We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local luxury”
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #38 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Local luxury”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a great hotel with a wonderful spa and nice rooms. It's location is charming and allows easy access to most parts of the city—I walked everywhere even in the cold weather.

The hotel's public spaces have been renovated since I last stayed here and they're not really my taste, but they're fun and seem distinctly Montreal: an unusual mix of Pais, the french countryside, and the 90's. While it's not how I would decorate my own home, this is exactly why I come to Montreal and stay at the St-James. It's as foreign as you can get without leaving northeast North America.

The food is very good, better than most hotel food, but not as excellent as some food in Montreal (I thought the breakfast croissants could have been better).

This hotel is elegant and charming and I'm sure to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    88
    24
    8
    12
See reviews for
56
295
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel is small boutique size located in old Montreal. Staff is world class. Probably best service ever. Hotel itself is gorgeous and spa experience was like no other. It is a must stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVATucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I just returned from a weekend in Montreal, staying at Le St-James and I couldn't have asked for anything more. The room was superb, the staff was beyond friendly and helpful without being pretentious. We did have a problem with our TV and they quickly, and gladly upgraded us to a new room which was even more fantastic. The city was so much fun, even in the winter and when I return, I will undoubtedly be staying at Hotel Le St-James.

Room Tip: They have a small gym but it has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston,MA
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hard to explain how great this place is. My room was beautiful, had a great view, bed was super comfy, and whole hotel was really clean. Location is key and this is the area where you want to be. I just can't say enough about this place. Lots of stuff yo do, if you ever leave the hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBabeBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a quintessential Old Montreal boutique hotel. Unfortunately we had a room that was directly above the front door which opens electronically every 10 seconds or so. It definitely detracted from our stay. The spa, though, is spectacular. Having a massage in the spa with it's original stone walls and candles everywhere is truly amazing. Loved it.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the room above the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I booked this hotel for a two night stay to celebrate my husband's birthday. It was on St. Jacques street, in Old Montreal. It was in easy walking distance to Notre-Dame Basilica, and all of the great old montreal touristy things. We were able to walk to most everywhere, and not get cold (it was a February trip). The restaurant is great, and the spa is the best I have been to, (see my other reviews). The building, from what I understand was originally a bank, and the architecture, and design (intricate moldings, columns) lends to its charm. The room we had was very spacious, with a fireplace and sitting area. Room service was prompt, the turn down service fine, and the bed very comfortable. I had been in touch with the concierge many times by email, and they set up all my dining reservations in advance, as well as arranged for champagne to be waiting for us in our room upon arrival. The hotel has valet parking (for a fee), and there is a taxi stand across the street. It is on the pricey side, so this is not a place to stay if you need to pinch pennies, but if you are looking for a cozy high end place, this is for you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Beautiful luxury hotel and from what I saw in the city, best of the bunch. Super location and fabulous staff but a few tiny niggles like wifi that is chargable and free continental only breakfast (which was beautiful on most days though variable and poor/defrosted some days)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikki1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 164 in Montreal
1,329 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,957 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Property: Hotel Le St-James
Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing