its self”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hard to explain how great this place is. My room was beautiful, had a great view, bed was super comfy, and whole hotel was really clean. Location is key and this is the area where you want to be. I just can't say enough about this place. Lots of stuff yo do, if you ever leave the hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBabeBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    83
    24
    6
    11
See reviews for
53
285
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a quintessential Old Montreal boutique hotel. Unfortunately we had a room that was directly above the front door which opens electronically every 10 seconds or so. It definitely detracted from our stay. The spa, though, is spectacular. Having a massage in the spa with it's original stone walls and candles everywhere is truly amazing. Loved it.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the room above the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I booked this hotel for a two night stay to celebrate my husband's birthday. It was on St. Jacques street, in Old Montreal. It was in easy walking distance to Notre-Dame Basilica, and all of the great old montreal touristy things. We were able to walk to most everywhere, and not get cold (it was a February trip). The restaurant is great, and the spa is the best I have been to, (see my other reviews). The building, from what I understand was originally a bank, and the architecture, and design (intricate moldings, columns) lends to its charm. The room we had was very spacious, with a fireplace and sitting area. Room service was prompt, the turn down service fine, and the bed very comfortable. I had been in touch with the concierge many times by email, and they set up all my dining reservations in advance, as well as arranged for champagne to be waiting for us in our room upon arrival. The hotel has valet parking (for a fee), and there is a taxi stand across the street. It is on the pricey side, so this is not a place to stay if you need to pinch pennies, but if you are looking for a cozy high end place, this is for you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Beautiful luxury hotel and from what I saw in the city, best of the bunch. Super location and fabulous staff but a few tiny niggles like wifi that is chargable and free continental only breakfast (which was beautiful on most days though variable and poor/defrosted some days)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikki1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

From the doormen that immediately take care of the valet car parking, to the professional and friendly front desk staff, the Hotel Le St. James is one of the best boutique hotels I have ever visited. There is a reason why this hotel has made the small luxury hotels of the world list.

I experienced this hotel for breaking in the new year and I would most certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Wow! A small boutique setting with old charm elegance and beautiful décor. Each room is unique in its own design. Only some bathrooms have no where to hold toiletries and most rooms have little or no drawer space but lots of closets. It is otherwise a lovely place to stay when in Montreal. Lofty down pillows make for a soothing and restful night. In house restaurant has terrific breakfast treats and dinner was delicieux!. Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. We have been many times and will return on next visit. Great with friends or for a quiet romantic little get away for two. You may run into a French actor or actress in the elevator, as I have. So nice! Some wonderful boutique shopping as well. Check out ISIS for women. Superb furriers in area. Just ask the concierge they know everything you need to know. Enjoy your visit whatever the occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a front of hotel room for view if possible. Because of the way the hotel is situated it is d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

The St James continues to be a star in providing exceptional service with 5 star amenities and class.This is not one only one of the best hotels in Montreal, but tops in the world. The front desk staff was exceptional, answering every call with a smile. Eddie the concierge is outstanding, ask for him if you can't find what you are looking for. I stayed with friends, and the experience was amazing.The food in XO is outstanding, and the spa in the basement is truly amazing. Never a compliant when staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogwoodTravelAgcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Property: Hotel Le St-James
Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing